• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

TCJ: HAVING MORE FTS DOES NOT MEAN SGs DISPLACED. Cover Kar Chng Before Departure?

[h=1]TAN CHUAN-JIN: HAVING MORE FTS DOES NOT MEAN LOCALS ARE DISPLACED[/h]
Post date:
10 Apr 2015 - 7:12pm

[Pic Credit: AsiaOne]
Are Foreign PMETs displacing Singaporean PMETs?

Just a few days ago, mainstream media highlighted the growth of our foreign workforce numbers over the last 4 years, stirring up a tangle of anxieties over foreign competition for PMET jobs with locals. Many are concerned that foreign PMETs have displaced Singaporean PMETs. But is this really the case?

Singaporean PMETs generally enjoy positive employment outcomes

Let me put this into perspective. For the above to be true, the unemployment rate of Singaporean PMETs must have risen significantly over the years. Yet, the fact remains that the unemployment rate of Singaporean PMETs remained low at 2.9% in 2014.

Some may say that even with low unemployment, Singaporeans have to settle for lower paying jobs due to the competition from foreigners. But if this is widespread, the incomes of Singaporean PMETs must have remained stagnant or even declined over time. That did not happen. In fact, the real median income (adjusted for inflation) of Singaporean PMETs grew by about 2% per annum between 2009 and 2014 while those of median Singaporean workers grew by 2.1% per annum over the same period.
So the PMET job market is not a zero-sum game. With the economy continuing to grow, there will be more jobs for Singaporeans if firms are able to get the talent they need to invest or expand their operations here.

Am I implying that there is no problem with our reliance on foreign manpower? No. We do have to grow our foreign manpower at a sustainable pace. And we have been tightening our foreign workforce policy since 2011 as part of our overall quality growth strategy. What I’m saying here is that the assumptions that more foreign PMETs = more Singaporean PMETs unemployed and in lower paying jobs are not borne out in numbers. Singaporean holding PMETs jobs, like any other occupations will face challenges as businesses restructure. What matters at the end of the day is whether one has the necessary skills required to perform the job.

We have slowed down foreign workforce growth

Because of our tightening policies, we have significantly slowed the pace of growth in foreign PMETs. The growth rate of Employment Pass (EP) and S Pass holders has slowed from 20% in 2011 to 4% in 2014 year-on-year (see the chart below).

Chart 1: EP and S Pass growth and growth rates 2011-2014 (as at Dec)

We will ensure Fair Employment Practices

At the Conference on Fair & Progressive Employment Practices on yesterday, I explained that where there are instances of unfair practices, nationality-based or otherwise, MOM will undertake a proper investigation. We will protect the interest of our locals and not allow the festering of unfair hiring practices. However, we must allow for due process to take place so that the rule of law is respected.

We will step up support for Singaporean PMETs

Along with a growing economy, our measures to tighten inflow of foreign workers and ensure fair employment practices have brought about good employment outcomes for Singaporean PMETs. However, let us not be complacent. There are individuals who will need help to update their skills and find new jobs.

We want to help Singaporeans have the right skills to take on new and meaningful job opportunities being created. We will enhance funding support for mid-career Singaporeans. Education and training subsidies for all Singaporeans aged 40 and above have increased to a minimum of 90% of training costs for courses funded by MOE and WDA. This is a substantial increase from the current minimum subsidy of 75% for MOE courses, and 50-70% subsidy for WDA-supported courses. We have also substantially increased the monthly salary support given to employers who hire PMETs in Professional Conversion Programmes, from the previous 70% of basic monthly salary, to 90%. This enhanced support is targeted at PMETs who are aged 40 years and above, or those unemployed for six months or more.

We hope the above will benefit Singaporean PMETs substantially and put them on a good course towards realising their dreams and aspirations.

Minister for Manpower and Minister for Social and Family Development

Tan Chuan-Jin
*Article first appeared on http://momsingapore.blogspot.sg/2015/04/are-foreign-pmets-displacing.html

Editor's Note:
While it is good that Tan Chuan-Jin has come out to try and dispel some misconceptions, netizens have not really agreed with what he is saying and some have accused him of being out of touch:
TCWYORR.jpg

Indeed, while the number of unemployed Singaporeans have not increased significantly, job competition still exists and the more foreigners, the more likely Singaporeans are to be displaced by foreigners.
These Singaporeans may be able to find other jobs and hence not count as unemployed but it is wrong to claim that they have not been displaced. Another major issue as pointed out by some netizens is that displaced PMETs often have to take pay cuts to be re-employed and end up facing a slower wage progression than if there were not so many foreigners competing for jobs here.
Perhaps another general concern is the simple fact that more foreigners means a more crowded Singapore and more daily stress experienced as Singaporeans feel they are being crowded out. While the numbers may not reflect this for him to see, those living the life of an average Singaporean can definitely feel it and this is why complaints surface in the first place. Is Minister Tan simply out of touch with the ground and relying on statistics but failing to address the real-life percenptions and feelings of Singaporeans?
On a side note, it is amusing that Tan Chuan-Jin has specified that "mainstream media" highlighted the rise in foreign PMET numbers. Didn't the concern come from alternative and social media too?

