• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

No job discrimination against PMETs, only misunderstanding

In the Today paper today there is an article ‘Allegations of bias against S’poreans top list of workers complaints’. But read the content of the article you will find the title misleading. All or most of the complaints about job discrimination against Singaporean PMETs are just alleged, not true. It is all a misunderstanding. The foreigners were employed and promoted because they were better and more suitable than the Singaporean PMETs according to Roslyn Ten, the general manager of TAFEP. ‘..many stem from misunderstanding and not from genuine bias’, and she urged the employers to explain to job seekers why they were not hired and not promoted.

This is in line with the findings by NTUC that confirmed Singaporeans really lacked the skills sets that the foreigners have. Singaporean PMETs should not complain anymore and should make serious efforts to learn from the PRC Chinese, India Indians, the Pinoys, Myanmese and all the foreigners why they have all the qualifications and skills sets that Singaporeans did not have.

Now that the truth is out, PMETs, please do not anyhow complain and spread lies. NTUC and TAFEP have confirmed you are NG. And please to not mislead Chuan Jin and MOM and make them run around like fools, even setting up Jobs Bank and FCF that are totally unnecessary and a waste of time and resources. Ok Chuan Jin, you can close down these two set ups. They are irrelevant. You have been misled.

Just to double confirm what this Roslyn said, and I quote the Today paper, ‘Reiterating that many unfair employment practices were largely due to miscommunication, she said clear cut cases of discrimination against Singaporeans are rare. “It’s really more of …perception,”’ What more can you say? No more arguments.

OK case close. No discrimination and please do not raise the issue of discrimination anymore. Two powerful pro Singaporean agencies and Singaporeans, one Patrick Tay, an Asst Secretary General of NTUC/Director of PME Unit and another, Roslyn Ten, a general manager of TAFEP said so. These are authoritative statements of truth, not misunderstanding or opinions.

Listen all PMETs, you deserved to be taxi drivers and security guards and stop complaining. As to our education system, how they failed to produce Singaporeans without the right skills sets is puzzling but not my problem. I am not paid millions to give you the answer. Thank you very much.

Singaporean PMETs are so lucky that the truth is out and now they know the real reason why foreigners are employed and promoted and preferred by employers. It is your fault. No more lame excuses.

PS. TAFEP stands for Tripartite Alliance for Fair and Progressive Employment Practices. And when TAFEP said it is fair it must be fair. And when NTUC said you did not have the skills sets, you do not have the skills sets. Period.

http://mysingaporenews.blogspot.sg/2015/04/tafep-no-job-discrimination-against.html?
utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=feed&utm_campaign=Feed:+MySingaporeNews+(My+Singapore+News)

Come on people, why people just cannot accept the fact that both sinkie and the ft could possibly perform on the same job, the difference is the salary. As a employer of course I would want to bring cost to lowest whenever possible. Ft of course can accept it at say 30% lower, but sinkie is different, their salary are meant to be spent in sinkieland unlike fts.
And why do our gov want to let this happen and deprive sinkie like me to have no job ?
The answer is pretty obvious. You do not need to be very intelligent to know the true reason.

Come on people, why people just cannot accept the fact that both sinkie and the ft could possibly perform on the same job, the difference is the salary. As a employer of course I would want to bring cost to lowest whenever possible. Ft of course can accept it at say 30% lower, but sinkie is different, their salary are meant to be spent in sinkieland unlike fts.
And why do our gov want to let this happen and deprive sinkie like me to have no job ?
The answer is pretty obvious. You do not need to be very intelligent to know the true reason.

PAP govt want cheaper, better, faster mah. The PAP-tripartite porlumpars also say no need minimum wage, 'progressive wage' is so fantastic. :wink:

that means PAP gov literally punishing sinkie for wanting a little bit higher salary than ft.
Want cheaper, better, faster than they have to set a good example first lor.

shiokalingam

3 reasons why Singaporeans work such long hours

By Joanne Poh
MoneySmart*|*Fri, Apr 10, 2015

If the news stories are to be believed, Singaporean workers are disengaged and unproductive, a problem which supposedly costs the economy $6 billion per year. This is not to say that they don't spend a lot of time at work, though.

In fact, Singaporean workers reportedly work the longest hours in the world. Based on their lower productivity levels this means they're either doing the same amount or even less in a longer amount of time than their counterparts in other countries.

A recent International Labour Office Report shows that increased output (ie. longer working hours) actually decreases the amount of labour output per hour.

On the other hand, increased workplace flexibility makes workers more productive because they experience less negative spillover into their lives, and happy workers are more productive.

In fact, the Economist has published a nice little graph illustrating the relationship between the number of hours worked and productivity.

Given these findings, it's actually a no brainer that Singapore's rigid work environment with its long hours has produced incredibly unproductive workers.

So, why do Singaporeans work such long hours when it makes them even less productive? Here are three big reasons.

Bosses are still obsessed with face time

No matter what your boss might say, an overwhelming majority of Singaporeans say they feel "obliged" to work late. Based on the years I've spent working in various offices, I have to say that this has been true in my experience-not only because of workers' perception, but the attitudes of their bosses.

