• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Singapore’s Renowned psychiatrist: Is jailing Amos Yee even effective?

http://statestimesreview.com/2015/0...chiatrist-is-jailing-amos-yee-even-effective/

Singapore’s Renowned psychiatrist: Is jailing Amos Yee even effective?
admin / 4 hours ago May 8, 2015

Singapore’s renowned psychiatrist and former scholar Dr Ang Yong Guan posted on his Facebook page questioned if the punishment of jail term and hefty fines is effective on the 16 year old YouTuber Amos Yee.
He reasoned that Amos’s response made the Singapore Government’s threat of jail term and bankruptcy inconsequential, and very likely causing Amos and other like-minded offenders in the future to be undeterred at all.
angyongguan.png
Amos has flatly refused to plead guilty because he does not think what he did was wrong. Secondly, he is NOT interested in bail because the bail comes with several conditions attached which he must have found ridiculous. Thirdly, to many, bail equals freedom to get out of prison until trial date; to Amos, he doesn’t care as he is mentally prepared to remain in prison throughout the trial. Amos is making a lot of people (esp those who are charging him) frustrated / exasperated because his action and reaction defy simple explanation.
And to make things more frustrating for many in authority, Amos is prepared for the worse (“what’s the big deal to go to jail?”). Punishment is supposed to be a deterrent to Amos and other teens.! In this case, has it achieved its aim? Or worse, has it backfired?

Whatever the verdict... the PAP govt has already hurt itself.

It is like Kevin Keegan taking the bait... if you know what I mean. :wink:

[video=youtube;_Yenzdq5g6o]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_Yenzdq5g6o[/video]

Poodles screwed up, AG screwed up ...Pinky is furious. He wants to slap somebody.

The pink shirt imbecile doesn't care. He prefers to write silly Sudoku-solving programs and having a little 'retreat' with his buddy Najib. What a pathetic dwarf of a man. :rolleyes:

ZB_02_01_2015_CJ_6_27053164_27051480_lownc_seyutw_x5bl-1.jpg

"Looking good, darling!"

Agoraphobic

The buggers at the top should have known, a working adult should not have to deal with kids, they (the adults) cannot win. If you lose to the kid, you lose face, if you beat the kid, what have you proven? Or gained? Adults have adult things to do, a job to tend to, family to take care of. Whereas, most teenagers have lots of time; to hang around, listen to music, indulge in nonsense, have fun. And they have all the time to plot, scheme and plan against whoever they're messing with. Some even take pleasure in it. So, to the adults, please stick to your adult things, leave the teenagers to their teenage things.

The buggers at the top should have known, a working adult should not have to deal with kids, they (the adults) cannot win. If you lose to the kid, you lose face, if you beat the kid, what have you proven? Or gained? Adults have adult things to do, a job to tend to, family to take care of. Whereas, most teenagers have lots of time; to hang around, listen to music, indulge in nonsense, have fun. And they have all the time to plot, scheme and plan against whoever they're messing with. Some even take pleasure in it. So, to the adults, please stick to your adult things, leave the

Or it could be that the child dared to say the Emperor has no clothes, the Emperor's sycophants were shocked and had to act quickly to silence the child so their safe little worldview isn't compromised.

Maturity and sensibility doesn't necessarily extrapolate with age. Some of the worst blithering idiots out there belong to the 'Pioneer generation'. Again, this notion upsets the worldview of the Confucianist folks who think the elderly must be accorded unconditional respect by their juniors - and that includes putting up with their bullshit.

Seee3

....Some of the worst blithering idiots out there belong to the 'Pioneer generation'. Again, this notion upsets the worldview of the Confucianist folks who think the elderly must be accorded unconditional respect by their juniors - and that includes putting up with their bullshit.
Please allow me the word in bold to "most".

Jailing of troublemakers is effective. Look at Chia Thye Poh, Lim Chin Siong, Vincent Cheng, Francis Seow, Tang Liang Hong. The threat of jail or actually being in jail did put a stop to their nonsense in wanting to destabilize our lovely sinkie society.

greenies

I bet Pappies would lose young generation votes if they punish Amos heavily.
Young generation is fearless.

Most of the young generation support PAP!

10334309_10152772383002934_972967451979556240_n.jpg

If they did, they wouldn't be wearing school uniforms lah. Which teenager want to wear school uniform on weekend?
Want to bluff, also don't know how to bluff.
No wonder PAP is going down ...with people like you, there is other way but down.

Never associate age with wisdom or think that the elderly must be accorded unconditional respect. Plenty of elderly who are idiots and behave like shit in the world, including SG. :rolleyes:

By all means be kind and offer your seat to the elderly on public transport or let them queue ahead when buying food or seeing the doctor. But please don't allow them to jump the queue at gambling establishments or whorehouses. :biggrin:

Maturity and sensibility doesn't necessarily extrapolate with age. Some of the worst blithering idiots out there belong to the 'Pioneer generation'. Again, this notion upsets the worldview of the Confucianist folks who think the elderly must be accorded unconditional respect by their juniors - and that includes putting up with their bullshit.

greenies

If they did, they wouldn't be wearing school uniforms lah. Which teenager want to wear school uniform on weekend?
Want to bluff, also don't know how to bluff.
No wonder PAP is going down ...with people like you, there is other way but down.

Thanks, very good observation.

Tuayapeh

Most of the young generation support PAP!

10334309_10152772383002934_972967451979556240_n.jpg

Cb PAP make use of student standing under the rain !! Free transport to site and free lunch sibo ? Same like the Election Day making use of old people to go there listen their LAN jiao Wei .