Re: TCJ: HAVING MORE FTS DOES NOT MEAN SGs DISPLACED. Cover Kar Chng Before Departure

This is what happen when you vote for PAP...wahahah..what a fucking disgrace!!!!!

ahleebabasingaporethief

Re: TCJ: HAVING MORE FTS DOES NOT MEAN SGs DISPLACED. Cover Kar Chng Before Departure

He looks sick.

Perhaps, its affecting his brains.

WTF.....in other countries, statement like this will cause a huge protest led by Proper Labour Unions.

In Singapore they are shameless....collect million dollar salaries and spew lues.

Like I said, he looks sick in the photo.

talking cock, cock talking :biggrin:

Seee3

The unemployment rate of PMET remains low if PMET after losing their jobs become taxi driver. But the statistics will not capture that.

batman1

So what he talking cock..losing touch on the ground..he's still paid millions as a miw minister.Now,he transferred from MOM to MSF.
Worse still,Lim Sia Suay transferred from NTUC to MOM..he will screw-up singaporean workers again and again.LSS considered member of A-team ?
We are in deep trouble.Do yourself a favour ,get rid of the miw in ge 2016 .

zeebjii

He never was in touch.:oIo:

There are lies, there are damn lies and then there is statistics.

Sinkapore statistics is no better than that of China's statistics. The numbers are massaged to push an agenda.

This Tan continues to think that sinkees are idiots. He is the biggest idiot of all.

He never was in touch.:oIo:

Sure he was in touch, in touch with CPF statement & remarked, "wah, so much", to borrow this from the other donkey, replacing him. Sure he was in touch with his salary, he takes every month, "wah! work so hard, gets so little"....what was not in touch. It is you & I & everybody else, he does;t want to TOUCH...

enterprise2

Post date:
10 Apr 2015 - 7:12pm

[Pic Credit: AsiaOne]
Are Foreign PMETs displacing Singaporean PMETs?

Just a few days ago, mainstream media highlighted the growth of our foreign workforce numbers over the last 4 years, stirring up a tangle of anxieties over foreign competition for PMET jobs with locals. Many are concerned that foreign PMETs have displaced Singaporean PMETs. But is this really the case?

Singaporean PMETs generally enjoy positive employment outcomes

Let me put this into perspective. For the above to be true, the unemployment rate of Singaporean PMETs must have risen significantly over the years. Yet, the fact remains that the unemployment rate of Singaporean PMETs remained low at 2.9% in 2014.

Some may say that even with low unemployment, Singaporeans have to settle for lower paying jobs due to the competition from foreigners. But if this is widespread, the incomes of Singaporean PMETs must have remained stagnant or even declined over time. That did not happen. In fact, the real median income (adjusted for inflation) of Singaporean PMETs grew by about 2% per annum between 2009 and 2014 while those of median Singaporean workers grew by 2.1% per annum over the same period.
So the PMET job market is not a zero-sum game. With the economy continuing to grow, there will be more jobs for Singaporeans if firms are able to get the talent they need to invest or expand their operations here.

Am I implying that there is no problem with our reliance on foreign manpower? No. We do have to grow our foreign manpower at a sustainable pace. And we have been tightening our foreign workforce policy since 2011 as part of our overall quality growth strategy. What I’m saying here is that the assumptions that more foreign PMETs = more Singaporean PMETs unemployed and in lower paying jobs are not borne out in numbers. Singaporean holding PMETs jobs, like any other occupations will face challenges as businesses restructure. What matters at the end of the day is whether one has the necessary skills required to perform the job.

We have slowed down foreign workforce growth

Because of our tightening policies, we have significantly slowed the pace of growth in foreign PMETs. The growth rate of Employment Pass (EP) and S Pass holders has slowed from 20% in 2011 to 4% in 2014 year-on-year (see the chart below).

