• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

IDA probes claim about employee's 'fake' MBA

Yesterday 10:25 AM http://sgfuck.org/mybb/images/mobile/posted_0.gif Post: #1
forum456 http://sgfuck.org/mybb/images/buddy_offline.gif
Elite Junior

tlx9IjT.jpg

http://sgfuck.org/mybb/Thread-Uncle-Tom-getting-confuse-after-reading-IDA-reply-ya
Yesterday 9:56 PM http://sgfuck.org/mybb/images/mobile/posted_1.gif Post: #1
tomiyaki http://sgfuck.org/mybb/images/buddy_offline.gif
http://sgfuck.org/mybb/uploads/avatars/avatar_121.jpg?dateline=1395890679
Today Straits time ... The staff is clear and even that simi Poly also using the same reply ... They are recruit them not becos of the highest grade no doubt written but employ them becos of their lower cert and also experience .... Like that does it mean from stat board to school and Poly singapore any mill cert is ok to have it written down ... I'm getting confuse ... Lky said hire the correct people and now I'm not quite sure if that is the case ... What if one day we are to wake up and a minister has been said to also having a mill cert and maybe lhl will said , I hire him becos of his o level not becos of his mba and also his experience horr .... So this will be ok going forward that a mill cert is ok to be written down on ur resume as the reason to hire you might be becos of ur asssss or look or hair and not becos of ur cert so it ok ya ..... Simiiiiii bluebird country university or government office will reply this way ya ... So is that the new way going forward from government to school preaching out very next generation what integrity really mean

What IDA and NYP is saying is that their masters degree and PhD from the unaccredited university will have no bearing on their career. Hence, those dullards wasted all their time and money on a piece of paper that will in no way advance their career with IDA and NYP. For all you know, those two may have been paid a much lower salary than the average NUS or NTU graduate because of their lower quality degrees. But then, some netizens may begin to complain again, that we should not discriminate people based solely on a cert. Complainers will always find something to complain about.

The system of meritocracy in Singapore is still well preserved.

sirus

By Masked Crusader

Following more than a week, the Info-Comm Development Authority of Singapore finally announced that its thorough investigation into Nisha Padmanabhan’s MBA degree from a known degree mill has concluded.

IDA says:

(It is) satisfied that she did not deceive or mislead IDA by citing the MBA in her CV when she applied to IDA for a job.

Nisha had enrolled for an MBA distance learning programme with Southern Pacific University in 2005 when she was residing in Malaysia. She had genuinely believed her MBA programme to be bona fide, and she had put in effort to obtain the qualification. In retrospect, Nisha acknowledges that she should have been more discerning in assessing the quality of the university which she had selected to pursue her distance learning programme.

While IDA did not take Nisha’s MBA into account when hiring her, as the job only required a Bachelor degree-holder, we did look at her relevant skillsets and past work experience as she was a mid-career hire.”

Fair enough. Both Padmanabhan and IDA have at least acknowledged that the MBA programme was not a “bone fide” course.

Padmanabhan has changed her LinkedIn profile indicating that her only bona fide qualification is her Bachelor of Engineering degree from the University of Mumbai, which is ranked outside of the top 500 universities in the world. One website, which ranks accredited universities around the world places University of Mumbai in 1787th position compared to National University of Singapore, which is 74th.

This episode certainly puts a new spin on the Government’s provocations that degrees—which according to Minister Khaw Boon Wan, cannot be eaten—are not important.

Interestingly, IDA’s admission implies that it also did not know that Southern Pacific University degrees were not bona fide till this week! Its Human Resource department, it appears, does not scrutinize qualifications of its employees and possibly does not have a database of accredited universities to perform the most basic of checks.

From the public’s perspective, it seems Padmanabhan’s response—that she was naïve—was her only defense if she still wanted to hang on to her position. In its “thorough investigation”, did IDA corroborate her explanation that she did not know her course was not a bona fide one?

