• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Jakarta Indonesia

The entrance

Lady making rujak

Sambal bar

[video=youtube;w4mh2VdgPUE]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w4mh2VdgPUE[/video]

Making fresh sambal - see the beautiful balacan?

Final touches

These sambal will go beautifully well with a cold Bintang

Finally the food arrived

Warm welcome

Ox tail soup

Salad something like gado gado

Kangkong

Beef

Fish with taojeo

Cumi bakar

Best satay I've eaten in Indonesia

Taogay with deep fried salted fish

Salted fish pepes

Fried kampong chicken

Quickie breakfast at Seokarno Hatta Airport

Nasi lemak with fried chicken

Nasilemak with rendang chicken

Ya Koon style kaya roti

Not the best but can eat lah

Its funny Indons ear u-char-kway with chili sauce

Uncle frying

Kway teow chambo

The stalls

This morning saw this in front of my office, a mobile drinks seller moving from carpark to carpark and shops of office people will buy from her. Notice left is thermos for hot water, center is plain water, right (blocked) is ice bucket.

So everything are ready mixed sachets

A staff brought me to a street food area near office for the first time, was impressed.

Ordered a char-kway-teow and a char-mee for each of us - very strong wok taste, duck eggs instead of chicken egg add to the great taste and texture

and with some satays - these are pork with black sweet sauce, tastes heavenly

Chicken with peanut sauce

At the pump yesterday, Pertamina

Pump price for their highest grade Pertamax Plus : 9,650 rupiah = S$0.965 per litre

Saw an interesting stall in Emporium Pluit called SisterS Crispy Pohpiah

[video=youtube;qNRhjDneC2Q]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qNRhjDneC2Q[/video]

The stall

The Prices

The pack

Taste not bad but then too much crisp absorbed the moisture so made it a little too dry, also the crisp is a little too much

Interesting concept for the young they may enjoy the crisp but then not me

tictactoe

jakarta got ghost. be careful when staying in hotel. this one sibei solid. dont say i never warm u.

2009_10_23-bangkok-thailandcby_richard_s_ehrlich-IMG_6768PScp_0.jpg

Hahahaha fut fack carrying and warming mod's balls.

Always amazes me cost of leaving in Jakarta can be so high yet many poor people struggling to make end meet. Had a simple prawn noodle that costs S$3.40 a bowl and its very common to find such prices in the market for a simple meal.

However outside Jakarta prices are between 30-50% cheaper

Was at a roadside hawker place in central Jakarta for satay on Wednesday evening

Chicken satay

Beef satay

My favourite - pork satay

Had some delicious char kway teow

and a prata chanai

Morning bubur ayam

after mix, very shiok.

Extra chicken costs only 16,000 rupiah or $1.60