• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Zorro Lim: No To Too Many Foreigners! Xenophobic, Insecure Sinkies Rejoice!

lim-swee-say-at-manpower.jpg

SINGAPORE: Professionals, Managers and Executives (PMEs) form about 31 per cent of the resident workforce. By 2030, two-thirds of Singaporeans are expected to hold PME jobs. Naturally, one focus would be this group of workers.

The Fair Consideration Framework (FCF) introduced last August requires firms to prove that they have tried to hire Singaporeans first, by posting job ads for 14 days at the National Jobs Bank. If they cannot find a suitable Singaporean candidate, only then, can they hire a foreigner on Employment Pass.
ADVERTISING

New Manpower Minister Lim Swee Say said the framework is being reviewed but that was all he would say at the moment: "What is the purpose of FCF? Fair Consideration… but the outcome? What's the outcome? Strong Singaporean core. The next step, we talk about the how. How can we refine, how can we further strengthen FCF for example, to support one or all of this outcome."

The outcome he is talking about is to create good businesses, careers and growth for the economy. Mr Lim explained how to get there, using flip charts - it would involve strengthening the Singaporean core, getting companies to become manpower-lean, uplifting the standards of the foreign workforce to ensure the country's competitiveness, he said.

NO LENIENCY IN FOREIGN WORKER POLICY

Mr Lim added that companies need to realise that there is no turning back on foreign worker policies, even for sectors appealing for some leniency. "We have reached a point of no return. If they (the companies) keep hoping that the Ministry of Manpower will revisit our policy on foreign workers to treat them special, give them higher quotas and so on, that is not possible," said Mr Lim.

Any further relaxation, and Singaporeans will be outnumbered by foreign workers, he said. The ratio of locals to foreign workers has been going down over the years – from 4:1 to the current 2:1.

"We cannot afford to continue to adopt a more liberal policy towards taking in foreign manpower,” said Mr Lim. “If we continue to do so, the ratio of local workers versus foreign manpower will continue to decline. As mentioned, from 4:1, 3:1 to 2:1 and in the near future, if we continue this path, it'll be 1:1. And beyond that, one day Singaporeans will wake up to find ourselves a minority in the Singapore workforce and obviously, that's not sustainable, that's not desirable.

“So asking the Ministry of Manpower to give them an increased foreign worker quota, that is not viable."

RAMPING UP WORKER TRAINING

Strengthening the Singaporean core will require a range of strategies, tied to initiatives under SkillsFuture.They include ramping up the Earn and Learn programme to help polytechnic and Institute of Technical Education graduates master their skills, professional development of workers and technology transfers from foreign professionals to Singaporean workers.

Mr Lim said his ministry will work with industries to identify and provide more support to early movers who are committed to ramping up productivity and investing in worker training.

Making better use of the foreign workforce is another key strategy. The ministry is looking at ways to formalise the skills ladder for this group.

“There must be a skills ladder and this skills ladder must be applied to both locals and foreigners," Mr Lim said. "Second thing is, for some of the foreign workers, the skills ladder can be better formalised. If they move from unskilled to skilled, then they can enjoy some savings on the foreign worker levy. But at the same time, we also agreed that the main purpose of upgrading the skills of the workers is not just to help them to reduce the foreign worker levy.

"At the end of the day, it will serve us no purpose if the unskilled foreign worker goes through training to become a skilled foreign worker, to have a lower foreign worker levy and yet go back to an unskilled job - then we will achieve nothing. What we want is to be manpower-lean."

Mr Lim was appointed as Manpower Minister after helming the labour movement for eight years as Secretary-General. He said the transition was seamless and proves that the notion of tripartism in Singapore, is both pro-worker, and pro-business.

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/business/not-viable-to-relax/1887794.html?cid=fbsg

Leckmichamarsch

They have to get rid of Indian PMET and not PRC unskilled workers

Wayang ......... they took so long to realise??
if problem that serious which is the case why took own sweet time to put up schemes to make level playfield for sgians?

Why song n dance just before GE???????????????????????

It is wayang lah ...they talked about this 3 years ago ...what have we seen? Nothing. They had 3 years to make a dramatic change but we still see the number of foreign PMET gone up while more of local PMETs laid off.

GE is closer ...PAP talks louder to give the false impression that it did something and is planning to do more. Call them bluff.

