• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Pre-existing Conditions, Integrated Shield Plans and MedishieldLife

Since MedishieldLife covers for pre-existing conditions, why insurance companies still have this exclusion clause?

Insurance companies are a big ripoff.

http://crms.moh.gov.sg/FAQ.aspx

Item 7 from the MedishieldLife website under FAQs...
www.medishieldlife.sg

xt9pe3c.png

Eesee

QUOTE:
IPs comprise two parts:

The first is a MediShield portion run by the CPF Board.

The second is an additional private insurance coverage portion run by private insurers, typically to cover Class A/B1 wards in public hospitals or private hospitals.

This means that if you have an IP, you are already covered by MediShield. The premiums you pay to your private insurer already includes the premiums for the MediShield portion. As MediShield is part of your IP, there is no duplicate coverage.
UNQUOTE

Does it mean that those covered under IP will not have to pay extra premium (listed by the Govt) but continue to pay the premium as what they have been paying to the Private Insurers?

QUOTE:
IPs comprise two parts:

The first is a MediShield portion run by the CPF Board.

The second is an additional private insurance coverage portion run by private insurers, typically to cover Class A/B1 wards in public hospitals or private hospitals.

This means that if you have an IP, you are already covered by MediShield. The premiums you pay to your private insurer already includes the premiums for the MediShield portion. As MediShield is part of your IP, there is no duplicate coverage.
UNQUOTE

Does it mean that those covered under IP will not have to pay extra premium (listed by the Govt) but continue to pay the premium as what they have been paying to the Private Insurers?

In fact, since the govt is providing discount for the first 4 years of MedishieldLife, the Private Integrated Shield plans premiums should be lower, and pre-existing conditions being covered by MedishieldLife, the integrated shield plans should do likewise. If not, how to claim under integrated shield plan if there is pre-existing conditions in the plan and if integrated shield plan cannot claim from, can one claim from MedishieldLife since it is from the same pool of medisave funds both plans are getting from.

bic_cherry

Since MedishieldLife covers for pre-existing conditions, why insurance companies still have this exclusion clause?
Insurance companies are a big ripoff.
http://crms.moh.gov.sg/FAQ.aspx
Item 7 from the MedishieldLife website under FAQs...
www.medishieldlife.sg
xt9pe3c.png

china-congress_2391897b.jpg
Pict sauce,: http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/wor...mpose-on-their-people-for-another-decade.html

Medishield-life is a communist inspired healthcare policy invented by the PAP to steal people's Medisave $$$ to buy votes in the coming GE2015/6.

But even for buying votes there is a limit.

U cannot expect PAP buying of votes to extend to integrated shield plans, that would be too OBVIOUS and thus fool hardy since though PAP might win coming elections, it would surely then lose the next.

The only way to really limit one's own healthcare costs is to maintain a healthy lifestyle. Medishield-life life is a communism inspired policy that would collapse the moment PAP loses political clout. In anycase, increased premiums for Medishield-life will drain your medisave so severely, that when U actually need $$$ for out patient treatment, U will have none. By the time U enter a gahhmen hospital, likelihood is that U will die waiting along the corridor because just like is the case today, all ward beds are full...

Data from the US has shown that regular physical activity at the correct intensity:

Significantly improves overall health
Reduces the risk of heart disease by 40%
Lowers the risk of stroke by 27%
Reduces the incidence of high blood pressure by almost 50%
Reduces the incidence of diabetes by almost 50%
Can reduce the mortality and risk of recurrent breast cancer by almost 50%
Can lower the risk of colon cancer by more than 60%
Can reduce the risk of developing Alzheimer’s disease by one-third
Can decrease depression as effectively as medications of behavioural therapy
http://www.cgh.com.sg/Doctors_Professionals/eims/Pages/exercise-is-medicine-singapore.aspx

Pek Kim Lui

Why must I who was on medishield since day 1 n did not claim anything past decades pay more to subsidise those w existing conditions??? Why???????????????????????????????

You better don't talk cock and confuse the issue. You're not paying for those with existing conditions. Those with existing conditions prior to opting in for medishield, which everyone with sufficient funds in medisave, will be covered for medishield, these people will have their premiums increased by 30% if they have pre-existing conditions prior to be opted into medishieldlife.

You don't even know the scheme and talk so much cheebye cock. Go and read the scheme first, and get some proper understanding of the scheme.

This thread is about the govt giving discount for medishieldlife for the first 4 years. I'm asking three questions for this thread:

1. Why we are paying for more premiums for private integrated shields when the govt is discounting the medishiledlife premiums for the first 4 years. It should incorporate the discount into the premiums for the first 4 years and hence we should be paying lower instead, at least for the first 4 years.

2. Since medishiledlife is the core plan which private integrate shield plan is drawing premiums from, and medishieldlife includes all pre-existing conditions, why private integrated shield plan has exclusions allowed in their plans.

3. If private integrated shield plan refuses to cover for those exclusions, can someone fall back on medishieldlife since it covers all pre-existing conditions, and most people with medishield in the first place when they have sufficient medisave would already be covered by medishield unless they opted out. Hence, most likely they would not have any pre-existing conditions prior to be covered by medishield.

JOKERCHEW

What do you think? :biggrin:

((Hint:
Are you in Singapore,
or outside Singapore)).