Chart 1: EP and S Pass growth and growth rates 2011-2014 (as at Dec)

We will ensure Fair Employment Practices

At the Conference on Fair & Progressive Employment Practices on yesterday, I explained that where there are instances of unfair practices, nationality-based or otherwise, MOM will undertake a proper investigation. We will protect the interest of our locals and not allow the festering of unfair hiring practices. However, we must allow for due process to take place so that the rule of law is respected.

We will step up support for Singaporean PMETs

Along with a growing economy, our measures to tighten inflow of foreign workers and ensure fair employment practices have brought about good employment outcomes for Singaporean PMETs. However, let us not be complacent. There are individuals who will need help to update their skills and find new jobs.

We want to help Singaporeans have the right skills to take on new and meaningful job opportunities being created. We will enhance funding support for mid-career Singaporeans. Education and training subsidies for all Singaporeans aged 40 and above have increased to a minimum of 90% of training costs for courses funded by MOE and WDA. This is a substantial increase from the current minimum subsidy of 75% for MOE courses, and 50-70% subsidy for WDA-supported courses. We have also substantially increased the monthly salary support given to employers who hire PMETs in Professional Conversion Programmes, from the previous 70% of basic monthly salary, to 90%. This enhanced support is targeted at PMETs who are aged 40 years and above, or those unemployed for six months or more.

We hope the above will benefit Singaporean PMETs substantially and put them on a good course towards realising their dreams and aspirations.

Minister for Manpower and Minister for Social and Family Development

Tan Chuan-Jin
*Article first appeared on http://momsingapore.blogspot.sg/2015/04/are-foreign-pmets-displacing.html

Editor's Note:
While it is good that Tan Chuan-Jin has come out to try and dispel some misconceptions, netizens have not really agreed with what he is saying and some have accused him of being out of touch:
TCWYORR.jpg

Indeed, while the number of unemployed Singaporeans have not increased significantly, job competition still exists and the more foreigners, the more likely Singaporeans are to be displaced by foreigners.
These Singaporeans may be able to find other jobs and hence not count as unemployed but it is wrong to claim that they have not been displaced. Another major issue as pointed out by some netizens is that displaced PMETs often have to take pay cuts to be re-employed and end up facing a slower wage progression than if there were not so many foreigners competing for jobs here.
Perhaps another general concern is the simple fact that more foreigners means a more crowded Singapore and more daily stress experienced as Singaporeans feel they are being crowded out. While the numbers may not reflect this for him to see, those living the life of an average Singaporean can definitely feel it and this is why complaints surface in the first place. Is Minister Tan simply out of touch with the ground and relying on statistics but failing to address the real-life percenptions and feelings of Singaporeans?
On a side note, it is amusing that Tan Chuan-Jin has specified that "mainstream media" highlighted the rise in foreign PMET numbers. Didn't the concern come from alternative and social media too?

Is he saying that FT holding PMET jobs, no Singaporeans can do meh!!

There are lies, there are damn lies and then there is statistics.

Sinkapore statistics is no better than that of China's statistics. The numbers are massaged to push an agenda.

This Tan continues to think that sinkees are idiots. He is the biggest idiot of all.

Except in this case, even the statistics show this clown and his govt are telling lies.

We need a cheap foreign talent to replace the ministars ...we can definitely have a better cabinet at a lower cost when these bunch of ministars are replaced by foreigners.

Loyalty is not a criteria as these ministars worship money.

enterprise2

We need a cheap foreign talent to replace the ministars ...we can definitely have a better cabinet at a lower cost when these bunch of ministars are replaced by foreigners.

Loyalty is not a criteria as these ministars worship money.

No need for FT! Singaporeans will happily do it for half the price.. Even a quarter u get people queuing !

Leckmichamarsch

Post date:

fucking liar

provide detailed breakdowns for EP n SP holders with clear categorisation of jobs..... we can see from there and decide for ourselves if those jobs shud be done by locals or not.........

If this bugger is that good why is he being moved???

...........................................................................................................

[al media too?

Does this dumbass not know basic bathtub physics and the eureka emytology?imagine singapore as a bathtub that can only hold so much shit water.as you pour more shit into the bathtub from different countries,water begins to overflow from the bathtub.the amount of water displaced from the tub is equivalent to the volume of shit introduced into the tub.the displaced sinkies ends up flowing down the drain into secondary and tertiary industries like taxi driving and hawking.

No need for FT! Singaporeans will happily do it for half the price.. Even a quarter u get people queuing !

This kind of thing that make their lives better, they would not Q..Hello Kitty, they would...

Well done Chuan Jin. You shall be well rewarded for your loyalty.

iluvgst

the master will give his obedient dog a nice bone.