Why did Padmanabhan choose SPU? Did she apply to other universities as well? What was the duration of Padmanabhan’s “distance learning programme” at SPU? Proper part-time online courses are rarely completed sooner than full-time ones. What were her SPU course fees? A ridiculously low cost for an MBA should have been a giveaway.

What “effort” was required of her during the course? Did IDA look at any of her coursework to determine if it was of the type and scale of a typical post-graduate course? If, for instance, Padmanabhan did no coursework or minimal work, how could she not have known she was enrolled in a bogus programme?

At which point did Padmanabhan become aware that her programme was not a legitimate one? If it was during the course, why did she not disenroll and cut her losses or ask for a refund? If her suspicions were aroused, why did she not investigate SPU further? There are various sources on the internet that list degree mills. In fact, a Google search for the words, “Southern Pacific University”, spits out primarily negative reviews and lists of unaccredited universities.

If Padmanabhan found out that degree was not bona fide only after completing her course—which beggars belief—why did she list her MBA qualification in her IDA job application and her LinkedIn profile?

Did IDA ask these fundamental questions of Padmanabhan and what responses did it elicit?

IDA’s sub-standard HR practices, “thorough investigation”, and statements are so unconvincing that the Minister of Manpower must convene an immediate inquiry into this affair to assuage public disquiet.

Separately, the Workforce Development Agency and Immigrations and Checkpoints Authority, which have remained very silent on this issue, need to provide clarifications on several related matters. Do these organisations also consider SPU to be a degree mill? If they do, and if Padmanabhan had listed her MBA qualifications on her work permit, permanent residency and citizenship applications, why was she successful in these applications.

Far from the matter being closed with IDA’s most recent statement, the important process to stop the rot is only now starting. As details are emerging that hundreds, perhaps thousands, in Singapore have thrived using bogus qualifications, the Government needs to send out an unequivocal message that meritocracy in the workplace is still a core value.

This article was first published at maskedcrusader.blogspot.sg

http://www.theonlinecitizen.com/2015/04/why-job-cheats-cheat-part-ii/

Its officially cleared, let's move on.

attachment.php

• goh-chok-tong-twist.jpg
    goh-chok-tong-twist.jpg
    45 KB · Views: 868

leetahbah

IDA is under:
Ministry of Information, Communications and the Arts (MICA)
Ministers responsible:
Yaacob Ibrahim, Minister
Lawrence Wong, 2nd Minister
Sim Ann, Minister of State

GE2016 these ministers in risk of losing their seats! They defended their prize employee twice, dug the hole deeper I guess.

Here's why the people are mad:
1. IDA choose a FT with a 500th ranking university over Singaporeans graduates from local universities and polytechnics who worked hard for their certs.

2. IDA choose to retain a dishonest employee who choose use degree mill to deceive. Is IDA really naive enough to believe a university graduate cannot differentiate a real university and a degree mill? If the person did not attend school or PSLE drop out, maybe, but a person educated up to a bachelor's degree level? Her claim that she believe her fake MBA is bona fide is unbelievable and can stunned many Singaporeans into venting their anger at the ballot box :(

numero uno

IDA is under:
Ministry of Information, Communications and the Arts (MICA)
Ministers responsible:
Yaacob Ibrahim, Minister
Lawrence Wong, 2nd Minister
Sim Ann, Minister of State

GE2016 these ministers in risk of losing their seats! They defended their prize employee twice, dug the hole deeper I guess.

Here's why the people are mad:
1. IDA choose a FT with a 500th ranking university over Singaporeans graduates from local universities and polytechnics who worked hard for their certs.

