• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

NOL versus Maersk: What can I say?

Maersk Line – the world’s largest container shipping business – reported a jump in net profit to $714 million from $454 million, due largely to lower bunker fuel prices:

http://www.reuters.com/article/2015/05/13/maersk-results-idUSL5N0Y41JZ20150513

Singapore-based container shipping firm Neptune Orient Lines Ltd said on Thursday its first-quarter net loss narrowed to USD$11 million (S$14.5 million) from $89 million a year earlier, aided by cost savings and lower fuel cost.

NOL reported revenue for the three months ended March 31 at $2 billion, down 13 per cent on the year, though it posted $30 million in core earnings before interest, taxes and non-recurring items, compared with a $65 million loss a year earlier.

http://business.asiaone.com/news/si...-savings-lower-fuel-cost#sthash.HFQwt8Y4.dpuf

The performance of NOL’s CEO (scholar, SAF general, Temasek MD) tells the truth about “intelligence” PAP style: it doesn’t work in the real world, only in S’pore.

Cynical Investor

Source: Thoughts of a Cynical Investor

If the WP or SDP was in charge, the situation at NOL would have been worse. Be grateful!

shittypore

Maersk Line – the world’s largest container shipping business – reported a jump in net profit to $714 million from $454 million, due largely to lower bunker fuel prices:

http://www.reuters.com/article/2015/05/13/maersk-results-idUSL5N0Y41JZ20150513

Singapore-based container shipping firm Neptune Orient Lines Ltd said on Thursday its first-quarter net loss narrowed to USD$11 million (S$14.5 million) from $89 million a year earlier, aided by cost savings and lower fuel cost.

NOL reported revenue for the three months ended March 31 at $2 billion, down 13 per cent on the year, though it posted $30 million in core earnings before interest, taxes and non-recurring items, compared with a $65 million loss a year earlier.

http://business.asiaone.com/news/si...-savings-lower-fuel-cost#sthash.HFQwt8Y4.dpuf

The performance of NOL’s CEO (scholar, SAF general, Temasek MD) tells the truth about “intelligence” PAP style: it doesn’t work in the real world, only in S’pore.

Cynical Investor

Source: Thoughts of a Cynical Investor

With our Scholars at the helms nothing goes wrong, its just long term investment.

webNgYatChung-39914.jpg

^
If you get rid of this guy I'm sure there will be further cost savings. Who knows, eventually you may break even.

See, NOL embodies the true legacy of LKY: Kwa Chong Seng (Gecko's kin) and Ng Yat Chung (SAF scholar-tard, a product of LKY's system) rolled into one shitty GLC.

Really hope the Kra Canal comes into fruition. The NOL Tower can then be converted into an adult entertainment tower. :cool:

xpo2015

You put generals and admirals in corporate positions say bye bye to your profits.

You are killing your generals and admirals.

This shows that singapore companies are mediocre and cannot survive against any competition with external sources,just like the PAP.if they do not have the heavens mandate and a government sanction ed monopoly,every single singapore enterprise from singtel to smrt comfort delgro to sia to mediacorp tosingapore power to dbs to hdb to erp would wither and die like nokia in the 21st century era.

This is more confirmation why singapore companies suck and depend on slavery and cheapEr Better faster to survive.they cant make a profit unless they pay their workers peanuts and stick spurs in their hides.tonychat is right this is why u stay away from retarded sinkieland,its bad for ur health.

shittypore

This is more confirmation why singapore companies suck and depend on slavery and cheapEr Better faster to survive.they cant make a profit unless they pay their workers peanuts and stick spurs in their hides.tonychat is right this is why u stay away from retarded sinkieland,its bad for ur health.

Sinkies still refuse to admit that the whole system is Fook. Just take the CPF ret issue at 55, you hve the answer.

KuanTi01

If the WP or SDP was in charge, the situation at NOL would have been worse. Be grateful!

It's a well-known fact that NOL despite all the PAP scholar-talents is under-performing! Two wrongs do not make it right anyway! :rolleyes:
Please don't even mention NOL and Maersk in the same breath!

It's a well-known fact that NOL despite all the PAP scholar-talents is under-performing! Two wrongs do not make it right anyway! :rolleyes:
Please don't even mention NOL and Maersk in the same breath!

Yeah, its an insult to Maersk. They were not stupid enough to buy APL.

Leckmichamarsch

NOL managed by soldiers and ex politician.......... a recipe for disaster
Lagi worse it NOL of plane load of Ah Nehs with fake degrees..........................no sympathy for this company with screwed up HR practise
The dun understand what is human capital and do not make us of it effectively and efficiently
The bleed continues until that fatso general get demoted to private ........ n the White Horse fame MOS gets janitorial job in NOL bldge

Until you revamp the SAF scholarship system and ban its recipients from a career in politics and GLCs, the rot is going to continue.

Even if you get rid of one Ng Yat Chung, more imbeciles after him will roll out of the system.