• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Lim Swee Say: S'pore may fall behind without job, skills boost

From the very same people who betray SGs by importing Fakeys to replace well-qualified and hardworking SGs, driving SGs to un- or under-employment, making SGs lose their skillsets, and dispossessing both young and mature SGs of opportunities to gaining of new working experiences. Can the FAP be less hypocritical? Can the FAP come clean with their hidden agenda of perpetuating one-Familee rule by replacing SGs with 'grateful' foreigners at all costs? The root cause of SGs' decline and imminent extinction if the selfishness of one Familee and party. The only way for SGs to turn the tide against their demise is to vote out the FAP in the coming GE. Nothing will change if the majority of SGs are too afraid or ignorant to take this critical step.

http://mypaper.sg/top-stories/spore-may-fall-behind-without-job-skills-boost-20150428

Published on Apr 28, 2015
[h=2]S'pore may fall behind without job, skills boost[/h]

JOANNA SEOW

SINGAPORE risks regressing to become "just a normal country" unless it moves faster to enhance workers' skills and create new jobs, labour chief Lim Swee Say said yesterday.

The country should also venture ahead of its competitors in weaving technology into manufacturing, services and daily life, said Mr Lim in his final May Day message as National Trades Union Congress (NTUC) secretary-general.
Failing to improve on the skills and jobs fronts in tandem may lead to shortages of both, and a mismatch between those available, he said. This may, in turn, lead to a rise in unemployment, structural unemployment and underemployment.

"We could then regress and become just a normal country with an ordinary economy and ordinary workforce. This will be painful," he warned.

Singapore, which has been praised for its exceptional economic performance over the past few decades, should take the lead in areas such as future manufacturing using robots, future services where customers are more involved, and being a smart nation where technology is more integrated, he added.

Mr Lim, who will move from NTUC to be manpower minister next week, also paid tribute to the Pioneer Generation, as well as all workers and tripartite partners for their contributions to Singapore's transformation over the last 50 years.

They have helped secure the economic conditions that workers here enjoy, he said. These are a tight labour market with enough jobs for workers of various ages, fair wage increases and bonuses, a higher re-employment age ceiling, and industrial peace.

In her May Day message, NTUC president Diana Chia highlighted the role of union leaders over the years, from standing up to errant employers in the 1960s to accepting the flexible wage system in the 1980s, which raised Singapore's competitiveness.

She added that the three-way partnership between unions, government and employers needs to be brought to the sectoral level as well.

"Government agencies work with employer groups and trade unions in each sector to chart out strategies that will deliver productivity and skills breakthroughs, so that Singapore and Singaporeans can continue to prosper," she said.
[email protected]

Tell this toothpick thief to stop bluffing.....all you need to do is be, dark in colour, have a PHD from _____- & then your BSc from Mumbai University, have some " hand skills"....why need to upgrade skills & whatever..I have been hearing this kind of craps from these people since the recession of 1984 till now...what has been done? & nothing had been changed..you have plenty of skills & qualifications....your government let in loads of FT's.....wtf.

This problem was identified decades ago. We are still dealing with it after all this time. And it is the same party governing.

Cow should ask his cabinet colleagues to hari kiri immediately, it is decades overdue.

Form 1984 fake recession bully LKY started to build his elite Leegime leaving majority Sinkies behind.

Time to get rid of LHL to solve mother of Singapore problems.

Tell this toothpick thief to stop bluffing.....all you need to do is be, dark in colour, have a PHD from _____- & then your BSc from Mumbai University, have some " hand skills"....why need to upgrade skills & whatever..I have been hearing this kind of craps from these people since the recession of 1984 till now...what has been done? & nothing had been changed..you have plenty of skills & qualifications....your government let in loads of FT's.....wtf.

Form 1984 fake recession bully LKY started to build his elite Leegime leaving majority Sinkies behind.

Time to get rid of LHL to solve mother of Singapore problems.

The rot started when Wooden took over. The collapse accelerated rapidly when Ass ascended the throne. But SGs have only themselves to be blamed ultimately as it is not as if they are not given any opportunity to right the wrongs once every 4 - 5 years, but they have chosen to vote for more of the same each time.

Sinkieland falls behind because of useless shit like this talking cock.. Just fucking resign lah..

Equalisation

Jangan wayang lah kotek !!:mad:

Give us back all OUR hard-earned CPF money at age 55 !! Damn it ! It is IUR blood and sweat money from many years of toiling !!:mad:

shittypore

Just imagine how much tis Shit has collected in Salary and Bonuses over the yrs since been in Office. Every May Day we get the same old story abt up grading on skills, up grade wat? If dont hve the Industry for specific skill, upgrade wat skill? Tis type of talk only NTUC idiots can listen.

Agoraphobic

Would be nice if Sg could just be a "normal country." Nice to have some countryside, mountain scenery, open spaces, no COE.......

JOANNA SEOW

SINGAPORE risks regressing to become "just a normal country" unless it moves faster to enhance workers' skills and create new jobs, labour chief Lim Swee Say said yesterday.

He claims that with his experience, he would be able to bring together employers and employees better.

What relevant experience has he got to do this?

Beyond stealing toothpicks and checking his monthly CPF statement, I mean.

vincenttan

Some job can't be trained and skill upgrades also won't lead them very far. Just like PAP grassroot leaders, they can help, assist and bor lan par but act bossy, hao lian and papayas. No amount of training can help PAP win votes!

Yes, we should spend more time boosting our skills by examining who makes the best premium toothpicks. :rolleyes:

Nincompoop!!!! :oIo::biggrin:

congo9

Just imagine how much tis Shit has collected in Salary and Bonuses over the yrs since been in Office. Every May Day we get the same old story abt up grading on skills, up grade wat? If dont hve the Industry for specific skill, upgrade wat skill? Tis type of talk only NTUC idiots can listen.

Just stop importing foreign trash and i think a lot of problem can be solve at PMET level.