2. IDA choose to retain a dishonest employee who choose use degree mill to deceive. Is IDA really naive enough to believe a university graduate cannot differentiate a real university and a degree mill? If the person did not attend school or PSLE drop out, maybe, but a person educated up to a bachelor's degree level? Her claim that she believe her fake MBA is bona fide is unbelievable and can stunned many Singaporeans into venting their anger at the ballot box :(
that's why I said singapore is condemned. when you have top people who said it is OK to submit fake degrees or degrees for paper mills , they are effectively condoning corruption, lying, cheating, dishonesty etc. In the first place , such degrees are sold to crooks or lazy people to beef up their CV so that they can cheat and get a leg up against their honest competitors. when the top people do NOT put a stop on it and do NOT fire these people it opens the flood gates to even more cheats from india(notice that 90% of these cheaters are shitskins and from india !!!!) and other countries (esp philippines).
it also goes to show the sheer corruption or incompetencies of these bodies when they refused to admit their mistakes . thier HR are probbaly also stuffed with these people(with fake degrees) who come up these crap excuses as they are afraid they themslves would be the next in the firing line(pardon the pun). bullshit all these IDA people. we should start an online petition not onky to fire these cheaters but also the HR and staff involved in hiring these crooks!!!
simple logic , if the fake or useless degrees are not important ,then why do these cheaters put it in their CV in the first place????

Sharkey

It should be apparent to any idiot that if a person knows degree is fake they wouldn't list it publicly. Lots of things are known widely but still many can be ignorant. That's exactly how most scams proliferate. If all knew there is no scam already.

99.99% know Nigerian trf million dollars to your account is scam, yet even in Swiss lifestyle Singapore , we have people routinely falling for such things.
Move on lah! You want to take on leegime do so, not some wage slave.

yellowarse

It should be apparent to any idiot that if a person knows degree is fake they wouldn't list it publicly. Lots of things are known widely but still many can be ignorant. That's exactly how most scams proliferate. If all knew there is no scam already.

You're either an idiot or extremely dishonest to equate buying a diploma from a degree mill with being scammed by a Nigerian email.

In the former, one hopes to get a degree without working for it, and then using it to scam a prospective employer into thinking one is more highly qualifed than is the case. In the latter, one is greedy for quick money, and so is conned instead by scammers into losing large sums of money.

When you use money to buy a degree without studying for it, you know it's fake. But you hope that your employer doesn't know, so it gives you a leg up.

I know you're Indian, but you don't have to defend an Indian crook.

Seee3

You're either an idiot or extremely dishonest to equate buying a diploma from a degree mill with being scammed by a Nigerian email.

I think the former fit his profile better because he is insisting that an IT expert from "a reputable university" does not know that there is a need to check the "reputation" of a university before enrolling in its MBA course, but instead had accidentally chosen a "Nigerian university" and was conned. If his claim is indeed true, then the intelligence of this IT expert is really questionable because it takes quite a intellectually sub normal individual to go seeking out a conman so as to get conned. In normal cases, the conman has to put in a lot of effort to hook his victim.

Sharkey

In the former, one hopes to get a degree without working for it, and then using it to scam a prospective employer into thinking one is more highly qualifed than is the case. In the latter, one is greedy for quick money, and so is conned instead by scammers into losing large sums of money.

When you use money to buy a degree without studying for it, you know it's fake. But you hope that your employer doesn't know, so it gives you a leg up.

I know you're Indian, but you don't have to defend an Indian crook.

So you think all of them not just the lady, knew it was fake, which also means they know others know it to be useless fake, yet proudly listed it in their profiles?

All I am saying is look at both side. If you think the lady plus all others are guilty then what punishment? no job for life?

Go after big fish that's all i am saying. Again it applies to all not just one race. If the same lady or others commit some other crime, wont bother defend.

Sharkey

If his claim is indeed true, then the intelligence of this IT expert is really questionable because it takes quite a intellectually sub normal individual to go seeking out a conman so as to get conned. In normal cases, the conman has to put in a lot of effort to hook his victim.

By your logic Jover Chew is perfectly innocent he didn't drag customer to his shop, they came in themselves willing to be conned. Arrest the conned, reward him?

Seee3

By your logic Jover Chew is perfectly innocent he didn't drag customer to his shop, they came in themselves willing to be conned. Arrest the conned, reward him?
You do have a problem with logic. I said that the "Nigerian university" is the conman. In your example, Jover Chew is the equivalent of the "Nigerian university". Yet you claim that from my logic, the "Nigerian university / Jover " is innocent. No both are not innocent. Both are conman.