Stop spreading rumours! It's thanks to CECA and other kind of free trade agreements that Singapore companies have unfettered access to India's vast markets. Sinkie PMETs are allowed to relocate to India as managers and directors or skilled PMETs, and the companies do not have to hire India locals to fill those roles. India's PMETs can come here, our PMETs can go to India. It's a win-win situation.

lifeafter41

Stop spreading rumours! It's thanks to CECA and other kind of free trade agreements that Singapore companies have unfettered access to India's vast markets. Sinkie PMETs are allowed to relocate to India as managers and directors or skilled PMETs, and the companies do not have to hire India locals to fill those roles. India's PMETs can come here, our PMETs can go to India. It's a win-win situation.

Dear john, why don't you go and work in India, while your family stays here.
I am sure you will be welcome with open arms. You can continue to feedback on how good is it to be working in India and earn your rupees.

Dear john, why don't you go and work in India, while your family stays here.
I am sure you will be welcome with open arms. You can continue to feedback on how good is it to be working in India and earn your rupees.

There are many foreigners who are working in Singapore while their family is back home. They like it in Singapore even though they do not enjoy any form of safety net. The thousands of sinkie PMETs who relocated to India for career advancement naturally enjoy expat perks, pick up new skills and contacts, and are glad that PAP signed CECA agreement. They are probably paid in sing dollars still, or a fair renumeration in rupees to ensure they are not shortchanged during the currency conversion.

garlic

talk only lah, go and signed the ceca agreement with india, dont intend to honour meh? Who voted for this ah neh agreement anyway? citizens not consulted on...

Ambulance

halo ki kuai leh kee lang eh sor zai tau zhi yi tau eh lang wu kang kway bian lai jit tau zho ghang mah

if problem that serious which is the case why took own sweet time to put up schemes to make level playfield for sgians?

A song and dance just before the election... now where have we seen that before? Hmm.... :rolleyes::biggrin:

talk only lah, go and signed the ceca agreement with india, dont intend to honour meh? Who voted for this ah neh agreement anyway? citizens not consulted on...

There's nothing intrinsically wrong with signing FTAs, but I suspect the negotiated benefits for our FTAs were highly asymmetric: one side gains much more than the other side. :wink:

garlic

There's nothing intrinsically wrong with signing FTAs, but I suspect the negotiated benefits for our FTAs were highly asymmetric: one side gains much more than the other side. :wink:

All benefits go to GLCs... all shit go to sinkies... :( Imagine the number of GLCs awarded contracts to build smart cities in ah neh land..

There are many foreigners who are working in Singapore while their family is back home. They like it in Singapore even though they do not enjoy any form of safety net. The thousands of sinkie PMETs who relocated to India for career advancement naturally enjoy expat perks, pick up new skills and contacts, and are glad that PAP signed CECA agreement. They are probably paid in sing dollars still, or a fair renumeration in rupees to ensure they are not shortchanged during the currency conversion.

Thousands of sinkee PMET relocated to India? Which reservoir did you pick the numbers from?
Posting to India is hardship assignment!

Of course Ah Nehs like it here ...they can bully sinkees, take their jobs away and climb the corporate ladder because their fellow Ah Neh bosses are prejudiced against sinkees.

You are a traitor and deserves to be burned alive and your ashes thrown into the Ganges river.

All benefits go to GLCs... all shit go to sinkies... :( Imagine the number of GLCs awarded contracts to build smart cities in ah neh land..

Hehe... maybe 10 years later India will say they have no money for smart cities. Smart villages ok mah?

Kuailan

Try to gain votes b4 Erection! Are they tell the truth can believe Zorro? I don't think So!

KuanTi01

Try to gain votes b4 Erection! Are they tell the truth can believe Zorro? I don't think So!

Zorro is a hero unlike Zorro Lim who is a zero! Airy-fairy but nothing up there in the head. Spin-Master and crybaby all rolled into one expensive jiakliaobee!

congo9

How else can it be ?

If Singapore does not sign such FTA, how else you think our Paper smart Smart Aleck ( Sitting on some GLC) deal with ever slippery Indians ?

They can do a proper business with some kind of protection from the Government in Singapore. How are you going to deal with Indians in India , with no protection what so ever ? No business acumen, no idea on how does things work. It is not because they are not smart, but rather they are too "Dull" for Indians.

Pek Kim Lui

What shit do we buy/sell India??? Farking untrustworthy Indians - look at the French fighter aircrafts...want to buy 136 but in the end only 26 planes after taking all junkets n free food incl pussies

How many local PMETs gone over to India????