At one of the law firms I worked at, lawyers generally tried to leave discreetly if they knocked off before the boss, fearing that they would leave a bad impression if they were caught, never mind that they had finished all their work.

On the flip side, it was not uncommon to hear bosses complaining that an employee had already left the office. Some bosses also tended to speak unfavourably of workers who were away on annual leave or maternity leave.

At another firm, trainees in a certain department were reportedly told that they were expected to sit around in the office until at least 8:30pm even if they had finished their work, just in case anything urgent came in (the official working hours were from 9 to 6).

In general, there was much talk about "putting in the hours", which we as employees found perplexing, as we were of the opinion that the main consideration should be whether the work could get done, not putting in the hours just for the sake of it.

A 2012 survey seems to corroborate these observations. Employees who chose to work from home were found to be more likely to forgo positive reviews, even if their work was good.

Workers are overburdened

The labour market in Singapore is extremely tight at the moment, meaning employees can afford to pick and choose which companies to work for. This also means that SMEs get the shorter end of the stick as qualified workers flock to MNCs.

The upshot is that employees at SMEs tend to be greatly overburdened as employers make up for the lack of manpower by expecting their existing employees to do more work than they can handle.

In fact, 6 out of 10 employees in Singapore claim they are overworked.

When workers are overburdened and yet are unable to raise their productivity levels due to long working hours, that can only spell disaster for the companies involved.

If Singapore is serious about raising productivity, firms need to rethink their HR policies.

Employees have little incentive to be productive

With most Singapore employees feeling pretty damn unhappy, it's not hard to see why they're not exactly leaping up with enthusiasm in a bid to raise their productivity.

Long coffee breaks and long lunches are not uncommon, and everyone has that colleague who spends the entire day staring at his smartphone and then scrambles to finish his work when night falls.

But that's not the only reason Singaporeans stay late in the office.

As bosses expect employees to stay late in the office, employees don't have much incentive to do their work efficiently.

In fact, many employees just work as slowly as possible since they're stuck at the office until their boss leaves anyway.

At one of my previous workplaces, employees could be seen strolling around the office at all hours of the day, deeply immersed in gossip.

Many of these employees then stayed back in the office until at late as 10pm, slowly finishing up their work.

If everyone around them was packing up and leaving at 6 on the dot, things might have been different.

This article first appeared in MoneySmart

MoneySmart.sg is Singapore’s leading personal finance portal, and aims to help people maximise their money with powerful tools and engaging content.

gingerlyn

No discrimination, only misunderstanding.

Our transportation is not expensive, but affordable.

Inflation is high but core inflation is low.

It is not flooding, but ponding.

what kind of shit u can further accept from PAP

that means PAP gov literally punishing sinkie for wanting a little bit higher salary than ft.
Want cheaper, better, faster than they have to set a good example first lor.

If sinkees are not financially insecure, PAP has no control of us. When we are busy eking out a living, we have no time to think and so can be brainwashed by the PAP media. If we have lots of time, we will see how the PAP is screwing us.

greedy and cunning

they want cheap , they want good , they want slaves.
why they don't ask how come CEO pay and bonus can increase and increase every year ?
why they don't stop this ?

Discrimination and bullying of the weak has been around since the beginning of time. It is sometimes packaged as something else - racism, caste, religious discrimination against minorities. The sinkies that are bullied are often wimps. If you don't bully them, then someone else would!

I am glad that you have come around. Calling all Sinkees, please make life for foreigners here a living hell. We have the support of PA!

Kuailan

That mean to say our Ministry of Education has f*&^%k up our education system
since 1959 when Papaya took over as the ruling party! So they produce half past six
PMETs! Whereas Foreign Trash with Fake degree are better so they were promoted!

That's why today we produced sub standard Stinkieporean compered to
Pinoy, Ah Neh, PRC, Myanmanese?? wtf !!

Quote: The foreigners were employed and promoted because they were better and more
suitable than the Singaporean PMETs according to Roslyn Ten, the general manager of TAFEP.
‘..many stem from misunderstanding!! What an excuse you (beach?) Roslyn!!

Is this true or just bias against Stinkaporean?? I think its more like against SGaporean!!!

And we the citizens of Singapore want cheaper, better and faster govt... can or not?

Who would dare to fire a LKY, LHL, Ho Ching or any of their family:confused:

The reality in Spore is that workers have no protection from being unfairly fired. We all know this & have to wayang such as never leaving the work place before the boss.

Quote: The foreigners were employed and promoted because they were better and more
suitable than the Singaporean PMETs according to Roslyn Ten, the general manager of TAFEP.
‘..many stem from misunderstanding!! What an excuse you (beach?) Roslyn!!

Is this true or just bias against Stinkaporean?? I think its more like against SGaporean!!!

Foreigners are cheaper & they don't need time to have babies or to do NS

so by what you say, you are agreeing with amos lee that LKY is a horrible man because he bullied sinkies and therefore he deserved to be damned?

Ah John, PA can conduct classes to teach sinkees how to make life miserable for foreingers? I am sure the participation will be high. If you give some allowances, the unemployed will join in as well.

Since PA wants sinkee to whack the foreigners, can pay sinkees or not? Every foreigner that get whacks will earn $100 for the sinkee.