The voluntary action of the customers to patronize the shop does not make Jover innocent. Similarly, the IT expert's voluntary enrollment for the course does not make the university innocent.

The customers who walk into Jover's shop is not street smart. However, his circumstances for making the mistake is understandable. The Vietnamese who walked into the trap is not in the same situation as the IT expert. He is visiting a country for the first time and may not be aware of the need to check the "reputation" of shops as he is not a seasoned traveller. Once in the shop, he was physically and emotionally trapped and pressurized by the tactics of the conman. On the other hand, the IT expert can take her time to look for a suitable MBA course . She had time on her side with ample opportunities to seek opinions and help from friends, colleagues. Being an IT expert, "Google serach" should be familiar to her. If after reading the many negative reports in the net on the "Nigerian university" and she chose to accept the course, I don't know what to say. Which is why I conclude that if she was indeed conned into believing that the course is genuine, her intellectual level is below normal.

Sharkey

Which is why I conclude that if she was indeed conned into believing that the course is genuine, her intellectual level is below normal.

You have a point here. She should have done better due diligence. But then back in 2005, not now, do we know info was easily available that this uni is a scam? Normally students check around but don't investigate.

BTW Jover types in SLS, Peninsula scammed lots of very literate, smart angmoh also. Information, even if available can still lead to conning. The sinkie guy that was issuing fake cert from oz uni, forget his name, con so many kids. Any of them could have picked up phone , spend $1 to find the trut. They didn't. Can we ban them from jobs for life? No.

Sharkey

Also you see so many companies, not just IDA hired these people. I am talking about all such cases, not just this Indian lady. If all of them with good HR dept, lawyers, verifier etc can be blind sided, you think one lady be singled out to destroy life?

Seee3

You have a point here. She should have done better due diligence. But then back in 2005, not now, do we know info was easily available that this uni is a scam? Normally students check around but don't investigate.

BTW Jover types in SLS, Peninsula scammed lots of very literate, smart angmoh also. Information, even if available can still lead to conning. The sinkie guy that was issuing fake cert from oz uni, forget his name, con so many kids. Any of them could have picked up phone , spend $1 to find the trut. They didn't. Can we ban them from jobs for life? No.
My kids were entering uni around 2000s. Checking credibility of uni iwas the norm since then. Kids are not stupid they know that some of the degrees are fake. I remember one of my nieces whose result could not get into nus or NTU, applied for sim and they called her up for an interviewed. Her reply was, "are you joking, it is sim not Harvard leh, need to interview?"

Let's be honest, there are basically 2 groups of people who go for fake degree. The first group hope that they can use it to cheat to get a job. The second group simply feels good to have many alphabets on their name card.

For the private sector, they can employ who they want. So such fakes can always try their luck. However, it is not the same for civil servant and statutory board. They have strict guidelines and rules. If rules can be broken, the Integrity of the system is gone. Things doesn't happen this way in the past which is the hallmark of the integrity of our civil service.

Sharkey

Boss she's in back office job doing some programming not deciding Singapore future or what?! I agree stat board should have better checks than pvt. In this case both sides hv failed. Lets assume IDA checked and convinced she was conned, didn't try con knowing it fake. Plus she worked ten years after that.

For those with no other degree other than this fake, i agree, once you disregard the fake they're as good as illiterate.

tanakow

The same rule applies whether it is private or statutory board.

For the private sector, they can employ who they want. So such fakes can always try their luck. However, it is not the same for civil servant and statutory board. They have strict guidelines and rules. If rules can be broken, the Integrity of the system is gone. Things doesn't happen this way in the past which is the hallmark of the integrity of our civil service.

zookeeper

Due diligence means investigation of material facts. "Real" or "fake" (degree) is a material fact.
Back in 80s/90s, secondary/pre-u students already knew where to reliably check for such information, without the use of internet.

http://financial-dictionary.thefreedictionary.com/due+diligence