Seee3

This thread is about the govt giving discount for medishieldlife for the first 4 years. I'm asking three questions for this thread:

1. Why we are paying for more premiums for private integrated shields when the govt is discounting the medishiledlife premiums for the first 4 years. It should incorporate the discount into the premiums for the first 4 years and hence we should be paying lower instead, at least for the first 4 years.

2. Since medishiledlife is the core plan which private integrate shield plan is drawing premiums from, and medishieldlife includes all pre-existing conditions, why private integrated shield plan has exclusions allowed in their plans.

3. If private integrated shield plan refuses to cover for those exclusions, can someone fall back on medishieldlife since it covers all pre-existing conditions, and most people with medishield in the first place when they have sufficient medisave would already be covered by medishield unless they opted out. Hence, most likely they would not have any pre-existing conditions prior to be covered by medishield.

Medishield is not compulsory but medicshieldlife is compulsory. Those currently not covered by medicshield are usually the poor. When they fall sick, hospital must still treat them and through medifund, their bill is paid. Medifund is a form of social welfare the govt is currently providing.

The wise man then hatch this great idea call Medishieldlife which is compulsory. Whether it is Medishield or medishieldlife, the poor will still have no money to pay for the insurance. So come all kinds of crap scheme to pay for their insurance. However, more importantly, under the pretext of a new scheme that extend the coverage to all preexisting condition, they can increase everyone's premium - which effectively can be used to pay part of the bill that the govt has been paying for the poor in the past. To prevent the people from feeling the impact of the sudden increase in the premium, again come all the craps of subsidies for the first 4 yrs to minimise the impact.

So if the objective of medishieldlife is to let everyone share part of the medical cost for the poor, why would they subsidies the premium of your pte integrated plan which allows one to stay in class A ward or pte hospital. The coverage for preexisting condition was an excuse to increase the premium and to make it compulsory. So how could pte integrated coverage be extended to include pre-existing condition - the premium will be so high that it will make a mockery of the premium for medicshieldlife,

With or without the medicshieldlife, govt needs to foot the bill of the poor and those not so well to do with preexisting condition. Medicshieldlife will help pass some of these costs to everyone. It is not intended for the rich with preexisting condition to be covered so that they can stay in private hospital. For insurance company to bear that risk, the premium has to be odd fully high.

kopiOuncle

damned confusing now

shit...just keep yourself healthy and happy

if sway sway kana terminal just jump lah

medical fees will eat into your pockest, into your family and into whatever you have

kana terminal just go and give yourself a blast and end it all....no need any medical expenses

doctors fees bloody killing now

hospital fees lagi worse

better die and pass your inheritance to your children...

Victory2016

"Those who default on payments will have to pay penalties of up to 17 per cent of outstanding premiums and interest on late premiums.

A defaulter who tries to leave the country without paying or providing security, as well as officials who wrongfully disclose information, can be fined $5,000, jailed for up to a year or both.

The penalty for obstructing investigation into offences under the Bill is heavier with a maximum of $20,000 fine and a year's jail."

- See more at: http://www.straitstimes.com/news/si...owers-administrator-2015#sthash.THKzjMUb.dpuf

Tuayapeh

Know so much , ask so much got use bor ? Don't need to waste so much time and energy , Just diam diam pay lah Mai kpkb :wink:

On 26th Jun 2015, through the LIA (Life Insurance Association of Singapore), the 5 Life Insurers of IP (Integrated Shield Plans), said they will not increase the premiums for the first year. Oh wow! So generous, but instead of decreasing the premiums for the first 4 years, since MedishieldLife premiums is subsidied by the govt for the first 4 years, these unscrupulous bastards, together with LIA decided to pull wool over our eyes and say it is helping MedishieldLife to ease in by not increasing its premiums for the first year.

What a load of crap from them. Besides, the issue of pre-existing conditions is not addressed. Since MedishieldLife has made it inclusive to abolish any exlusions based on pre-existing conditions, why the IP insurers are still having this exclusion of pre-existing conditions in their plan?

Instead of tackling the issue at hand, MOH and LIA are just sweeping it under the carpet and painting a rosy picture and blaming the high cost of healthcare, when they're the ones who fish in troubled waters.

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news...premiums/1941998.html?cx_tag=similar#cxrecs_s

FSjbSiA.png

I expect MedishieldLife to win PAP many votes. Very few private insurers would cover you for life without any pre-existing illnesses.

I will not be one of them. It's bad enough that they refuse to release my CPF. Now the PAP expects me to fork out $$ or else they will treat me as a criminal & punish me.:mad:

Seee3

no worry ...kopi ah peks said plans are in place to cushion and faciltate help those who cannot pay...
Last time govt also need to support in full those who cannot pay although there is no Medishield Life. Otherwise, they cannot be claiming in the past that no one in need of medical help will be left to die even if they cannot pay.

With this Life, those who can pay must pay more so as to subsidies for part of the amount that the govt has been paying for those who cannot pay. It is ethically fine for rich to help the poor. But it is bad to claim that the scheme is designed to benefit everybody. If it does indeed benefit everybody, there will be no need to make it compulsory and punishable by jail. Those who chose not to take advantage of the benefit should be allowed to opt out.

Just be honest and say that the Lie cannot work because all those who can pay will buy their own medical insurance if the Life scheme is not compulsory.