• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

SG50 HUAT! you may drown by sea water leaking into MCE Tunnel video

Cutting corners for a govt project so the people at the top can pocket more money for themselves.

Who was in charge of constructing the MCE? :rolleyes:

https://www.mottmac.com/article/2407/marina-coastal-expressway-singapore

40% saving on piles

Underlying the stiff layer of ground improvement are bored reinforced concrete piles. On most previous cut and cover projects in Singapore, engineering solutions have considered the performance of piles in compression only. But the piles work in tension too. Analysis showed that uplift exerted by earth pressure on the DCM layer would cause it to heave and bend. But we found that this was reduced by the action of the piles in tension. This is something that’s usually ignored – but by making the piles stiffer, we were able to anchor down the DCM layer.

Stiffening the piles required additional reinforcement. To avoid unnecessary use of steel and resulting cost, we analysed the forces acting on every one of the 2500 piles across all three contracts. Normally, reinforcement would be designed to cope with the maximum load and applied to each and every pile. Instead we assumed a minimum and worked up from there. This delivered a 40% saving on steel reinforcement across the project.

The DCM layer restrains movement of the retaining walls. Its performance in combination with the piles meant that its thickness could have been reduced to 8m while providing the stiffness required. However, for comfort 10m of DCM treatment was carried out. This was still significantly less expensive than jet grouting and benefited pile design. The bond between each pile and the DCM layer relies on the contact area between them. Increasing the slab thickness from 8m to 10m enabled a 20% reduction in pile diameter, delivering a 36% saving on concrete.

US$70m saving on struts

In another departure from convention, the contractors proposed constructing retaining walls using 1.2m to 1.5m diameter pipe piles instead of the common sheet and soldier pile combination. Pipe piles are far stiffer, making it easier to comply with the LTA’s very tight wall deflection criteria. This meant that two levels of struts were more than adequate, rather than the four to five strut levels specified in the indicative design.

With the first strut level just below ground level, the second was installed at mid-height, 7m down, with deep level restraint provided by the massively strong DCM ground improvement layer. On each contract, the elimination of every strut layer has saved almost US$24 million, yielding a US$70 million combined benefit. Reducing the number of struts from five to two layers has offered a huge time saving and dramatically improved worker safety, with lifting and manual handling operations cut by 60%.

xpo2015

The spray profiles looks like water sprinklers getting turn on accidentally!

Who is spreading rumours and lies again? Must leeport to Police and have him arrested!! :biggrin:

The spray profiles looks like water sprinklers getting turn on accidentally!

Who is spreading rumours and lies again? Must leeport to Police and have him arrested!! :biggrin:

Innovative free state-of-the-art car wash as part of SG50 celebrations.

Sinkies really complain too much. Count your blessings and be grateful. Don't be seditious.

Reddog

If you are in the MCE and the roof collapse, you better be prepared for you own state funeral. No escape possible.

Don't be too sure about that. When that engineer died in the Nicoll Highway collapse, all he got was a lousy bench for his 'sacrifice'.

Only people such as Kwa Geok Choo get a state funeral, for her immense contributions to the nation. :wink:

image11e.jpg

bushtucker

it is not sea water leaking into the tunnel. someone accidentally turned on the fire sprinklers.

sinkies, being kiasu and kiasi, immediately jumped to conclusions and proclaimed sea water leakage.

it is not sea water leaking into the tunnel. someone accidentally turned on the fire sprinklers.

sinkies, being kiasu and kiasi, immediately jumped to conclusions and proclaimed sea water leakage.

Someone accidentally turned on water sprinklers? How could that happen?

xingguy

Don't be too sure about that. When that engineer died in the Nicoll Highway collapse, all he got was a lousy bench for his 'sacrifice'.

Only people such as Kwa Geok Choo get a state funeral, for her immense contributions to the nation. :wink:

image11e.jpg

That bench was a upgrade from a memorial stone set at the site where the Nicoll Highway collapse.

Heng's body was never recovered.

[video=youtube;QeJeIHwzfNI]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QeJeIHwzfNI[/video]

Since Gecko had set a precedence for a state funeral by being just the wife of old fart, will Ho Ching also be accorded a state funeral as well when she die?

Only in ThisLeeLand and under the Leegime do you get to see state funeral accorded to members of an exceptionLee FamiLee, never mind if they contribute to the country or not.

ozgWPzR.png