• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Amos Yee's challenge of bail conditions dismissed by High Court

Leckmichamarsch

stupid ass n stupider lawyers......... the basic point is take it or leave it
he can appeal if govt require him to pay for food and lodging...........

gingerlyn

wotttt Paolo Maldini
long time no see. I miss you very much.

Do you still keep in touch with Roberto Baggio and Daniele Massaro?

winners

Even if the verdict will be a small fine for him and thereafter he'll be released. Do you think it'll be smooth sailing from then on? He'll be up to his nonsense again in no time and gets himself into trouble with the law again. His immediately family members would also be implicated indirectly.

what is the reason for judge tay to throw out his case?

It's a 'judge' in the kangaroo court. what did you expect?

Seems like the PAP regime wants to play hard ball. Alright then sycophants, let's take it all the way.

shiokalingam

Amos just got brought out in prison attire and chains.

He is wearing a T-shirt with the words, "Prisoner", at the back.

quartz28

Vatican City, April 26, 2015 (ZENIT.org) | 1716 hits

Below is the telegram Pope Francis sent Saturday for the earthquake tragedy in Nepal:

The Right Reverend Paul Simick
Bishop of the Apostolic Vicariate of Nepal

His Holiness Pope Francis was deeply saddened to learn of the earthquake and the resultant loss of many hundreds of lives in Nepal, as well as in neighbouring Countries. He expresses his solidarity with all affected by this disaster and assures those who grieve for deceased family members of his closeness in prayer. His Holiness commends the souls of the victims to the loving mercy of the Almighty and he offers encouragement to the civil authorities and emergency personnel as they continue their rescue efforts and assistance to those touched by this tragedy. Upon them all he invokes the blessings of the Almighty as a pledge of healing and consolation.

Cardinal Pietro Parolin
Secretary of State

[Original Text: English]

Siao ah...wtf sad and give prayers...since pope so close to god...he should call or send a telegraph to kan god for the earth quake...wanna earthquake, put it at ISIS area lah...

shiokalingam

Amos just got brought out in prison attire and chains.

He is wearing a T-shirt with the words, "Prisoner", at the back.

n blogger Amos Yee pleads not guilty to both charges at start of two-day trial
Published on May 7, 2015 11:20 AM
1339 1528 1 0 WhatsApp3
PRINT
EMAIL

The two-day trial of teenage blogger Amos Yee will begin on Thursday morning. -- ST PHOTO: WONG KWAI CHOW

Blogger Roy Ngerng arriving at the State Court for Amos Yee's trial on May 7, 2015. -- ST PHOTO: WONG KWAI CHOW
Amos Yee's mother, Mary Toh arriving at the State Court for Amos Yee's trial on May 7, 2015. -- ST PHOTO: WONG KWAI CHOW
Amos Yee's father arriving at the State Court for Amos Yee's trial on May 7, 2015. -- ST PHOTO: WONG KWAI CHOW
Amos Yee's former bailor, family and youth counseller Vincent Law arriving at the State Court for Amos Yee's trial on May 7, 2015. -- ST PHOTO: WONG KWAI CHOW
Amos Yee's lawyer, Mr Alfred Dodwell arriving at the State Court for Amos Yee's trial on May 7, 2015. -- ST PHOTO: WONG KWAI CHOW

Amir Hussain and Olivia Ho

SINGAPORE - Clad in a white prison T-shirt and brown shorts, and in handcuffs and leg shackles, teenage blogger Amos Yee Pang Sang pleaded not guilty to the two charges against him in court on Thursday morning at the start of his two-day trial.

The 16-year-old, who has been in the media spotlight since he was charged in court for three offences on March 31, smiled at times as he sat in the dock.

He has been in remand in Changi Prison since last Thursday, after his bailor, family and youth counsellor Vincent Law discharged himself, following a breach by Yee of his bail terms.

The Attorney-General's Chambers is prosecuting Yee on two charges - for allegedly attacking Christianity with the deliberate intention of wounding the religious feelings of Christians, and for purportedly transmitting electronically an image showing obscene figures.

The teen who is claiming trial, entered pleas of "not guilty" to the two charges.

A third charge, stood down for now, relates to the Protection from Harassment Act. It accuses him of making an online video containing offensive remarks about the late founding prime minister Mr Lee Kuan Yew. The prosecution will assess whether to bring this charge at a later date.

