• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

The Other Forbes Article That PM Didn't Want You To See

xingguy

Source: https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?...12683242.2103670.1105822323&type=1&permPage=1

11138576_10203841498773655_9203823374216958512_n.jpg

The other Forbes article that Hsien Loong didn't show you.

http://www.forbes.com/sites/muhammadcohen/2015/03/30/lee-kuan-yew-doesnt-trust-the-nation-he-built/

End of Article​

487099_483305625035763_1098850577_n.jpg

xingguy

Source: Forbes

FORBES ASIA 3/30/2015 @ 1:03AM 20,487 views

Lee Kuan Yew 'Doesn't Trust' The Nation He Built

Imagine a banana republic where the founding father really was the founding father. In this tiny nation with less than six million inhabitants, the founding father ruled for three decades while his son made the most rapid ever recorded rise through the military ranks, amid claims that the nation is, and due to its small size has to be, a strict meritocracy. Then the father gave way to a trusted caretaker named Goh, while maintaining a cabinet seat that many believe allowed him to maintain control, until his son was ready to ascend to the prime minister post. Beyond what natives call “the father, the son and the holy Goh,” the son’s wife runs one of the national investment funds that control billions of dollars in citizens’ money with great autonomy and little transparency.

While this little country boasts the trappings of democracy and rule of law, if has had the same ruling party since its founding. In the last parliamentary election, opposition got 40% of the votes, but won less than 10% of the seats. Over the nation’s 50 year history, opposition figures have often found themselves dragged into courts and sued into bankruptcy, which not only ruins them financially but makes them ineligible for political office. This country pays its politicians and senior bureaucrats the world’s highest salaries in those categories to combat corruption, while it has become a safe haven for funds of dubious pedigree from across the region. No wonder that despite per capita GDP ranking among the world’s highest, there’s an extraordinary degree of cynicism among the largely well-educated population and so many of them aspire to leave the country.

640x0.jpg

Lee Kuan Yew’s tragic flaw was not having faith in the nation to which he dedicated his life. (AP Photo/Koji Sasahara,
File)

The country described isn’t some banana republic, it’s Singapore, which bid farewell to founding father Lee Kuan Yew on Sunday. Lee rightly deserves credit for Singapore’s rise from a mosquito infested seaside village to a global financial powerhouse. From education to urban planning, the city that Lee built is worthy of admiration and emulation. Perhaps his greatest achievement is that he created a real sense of nationhood among Singapore’s disparate (though predominantly Chinese) population, avoiding the ethnic discord that plagues neighboring Malaysia. The economy, though hardly the world’s second freest, has yielded enviable results.

Lee Kuan Yew’s tragic flaw was that he lacked faith in the nation he dedicated his life to building. As Martin Lee, founder of Hong Kong’s Democratic Party, told the BBC, “He doesn’t trust his own people, so he won’t give then genuine democracy.” The eminent legal practitioner and scholar added that Singapore has the “semblance of rule of law, but citizens always lose” when they go up against the ruling party in court. Singaporeans’ freedom of expression is strictly limited. On the economic front, Singapore’s government, through its investment funds that grab a third of salaries, holds golden shares is companies that control 60% of GDP. (That’s why it was such a surprise that neither casino license went to a government linked company.)

The bargain that Lee crafted with his people – trust us, keep quiet and the government will take care of things – held up well for decades. Critics derided Singapore as a nanny state, but a young, small nation in a volatile region, born during the American war in Vietnam that saw its national treasury bombed, needed strong supervision. But as Singapore has matured and income disparity has grown as foreign workers depress salaries, the bargain has begun breaking down. It’s time to get rid of the nanny and give Singaporeans freedom to find their own way. Lee successors have to begin trusting that nation the founding father nurtured.

End of Article​

Pinky is going on the defensive now... to defend his father's Leegacy. :wink:

That's a reputable Jewish journalist from Forbes, obviously the pink man has no cojones to sue him or curtly reject his claims.

Pinky is going on the defensive now... to defend his father's Leegacy. :wink:

That's a reputable Jewish journalist from Forbes, obviously the pink man has no cojones to sue him or curtly reject his claims.

He only wants to hear the good things - like Class 90.5

da dick

"Lee rightly deserves credit for Singapore’s rise from a mosquito infested seaside village to a global financial powerhouse. "

Forbes is retarded. singapore was no fishing village back in 1965. this myth has been busted numerous time. shit mag, no cred.

