• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Forest City

Investor888

Wah Lau! STI dropped 14.3% last year? And 1st 2 weeks of 2016 I heard dropping btw 5-10%? What is going on? At this rate Temasek is losing billions and bleeding alongside our world class Keppel and Semb Corp, I wonder what will happen to Singapore? Everything is dropping... and that includes COE ( grinz.. )

Even if COE drop to zero I wont buy a new car anymore. It surely will be 2 times more expensive than my new Honda City which I got new in JB for just S$25000

Damn jialat.
At least if buy property, still got 2 pcs of brick left. Better than boliao

------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Singapore investors reeling after massive losses in 2015

The STI dropped 14.3% last year.

The past twelve months proved to be a tough year for many investors in Singapore, with the city-state’s largest stocks booking double-digit declines in 2015.

Data from KGI Fraser show that the benchmark Straits Times Index (STI) dipped 14.3% in 2015, following a sharp deterioration in investor sentiment in the second half of the year.
Stocks tumbled after the Yuan devaluation in August, exacerbated by the continued decline in commodity prices and the anticipation of the Fed rate hike.

“The hardest hit was undoubtedly the oil & gas sector, where we saw declines of 46.7% for Ezion, 46.8% for Sembcorp Marine and 26.5% for Keppel Corp. The biggest bluechips were also not spared, as DBS and SingTel shedded 18.6% and 5.7% respectively,” KGI Fraser said.

Commodity trader Noble Group was the worst performer last year, losing 64.9% after a spate of short seller attacks and rating downgrades.

Excluding UOL and SATS, which are recent additions to the STI, only ComfortDelgro, Hongkong Land and CapitaLand ended the year in green.

“Overall, the STI firmly underperformed the rest of the world equities such as the indices in U.S., Europe, Hong Kong, Japan, as we did not see a similar recovery after the selloffs in the second half,” KGI Fraser said.

- See more at: http://sbr.com.sg/stocks/in-focus/s...r-massive-losses-in-2015#sthash.1yTmD7iG.dpuf

Investor888

The only money most Singaporeans have are in their CPF. I am not joking. I am serious. Dead Serious. Even my father who is jobless since I was 5 has some $50000 in his CPF and I was amazed! Whether or not he will get to see all his money that I do not know

That is not what most Singaporeans would do. You must have money to "borrow" from yourself.

Investor888

Why is Forest City so quiet? Any buyers of this place? I plan to borrow money from Singapore banks to finance one unit in Forest City. I read the news and it cost RM 1200psf ( all sea view freehold ). The masterplan looks fantastic too.

Manhattan

I am not a potential buyer but am keenly watching the progress.According to the agent, phase 1 is 'almost soldout' and phase 2 is accepting reservation. Just 2 pointers before investing in the seafront freehold unit. It is on a 6 month old reclaimed land and it is just across the straits from the 3 incinerators.

xebay11

I am not a potential buyer but am keenly watching the progress.According to the agent, phase 1 is 'almost soldout' and phase 2 is accepting reservation. Just 2 pointers before investing in the seafront freehold unit. It is on a 6 month old reclaimed land and it is just across the straits from the 3 incinerators.

Add two power plants.

Davis

Don't forget , it could become leasehold overnight! And the property tax could be 3 times higher than the inland area !

Investor888

As long as they don't build a Nuclear plant I am not worried with all kinds of Plants~ My hope is to see more "Twin Towers" suntanning by the beach

UsernameX

Went to see that showroom at the Sales gallery. Very impressive sales gallery, built up so fast ~ 3 years since the project announced. This company has very deep pockets. PSF from RM12xx onwards
I dont know what the earliest phase sales price, given that currently still in phase 1 of sales. (should have pre launch price, rumour says bought internally by sub contractor and staff).

GO an see that sales gallery and be impressed, this is even bigger than their danga bay project, but not as dense / built up. Really no bullet left for this project. I wonder who will be renting from the buyers unless they create more high paying jobs in this area. The surrounding area leading to this Island all jungle and a small malay village. A lot of Mats riding bike to showroom to enjoy A/c and the sights.

Will keep and eye out for this project to see how it unfolds. They building a highway directly to the sales gallery (banner says be done Oct 2016)

snowbird

If Country Garden takes more than 3 years and is still struggling to clear stock at its Danga Bay site, Forest City may even take a much longer time to sell half as many units.
Furthermore, Forest City is really ulu compare to Danga Bay and when you stand on the reclaimed island, all you can see is Tuas and Tg Gul's heavy industrial buildings, with many belonging to the obnoxious type.
From another view, you get to see the container port in Tg Pelepas and long stretches of mangrove swamps and forested land.
And don't forget that the island are newly reclaimed which is unsuitable to build high rise buildings so soon.