Seated inside the packed courtroom on Thursday were Yee's parents, Mr Law, and prominent civil society activists Roy Ngerng, Andrew Loh and Teo Soh Lung. Earlier, Mr Law, was one of the first to arrive at the State Court at 9.15am. He was followed by Mr Ngerng and Yee's mother, Mary Toh, 48. Yee's father came shortly after.

Mr Law, who was at the head of a queue to enter the courtroom, said he came to support the teenager: "I hope Amos gets a good trial. I never changed my mind about bailing him out. It was his decision and I respect it."

Yee was first remanded on April 17 after the judge at a pre-trial conference converted the $20,000 police bail that he had been on to court bail, requiring bail to be reposted, but his parents decided against posting bail.

Four days later, he was bailed out by Mr Law, who was hoping that the teen would be willing to be counselled.

Yee was sent back to remand last Thursday after Mr Law discharged himself, following a breach by Yee of his bail terms. Yee, who was out on $20,000 bail, made two posts on his blog and shared those posts on his Facebook page.

At his pre-trial conference that Thursday afternoon District Judge Kessler Soh asked Yee to take down his latest posts, but he refused.

The judge raised bail from $20,000 to $30,000, with the same conditions. At the hearing, the prosecution also proposed that his trial be expedited.

The High Court, which heard a motion challenging Yee's bail conditions on Wednesday, upheld his current bail conditions, under which he cannot post any content online.

If convicted of uploading content online that contained remarks against Christianity, with the deliberate intention of wounding the religious feelings of Christians, Yee could be jailed for up to three years and fined.

If convicted of transmitting electronically an image showing obscene figures, Yee faces imprisonment for up to three months and a fine.

The court has been adjourned till 2.30pm tomorrow, following a request by Yee's lawyers for more time to look through the evidence submitted by the prosecution.

[email protected]

soIsee

Even if the verdict will be a small fine for him and thereafter he'll be released. Do you think it'll be smooth sailing from then on? He'll be up to his nonsense again in no time and gets himself into trouble with the law again. His immediately family members would also be implicated indirectly.

To you, what Amos does is nonsense becos you are conditioned to be in the LKY mode.

Look at it his way. I put you in another country with a different set of laws and expectations and I bet you will still be in LKY mode becos to you, that LKY mindset of yours is already cast in STONE.

twit.

we will love Amos to make another yutube about the Lee family and PAP again...

until PAP lose the election... pls be ready to be a loser..oh wait, aren't you already are?

winners

To you, what Amos does is nonsense becos you are conditioned to be in the LKY mode.
So, you think what Amos has been doing so far is correct and justifiable. What good an outcome will be even if he's released for this time and within a month, he's back in remand because of his persistent rebellious attitude against the government? Even his immediate family members will be implicated and affected emotionally. Will this be a win-win situation? Think about it for yourself.

Tuayapeh

Siao ah...wtf sad and give prayers...since pope so close to god...he should call or send a telegraph to kan god for the earth quake...wanna earthquake, put it at ISIS area lah...

Prayer is for lazy people who refused to do any work to improve the situation and living in delusional world.

Patriot

2w5p02d.jpg

Tuayapeh

So, you think what Amos has been doing so far is correct and justifiable. What good an outcome will be even if he's released for this time and within a month, he's back in remand because of his persistent rebellious attitude against the government? Even his immediate family members will be implicated and affected emotionally. Will this be a win-win situation? Think about it for yourself.

Who cares about winning or losing? The most important is stay true to yourself and do what is right. Too bad sinkie like you will never understand what is dignity and rights.

shiokalingam

Amos should dismiss the the kangaroo judge![/QUOTEDefence counsel, Alfred Dodwell, told the court that defence will be relying on the statement which Amos Yee had given to the police.

The judge then turned to the evidence submitted by the prosecution, and made particular mention of the obscenity charge.

Apparently referring to the image of Lee and Thatcher, which is the basis of the prosecution’s obscenity charge, the judge said an image by itself was not enough to conclude obscenity. She said there must be intent to profane and corrupt.

She thus instructed the prosecution to address this at Friday’s hearing.

PAP wants to exile him. Famous Amos is a pain in the ass for the PAP.