• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

SQ Airbus both engines lost power at 39,000ft mid-air. Almost crash.

Cerebral

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
Credit to the PAP government and SIA for getting the right people( most probably Ang Moh) to do the job.
it is a miracle that the plane didnt crash when both engine failed.

PAP the best! SIA the best and We Ang Moh the Best! :p

Modern commercial planes can glide and they convert height for distance when both fail

THE_CHANSTER

Why did the plane not divert to HKG? With both engines out, wouldn't that have been the safest option?
Btw there are plenty of airports between HKG and PVG.

SQ 836 nearly crashed

A Singapore Airlines Airbus jet lost power on all of its engines mid-flight

Over the weekend, Singapore Airlines Flight 836, flying from Singapore to Shanghai, lost power mid-flight on both of its Rolls-Royce engines.

According to Flightradar 24, the Airbus A330-343 experienced the problem while cruising at 39,000 feet.

The incident, which took place just south of Hong Kong, caused the airliner to descend 13,000 feet before the crew was able to restart the engines.

The Airbus jet — registration number 9V-SSF — landed safely in Shanghai an hour and a half later.

There were 182 passengers and 12 crew members on board the airliner. No injuries were reported.

According to The Aviation Herald, Singapore Airlines confirmed that the A330 "experienced a temporary loss of power" after encountering some bad weather.

CF8Uw13WIAA-2HP.png

Once on the ground in Shanghai, the two-month-old airliner underwent a batch of tests, but a cause for the power loss couldn't be determined, The Aviation Herald reported.

Singapore's Air Accident Investigations Bureau is looking into the incident.

When a jet like the A330 loses an engine, it's still certified to fly for as long as four hours on the remaining engine. Obviously, when a jet loses both engines, the situation is much more serious. However, pilots are trained to handle it.

The A330-300 is a twin-engine midsize wide-body airliner and one of Airbus' top-selling aircraft types. The plane that experienced the problem was fitted with two Rolls-Royce Trent 772B turbofan engines

Singapore has 31 Airbus A330-300s in its fleet. They fly routes across Asia and Australia.

according to air crash investigation,a jumbo jet can still glide for 30 mins up to 120km even with all engines failure....but imagine u are floating in the sky powerless for 30 mins thinking your going to die,

Good lesson learnt here: you must be a fucking high flyer before even thinking about taking a short breather.

Re: SIA doomed! Engine Failure!

Fake Ah Neh and Pinoy technicians are highly sought by PAP GLCs to boost profits.

dr.wailing

Nabeh.. the crisis centre in SQ take weekends off ah? It should have been reported right away. Not until other media outlets report it then SQ and local prostitute press comment on it. Typical PAP mentality. In this day an age, they think it can be hidden.

SQ got crisis centre meh?

I suppose the crisis centre, if it did exist, must've gone into severe crisis mode: don't know whether to leeport or keep quiet and pretend nothing happened.

But thanks to the internet, we got to learn about it from censor-free news sites.