• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Kirsten Han posted against(?) MDA, but at a same time criticising TRS!! Hypocrite!

metalslug

https://sg.news.yahoo.com/blogs/sin...stion-the-shutdown-of-the-real-092710455.html

2015-04-28T205600Z_1_LYNXMPEB3R0Z1_RTROPTP_3_INTERNET-ATTACK_original.jpg

Let’s be clear: I detest The Real Singapore (TRS). Far from journalism, it has participated in rumour-mongering and the demonisation of groups of people, many already marginalised and stigmatised in society. If everyone in Singapore chose to stage a boycott of the site, or to write a public statement protesting its behaviour, I would be a most willing participant.

Yet this isn’t what happened on Sunday, when the Media Development Authority (MDA) suspended TRS’ licence to operate. What happened - and on World Press Freedom Day, no less - was a government body summarily deciding to shut down a website, even before its ongoing court case has been concluded.

It’s unlikely that this particular website will be much missed by anyone with a sense of ethics, but TRS’ suspension is worth examining.
The MDA said that TRS had breached the Internet Code of Practice by publishing “prohibited material” defined as “objectionable on the grounds of public interest, public order and national harmony.” It’s unclear how the decision was made, and whether there is any oversight of this process within or without the MDA. This lack of transparency has been pointed out by the FreeMyInternet group.
Press freedom does not, of course, extend to deliberately inserting falsehoods into articles. However, our schadenfreude at seeing a vile website go down should not stop us from questioning the state’s power to shut down websites and decide on matters of public interest and morality on society’s behalf.

That TRS is a problematic site whose operators have engaged in irresponsible behaviour is not in question here. What we should discuss, though, is whether the state should have this power to shut down websites, and how broad these powers should be.
Analysts have described the MDA’s action as reflective of the “light touch” the government promised to take with regard to online regulation. Their reasoning is that since the MDA has only chosen to take this action in the “extreme” case of TRS, it shows that the state has not been overzealous in curbing online freedom.

But this is not really freedom. There’s a difference between a website operating because the MDA has not yet decided to shut it down, and truly having freedom of speech and expression to operate in an open environment of debate and conversation. It’s not freedom if the state has the power to order a shutdown even before due process at the courts has been concluded, and we’re meant to feel relieved and grateful that they’ve only done it once (so far).

Singapore is a multicultural, multiracial and multi-religious society, and social fault-lines exist in our country. The state has often dangled the threat of interracial conflict to discourage us from broaching sensitive subjects such as race and religion.

But all these years of OB markers have done little to build our political and social maturity. Over the years, we’ve stifled open discourse – even offensive discourse – to the point where we prefer to leave everything to the authorities: sue, arrest, charge, jail and prohibit everything that we dislike. But in a developed society, there must be other ways to deal with problematic situations.

What we should focus on is building a media literate society that critically evaluates all the content we see, so that we can identify bad content and call it out. We, as readers and audiences, should be able to hold websites – and mainstream media, or any other form of media content – to account ourselves, without the need to rely on the authorities for intervention every time we see something we dislike.

Instead of calling for TRS to be arrested and charged and jailed, we should be striving towards building a society where people can judge TRS’ content for the vile hate-mongering that it is, and dismiss it as such. Shutting down the site does not root out the mindsets and prejudices that gave it its audience; only education and open discussion can tackle these issues.

We, as a society, should find ways to deal with problems ourselves, because it’s risky to hand all power over to the state. We might be happy that TRS is gone today, but should keep in mind that the power that enabled the MDA to do this could be used on other platforms that we do like tomorrow.

Re: Kirsten Han posted against(?) MDA, but at a same time criticising TRS!! Hypocrite

These are the closet pap supporters that call themselves fence sitters.
To be honest some dun even know that but their subconscious mind learn towards vile pappies.....that's how sucuessful and complete Lky's indoctraination is.

UltimaOnline

Re: Kirsten Han posted against(?) MDA, but at a same time criticising TRS!! Hypocrite

Braema Mathi (Ms), Maruah Singapore, and AWARE Singapore.

http://www.straitstimes.com/premium...ng-stakeholders-dialogue-much-better-20150506

THE suspension of The Real Singapore's licence to operate raises important issues on the freedom of speech ("Socio-political site shut down on MDA's orders"; Monday).

As a human rights organisation, Maruah is deeply concerned with these, and recognises the complexities of reconciling the need for space for free expression and the need for responsible speech.

Much of the content of The Real Singapore goes against what we have championed, namely equality and non-discrimination.

The Real Singapore's sensational journalism and encouragement of xenophobia against foreign workers do, indeed, have to be tackled.

However, the Media Development Authority's (MDA) draconian measures are not the best way to do so, as they legitimise excessive intervention by the state and set a precedent for the diminution of our online space.

The draconian measures are also problematic in terms of their implementation.

As some people have pointed out, some other sites have been just as guilty in stirring hatred, but have been spared punishment.

We suggest that due process and natural justice require that the MDA, at a minimum, notify the editors of The Real Singapore of the specific items of content that the MDA believes to be unlawful, give them a reasonable opportunity to show why the site should not be ordered shut, and provide clear and detailed written grounds for its decision.

In particular, the MDA should explain why it decided to take action against The Real Singapore but not other sites that have published similar content, and why it believes the entire website had to be taken down instead of just the specific articles that it appropriately determines to be unlawful.

We also recommend that government officials openly and publicly engage bloggers and newsmakers of different ilk on an ongoing basis, to develop a better understanding of each other and to enable the Government to respond to inaccuracies and falsehoods in a more timely and effective manner.

The diversity of Singapore's populace is reflected in the diversity of opinions online.

Censoring an entire platform without due process does Singapore and Singaporeans no favours, however much we may dislike its approach or the things it publishes.

See more at: http://www.straitstimes.com/premium...ng-stakeholders-dialogue-much-better-20150506

Tuayapeh

Hes trying to sound he's neural and logical but he got hidden agenda.

aiyah...........if not pro-PAP........newspapers will keep publishing your articles meh...........

The Real Singapore's sensational journalism and encouragement of xenophobia against foreign workers do, indeed, have to be tackled.

Spare us your trojan horse rhetoric, you AWARE cunt. :rolleyes:

You NGOs also depend on the PAP's patronage. Stop pretending to be unbiased.

"please, somebody date me out!"

image.jpg

Kirsten Han is already married to an Ang Mo who thought of her as "exotic".

In reality the angmo is likely a white trash leeching on her and fucking spgs behind her ugly back