"Lee rightly deserves credit for Singapore’s rise from a mosquito infested seaside village to a global financial powerhouse. "

Forbes is retarded. singapore was no fishing village back in 1965. this myth has been busted numerous time. shit mag, no cred.

Yes it was. I should know because I grew up in one of those villages.

Only the Ang Moh part of town was developed but that was done for themselves not sinkies.

For example they had the NAAFI club, Tanglin club etc but only Ang Mohs were allowed in. Chinese and dogs were banned.

there's no conflict here. both forbes and ky were right. sinkies cannot be trusted. only with this in mind can sg make leaps and bounds in progress and prosperity.

Writer is a Muhammed Cohen. So he is a Muslim or Jew?

Muhammad as we know is a Muslim name.

Cohen is the family name of some Jewish High Priest caste.

So what is he?

Yes it was. I should know because I grew up in one of those villages.

Only the Ang Moh part of town was developed but that was done for themselves not sinkies.

For example they had the NAAFI club, Tanglin club etc but only Ang Mohs were allowed in. Chinese and dogs were banned.

It was a trading post from old, what do one expect?..like the character in Pirates of Caribbean says " welcome to SINGAPORE!"..it was dotted with fishing villages, farms & urban slums. Raffles had a city planned & constructed from his time...have you not heard of Cavanagh, Clementi,..used to check the old buildings & bridges around the city center when I was much younger.

Yes, there were exclusive clubs like Tanglin Club, Singapore Cricket Club...where no locals were allowed in, unless "leash" hmm!...followed in with an upper class Europeans, there were others, like what's the name of that club near Labrador ( I had forgotten the name) , Polo Club, Admiralty House, & there was one more opposite the old Police Academy etc... I have been in some of them including the Polo Club for meals, when young...when "no dogs &......" were allowed. NAAFI was for , Navy, Air Force..etc....was the club for the British servicemen...the only locals there are working there..like the Hainanese cooks etc.

you are not the one who knows the history of this country...not the HIS STORY, many who will want to highlight & rewrite...to those holding on to whatever they have..will want all to know that, we were all fishing villages, swamps, farms....but SINGAPORE was a already a thriving Urban Trading Post, with its outlying areas.... servicing a hinterland of Federation of Malaya, Sarawak, North Borneo & Brunei as a port also for Britain, who transported her lumber, tin, rubber, Sago, Pepper etc. through here...we already had one of the deepest natural sheltered harbours at Keppel etc..& Naval Base to the north..

Like all the traders, scalpers & pleasure givers.....they would tell you, "WELCUM TO SINGAPORE"....it is the same today, with our generous government invitation " WELCUM TO SINGAPORE"...the other difference is, now the "pirates" are better dressed & educated...WELCUM! :rolleyes:

HTOLAS

It is now a mosquito infested worksite. Just this morning, I got several bites in my home which is near the city. Why? Because of poor housekeeping at the lightly supervised construction sites and the abuse of fogging which has built up resistance among the Aedes mosquitoes here.

One Female MP from Matland says that, CONSTRUCTION SITES do not breed mosquitoes!! I ask the pest control company I had engaged to thermal fog the building I used to manage..is fogging effective...you want to know? " the mosquitoes just temporary moved away, from your building to the next" and THEY WILL BE BACK!. So, your next door fog...it move into yours & " whats goes around, come around".

The only way to get rid of them mosquitoes is not the fogging...you get rid of the people...end of problem... ha ha ha just kidding! you raise hell, with NEA...just keep them busy & make sure they do a thorough check...not 100% possible for any construction sites to plug every holes, that will accumulate water...like I had mentioned..."it is the people"..

shittypore

If we remained a mosquito infested village, the Familee wud not be running Termasick. What they hve got out of Spore is more than than what Spore owes em. It was a fair deal, Lky and his Familee were no Saints, surely they must hve accumulated billions.

Daddy was a frugal person, he was stingy, careful in spending other people's money...most likely, use USED A4 size papers for his facsimile machine ( the blank side), wash his undies, when served 3 scoops of ice cream, have only 1....what accumulated billions...they freely gave ( the 60%)..

What's new? Its written by a Muslim. They hated him for speaking the truth about the religion.

JOKERCHEW

Writer is a Muhammed Cohen. So he is a Muslim or Jew?

Muhammad as we know is a Muslim name.

Cohen is the family name of some Jewish High Priest caste.

So what is he?
According to his bio,
born Jewish in NY.
In 2002, married to an Indonesian Muslim.

Equalisation

Hoi !:mad: Don't treat OUR hard-earned CPF money as your private Money Machine !!:mad::o:cool: