• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

That's just Great! Now Koreans coming here to look for jobs. Fuck PAP and LKY

More young Koreans coming to Singapore in search of work

Faced by the difficulty of finding a job back home, more South Koreans are choosing to come to Singapore – even if they are overqualified for the positions they take up here.

SINGAPORE: Ms Lee Ju Yeon wanted to further her studies and see the world after graduating from Seoul's Kyunghee University back in 2003.

She spent some time living and working overseas, and returned with a Master’s degree from a UK university. But she was unable to find a job in Korea.

The 35-year-old said: “It’s really hard to get a job in Korea if you are older than your peers, because the culture is different from other countries. If you're a fresh graduate, you have to be a certain age. So the problem was that there was no company that wanted to hire me because I was too old for their standards.”

Ms Lee eventually found work as a senior associate at a gaming company in Singapore.

While she admitted it is slightly more expensive for her to live here, the better work-life balance - and the fact that she gets to work with people from all over the world - makes up for it.

The same holds true for younger Koreans like Song Ji Aei. The 20-year-old is currently a university student, but took a break and came to Singapore to work as a waitress at a hotel for a year. She has plans to return to Singapore to look for a full-time job when she graduates. “Singapore is very nice, and their hotels are also very well-run. It's my dream to work here,” she said.

There were an estimated 15,000 Koreans residing in Singapore five years ago according to Craig Kwon, a recruitment consultant at JAC Recruitment. He thinks the number has since doubled to about 30,000. “It's getting harder to find a job in Korea, so they’re willing to relocate to the other countries for their first job,” Mr Kwon explained. He expects the number to continue increasing. “I definitely see this number increasing every year. They can speak English, so they want to choose a country with an English-speaking base like Singapore or Hong Kong.”

He added that there is currently an emphasis on technical degrees like Engineering and Electronics in Korea, which puts those with more general degrees such as Business Administration at a disadvantage. "Those with a good background and can speak English well will want to go to the banking and finance industry, or IT. “But those in the second-tier universities, or cannot speak English very well, will then have to consider the service industry. The majority of them eventually join hotels or the F&B industry.”

Koreans who come to Singapore are also more willing to take up internships or contract positions, as this provides an opportunity to add to their work experience while also helping them improve their command of English. Companies in Singapore - particularly in the hospitality and food and beverage industries - are benefiting from the increase.

Marina Mandarin Hotel Marketing and Communications Director Patricia Yong revealed that they typically have about eight to 20 young Koreans as interns or trainees at any one time. “But we don’t usually offer them full-time or permanent positions, as that would add to our quota for foreign workers under the Manpower Ministry's guidelines. However, we will consider them for a permanent position if they do well.”

Ms Yong said the Koreans are fast learners. They usually work in the food and beverage outlets or in the front office, but have an added advantage in the hotel's Chinese restaurant. "The Korean culture is very similar to Asian grace, warmth and care, so in terms of service aspect, they have a lot to offer.”

She added that South Korea will continue to be a source the hotel would look towards to alleviate the current manpower crunch faced by Singapore's hospitality industry.

lee ju yeon. not bad.

image.jpg

Boliao

This trend started more than 10 years ago. My Korean colleague who has been here for 15 years and had two Singaporean sons told me the Korean community suddenly expanded 3 times in the last 5 years. He is happy because there are now more Koreans and thus, more accessible to Korean food and culture.

He said that Koreans liked Singapore because our men respect ladies. Many divorced and single Korean ladies come to Singapore to restart their lives. Also, Korean boys serving NS in Singapore is much better than Korean serving NS close to the North Korean border.

However, I'm fine with that as they are making Singapore their home and bringing in good quality Kimchis :smile:

Much better than arrogant Indians with fake qualification.

Some (not all) of the Korean girls are very beautiful. Had the privilege of working with some of them. :wink:

Korean women are very horny. Truck loads of single/ divorced Korean ladies are in Singapore. Go figure :smile:

My Korean lady friends say they tak boleh tahan the Korean men back home. Very chauvinistic and overly rough during sex. Sometimes they beat their wives after a drinking session (though not as serious as the ah nehs).

Asterix

Korean women are very horny. Truck loads of single/ divorced Korean ladies are in Singapore. Go figure :smile:

Ahhh ............... the Korean Spring is cumming ..............

[video=youtube;08xsZ0vtZyw]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=08xsZ0vtZyw[/video]

greedy and cunning

we are living in a strange world.
everything is upside down.
right can become wrong
and wrong can become right
it depends on who u are or who u know.

every countries encouraging the citizens
to gave birth , producing more babies.
they want to achieve goals like
100% educated population ,
life expectancy of 80 and more .
all these for what purpose ?
they don't have program to ensure
wealth are fairly distributed.
is their agenda to produce more slaves ?
jobs go to foreigners
even though the citizens are out of jobs.
the bottom layer is feeding the top 1% ,
further enriching the already very wealthy.

the future is bleak for the bottom layer of the society.
it can only get worse and not better.