• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Should gic invest in indian company after its share price quadrupled?

http://therealsingapore.com/content/should-gic-invest-company-after-its-share-price-quadrupled

[h=1]SHOULD GIC INVEST IN A COMPANY AFTER ITS SHARE PRICE QUADRUPLED?[/h]

Post date:
29 Apr 2015 - 8:24pm

On 24 April, it was reported that GIC had invested US$198 million (S$263 million based on 1.33 exchange rate) in Nirlon Ltd, an Indian company.
Source: marketwatch.com

From the chart above, GIC appears to have substantially overpaid for Nirlon.

1 GIC has paid for a business which was worth only a quarter of the price less than a year ago. Its purchase price of Rs 222 valued Nirlon at US$316 million when the market had earlier valued it at below US$80 million.

2 Nirlon has paid dividend only once ie Rs 0.75 which translates into a 0.3 dividend yield. (GIC has so many extremely-low yield investments that it has to resort to taking high risks to pay CPF investors.)

3 Its earnings per share of Rs 3.51 does not justify the purchase price of Rs222 per share.

4 There has been no fundamental change in Nirlon’s business to justify its share price at Rs 222.

5 A 63% ownership means Nirlon must continue to make record profits or GIC could be forced to exit the investment at a huge loss.

Nirlon’s yearly figures

Although Nirlon’s results for the nine months ending Dec 2014 were impressive, they are insufficient to justify the the huge premium paid by GIC. This is reflected by the 27% drop in Nirlon’s share price subsequent to GIC’s purchase.

GIC’s S$1/4 billion bet on Indian real estate could go either way because global asset prices have already been inflated by irresponsible central banks. Historically-low interest rates will not stay low forever.

Our Indian investments are also exposed to huge exchange rate risks and where the Indian currency is concerned, it is unpredictable. Over a decade from 2005 to 2015, it lost about 90%. Over a 20 year and 30 year period, it lost 123% and 742% respectively.

Although there are other stable businesses, GIC prefers to make big bets on inflated foreign real estate. Will GIC’s expertise contribute to an increase in Nirlon’s bottom line or will the investment join a list of GIC’s wipeout? I guess only time will tell.

As a CPF member with vested interest, one can only hope for the best.

Phillip Ang
*The writer blogs at https://likedatosocanmeh.wordpress.com/

60%: OK lah!

In any other countries in the world, you 'use' public funds, which are the people's blood money, you will be ask to account for them, gets sacked or even commit harakiri. Nearer here, you will have a 89 year old man, baying for your 'head to be chopped off'. But in Sillypore, you buy high sell low, that is an achievement, the mark of a suave investor, furthermore, the 'blood flow' is limitless, money gone...there are some more from the 'blood bank', where 'donors' every day are under compulsion to 'donate' ( CPF)..:rolleyes:

zookeeper

From 2010 to 2014
1) Sales turnover gone up to about 4x
2) but, share price dropped from 75 to 45

Think there is only one possible explanation - rapid market expansion by buying off competitors at premium price

But need more information to know.

GIC and Temasek so stupid meh..............i think not...........

all these deals must be while GIC and Temasek buy..............Pinky short those shares.........