Many were betting that one of the islands will be developed into an IR with casino.
If that's the case, than its a little bit too late.
Already Macau is experiencing many quarterly of declining business while the 2 in SG and the other one in Gentings are not spared either.
As for theme park, LEGOLAND is not getting very good visitorship, on a regular weekday, the crowd is really pathetic.
Furthermore, the location of Forest City is just out of the way from SG and from other parts of JB for most people.
Already, the Danga Bay area, which is more attractive and accessible being planned to be the major center for MICE and HOPSCA, squeezing in another similar one in Forest City, if it ever happen, will only dilute the business.

Frodo

Singaporean MPs trying to discourage their people to invest in JB. Nothing to be worried about.

Maybe these mpees also bought in iskandar and scared their units hard to rent. As it is they already said hard to rent. LOL!

freekazoid

Many were betting that one of the islands will be developed into an IR with casino.
If that's the case, than its a little bit too late.
Already Macau is experiencing many quarterly of declining business while the 2 in SG and the other one in Gentings are not spared either.

Excuse me casinos in Macau/SG was from making obscene amount of money to now still extreme healthy profit.

snowbird

Excuse me casinos in Macau/SG was from making obscene amount of money to now still extreme healthy profit.

Hello, you mean you didn't know that the casino business in Macau for 2015 was so terrible that the gambling revenue was down by one third as reported by Wall Street Journal?
No casino is losing money yet but with revenue down by 30% last year and 2016 forecast is gloomy, you call this "still extreme healthy"?

Tekkun

Hello, you mean you didn't know that the casino business in Macau for 2015 was so terrible that the gambling revenue was down by one third as reported by Wall Street Journal?
No casino is losing money yet but with revenue down by 30% last year and 2016 forecast is gloomy, you call this "still extreme healthy"?

True. Most casinos in Macau very quiet these days as China ramps up on anti corruption drive. I saw only the Venice casino very busy, others half dead, even the Galaxy or new Studio City. Seraton or Holiday Inn is worse. Anyway Genting reported RWS is not doing well.

Interestingly enough, Genting KL is doing well, very busy. Singaporeans still prefer this place as you pay only 30% for the same amount of fun. When Fox Studios open its theme park, it is going to be even better.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Sharing some pictures.
IMG_5756.JPGIMG_5758.JPGIMG_5778.JPGIMG_5779.JPG

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Adding more pictures.

IMG_5822.JPG

The place is pretty interesting. After 8pm though, its pretty dead (for now i guess) but they do have some up and coming shops etc. Toilets are pretty clean and environment nice with beaches although some of the views are a bit spoilt by the PTP port in the distance. The link to Tuas should be up in October this year. Saw lots of piling.
Lots of foreign folks there and they do have landed property as well but pricing is unavailable at this point.

Most of the road lights are off once dark. Noticed that the road (highway) towards Forest City from 2nd link is easier and more accessible than the one through from the 313 Exit when coming from the Nusajaya side. Went through some kampongs and roads (left side multiple minor potholes filled with water) and narrowly went to the PTP port. Saw that there was heightened security at the port though at the unearthly hour i visited.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Posted some pictures here. Pretty nice place (secluded) but there are plenty of signages, if you are coming in from highway exit 313, do remember to take the right turn at the traffic light once you are deep in to avoid going to the PTP port. (You will see Mah Sing's IParc industrial project on your left if you miss the right turn and are going straight to PTP.

http://postimg.org/gallery/36egtla6m/6beb5839/

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
More pictures. Mainly along the road towards Forest City. F&B wise, last order is 7.30pm as some of the staff will start to leave by then. Sales staff leave at about 5pm and only folks with own vehicles remain as staff bus leaves about this time.
Can see some of the piling taking place for the bridge and a part of the supporting structure looks to be in place. Surprisingly fast as compared from the last visit we had.

http://postimg.org/gallery/22a5xw1xy/658220fe/

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Main attraction for some of the foreign buyers would be the marina there as well as being visa free for entry etc.

freekazoid

Yep...30% down from previous out-of-this-world earning is still spell out very profitable. Casino are public listed....2015 financial statement is coming very soon....don't take my word...check them out....the profit beats any single property/premise enterprise by far...far...and far.....