• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Yellow Pages chief sues UBS over $25.4 million losses

thinkorsink

Thursday, Apr 09, 2015
Selina Lum
The Straits Times
GLOBAL Yellow Pages chief executive Stanley Tan, who suffered investment losses of $25.4 million over two days during the 2008 financial crisis, has taken Swiss banking giant UBS to court.

He is seeking more than $130 million in damages, including the losses he suffered and the loss of opportunity to profit from the shares he had in his UBS account.

Mr Tan had used the account to invest in accumulators - complex derivatives which have been dubbed "I kill you later" after many suffered losses from them during the global financial crisis.

Mr Tan, represented by Mr Ng Lip Chih, alleged that UBS had not obtained his instructions or given him notice before unwinding his accumulators.

But UBS, represented by Senior Counsel Hri Kumar Nair, contended that Mr Tan had instructed the bank to unwind his accumulators.

And even if he had not agreed to it, the bank was entitled to do so under the account agreement without notice and consent.

A four-week hearing into Mr Tan's suit started yesterday in the High Court.

Mr Tan had set up an account with UBS in 2006 and authorised one Mr Yeo Cheng Boon to help him in his investments.

Between October 2007 and August 2008, he bought accumulators - with underlying shares in, among others, City Developments, DBS Group Holdings and Singapore Press Holdings - on a margin trading basis.

Accumulators are structured products in which investors buy shares or currency at regular intervals at a price below the prevailing market value for a predetermined period of time, usually a year.

They make a profit if the market price rises within a certain range, but if it falls steeply, losses can be huge.

UBS asserted that Mr Tan had been trying to cover the shortfall in his account as the markets spiralled downwards in 2008.

By Oct 22, 2008, the shortfall stood at $41 million and UBS was compelled to send him a margin call letter to either deposit collateral or close out the investments.

Over the next two days, UBS unwound the accumulators and continued to sell the shares in Mr Tan's account until Nov 11 when he asked it to stop and asked for time to repay his liabilities.

Mr Tan fully repaid the $25.4 million around April 2011.

Mr Tan contends that UBS unwound the accumulators without prior notice or authorisation.

But UBS says that Mr Yeo had instructed Mr Tan's relationship manager Amy Tee on Oct 22 to liquidate his portfolio as he wanted to crystallise his liabilities and work on repayment, rather than face continuous margin calls to top up the account.

It made sense for Mr Tan to unwind the accumulators as it was the required margin on them that caused the major shortfall in his account, contends UBS.

Mr Tan disputes this, arguing that he had every intention to salvage his account and it was inconceivable that he would agree to liquidate his entire portfolio.

He argues that he would have been able to top up the account to cover the shortfall and would have held on to the shares he had accumulated.

[email protected]

THE FIGURES

$25.4m

The losses suffered by Mr Stanley Tan

$130m

The amount in damages Mr Tan is suing UBS for

$41m

The shortfall in Mr Tan's account on Oct 22, 2008, prompting UBS to unwind the accumulators

http://business.asiaone.com/print/n...-pages-chief-sues-ubs-over-254-million-losses

songsongjurong

20150409_YellowpagesmanSGi.jpg

ST_20150311_AMLAWYER11AUXNF_1134956m.jpg

sue UBS.............?...............TemaSICK is a shareholder leh.............big-time Zionist kahuna - Warburg family biggest shareholder leh......

meeraze

They will say that he is a sophisticated investor who knew what risks he was taking. They will then either dismiss his suit entirely or at the very best give him paltry compensation.

Originally Posted by Merl Haggard View Post
22-12-2014, 02:20 PM

I hoot 2822 and 2823 at HKSE at around HK$11 and still haven't gotten out.

Waiting for SSEC to reach 4500-5000.

bro..............you talking about HK stocks huh ? what's SSEC ?

Short arse fuck Marbok tan is involved with yellow pages?
That association alone this Stanley tan can go burn in hell

SgGoneWrong

Fuck off Yellow Pages. Your website is a piece of shit, and you had even removed residential listings. :rolleyes:

And there's even a 'Remembering LKY' page, good grief. Typical Sinkie company trying to score points and being a litigious bastard when you can't compete. :kma:

http://www.yellowpages.com.sg/Remembering-Lee-Kuan-Yew

lky-iyp.jpg

lky-iyp2.jpg

U havent seen SIA website with that banner during that period, it's fucking shocking for a traveller to click on the website and got that morbid shit popping right out.

These banks are all the same.fucking cowards who wants all the profits and want ur business but unwilling to take any of the risk and no balls to ride it out even though they know ur good for it.then when they fuck up they throw all the shit to you and expect you to cover.

it's a derivative............meaning they're gambling against the clients.............no diff from a casino just different way of gambling............no actual shares were bought or sold............just betting on the difference in price

thinkorsink

it's more like when you think it's going up, you back it and if it turns against you, you die.

it's a derivative............meaning they're gambling against the clients.............no diff from a casino just different way of gambling............no actual shares were bought or sold............just betting on the difference in price

Merl Haggard

Originally Posted by Merl Haggard View Post
22-12-2014, 02:20 PM

I hoot 2822 and 2823 at HKSE at around HK$11 and still haven't gotten out.

Waiting for SSEC to reach 4500-5000.

bro..............you talking about HK stocks huh ? what's SSEC ?

2823 ~ iShares FTSE/Xinhua A50 and 2822 ~ CSOP A50 ETF are listed in Hang Seng.

Today closing price 2822 - HK$15.86 and 2823 - HK$13.96.

SSEC is Shanghai Composite Index today closed at 4035 while STI languishes and ai see boi see lidat.

2823 ~ iShares FTSE/Xinhua A50 and 2822 ~ CSOP A50 ETF are listed in Hang Seng.

Today closing price 2822 - HK$15.86 and 2823 - HK$13.96.

SSEC is Shanghai Composite Index today closed at 4035 while STI languishes and ai see boi see lidat.

so ETF huh............wah....so savvy ah......HK market also play !:eek: