• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

War breaks out between RC and residents in Toa Payoh

http://sgfuck.org/mybb/Thread-War-breaks-out-between-RC-and-residents-in-Toa-Payoh
Today 9:14 AM http://sgfuck.org/mybb/images/mobile/posted_0.gif Post: #1
forum456 http://sgfuck.org/mybb/images/buddy_offline.gif

http://www.tremeritus.com/2015/04/03/war-breaks-out-between-rc-and-residents-in-toa-payoh/

The saga between RC and residents at The Peak@Toa Payoh began last year when the RC wanted to build a RC centre at the void deck. Most of the residents objected to this.

One concerned resident who wrote in said that the saga is “definitely making the residents tired and irritated day by day”.

To began with, RC has already converted the key collection area into a RC centre. It now wanted to build another RC centre with a bigger area at the void deck of block 139B.

The resident asked, “Seriously, RC, do you need such a big space to hold your meetings and karaoke sessions?”

Another resident told TRE, “We are being bullied by our RC and PA!”

“There is already an existing RC at our block and they want a 2nd RC. Seriously the residents don’t need 2 RCs within 5 blocks!” she explained.

She asked TRE to help spread the news. “We are really desperate and need your help to make this public as they are going to construct the RC soon. We have written several emails to the authorities but they are not addressing the issue,” she said. “This means a lot to the residents. We sincerely thank you loads.”

Yet another resident said, “RC members pushed to build the centre refusing to address the core issues which the residents raised. They were selective in the questions they wanted to answer. And the reason provided by some RC members was that they were rushing to build as they did not want to lose the grants given by HDB to RC as it would expire soon.”

According to the residents who have emailed TRE, they noted that majority of the residents didn’t want to have RC build another RC centre at the void deck of block 139B for the following reasons:

Residents felt strongly that the DBSS image of premium housing would be affected by the building of a RC centre at the void deck
It reduces the already very limited void deck space to just a narrow walk path
The reason provided for having two centres was that RC needed a separate space to run playgroups and enrichment classes for the estate. Residents challenged this as the space can only cater to very small group of residents’ children. What is needed is a proper childcare centre.
Residents highlighted that it is dangerous to have playgroups in RC centre at the void deck because the entrance faces a narrow road and there are several blind spots on the narrow stretch of road. Children might just run out onto the road out of excitement. Most parents won’t consider risking their kids attending any playgroup sessions in that location.
RC centre at the void deck will hinder the residents’ escape route in case of fire
The loading and unloading bay will be blocked and residents with family members who are wheelchair bound will not be able to get to the lift easily. RC has suggested relocating the loading and unloading bay to a new area but the residents said the location is a blind spot for vehicles. An accident has already occured previously at the narrow stretch, residents pointed out.
To build the RC centre, the bicycle parking area will have to be removed and many are unhappy about it, as there is already a shortage of bicycle lots which means the residents of block 139B may have to park their bicycles at other blocks, depriving other residents of their lots

Some residents then approached MP Hri Kumar on the issue and were advised to do a petition and get the residents to vote on the matter.

The final results showed that majority don’t want to have the RC centre at the void deck.

But as things turned out, the RC went ahead to build the RC centre at the void deck. This was announced on its Facebook page on 7 Mar [Link]:

One resident told TRE, “This issue of RC construction has left loads of residents disgruntled and the RC has definitely lost the respect of the residents, as there wasn’t any respect given to the votes/decision of the residents.”

Another echoed, “We thought that the RC has heard us and decide to stop the construction. However, the votes, the comments and concerns were not heard.”

Apparently, some residents were so angry with their RC that they wrote to PA, asking it to disband their current RC. This is because the present practice in Singapore is that RC members are not elected by residents even though they are supposed to represent the interests of the residents. They are in fact appointed by PA, typically, with through the MP, who is the grassroots adviser.

One resident wrote to PA:

Dear Mr Ang,

The residents of The Peak @ Toa Payoh want to disband The Peak RC. The RC didn’t fulfil its purpose namely:

1. It did not promote neighborliness, harmony and cohesiveness among residents.
2. It did not liaise with government authorities on the needs and aspirations of residents.
3. It did not promote good citizenship amongst residents.

Instead, the formation of RC has diminished the strong community bond and kampong spirit which the residents ourselves have built. RC has caused residents to pitch against residents. We do not need RC to create havoc in our community.”

In fact, some of the residents are forming a different committee themselves, called ‘The Peak Committee’, to organize activities for the residents, by-passing their “official” RC altogether.

One resident told TRE, “Our Peak Committee has been organizing activities even before the formation of the RC. It consists of volunteers who truly serve the residents and to keep the kampong spirit alive. For your information, they do not have perks like free season parking, priority admission to schools, etc.”

“This committee is there to truly serve the residents and to speak up for the residents. This can be seen from the multiple emails to the various government organizations on the issue of the construction of the RC centre and of course, the happy bonding activities like durian feast, etc all organised by them,” he added.

Another told TRE, “We have written to the authorities to disband the RC as they do not respect the decision made by the residents. To keep the kampong spirit alive and kicking, the residents here organize events without any help from RC.”

And one resident also asked TRE to help tell their plights to the rest of Singaporeans – how they are being bullied by RC members. He said, “RC members do not engage with us. Instead they talk down to us. Always said they are making hard decision for the greater good of our community. We are very surprised and upset to see RC members given so much power by PA to decide for our community.”

“Please we need help to get our voices heard that RC members are bullying us,” he added.

What is the use of a RC when they don’t listen to the residents, especially when they have already been out-voted over matters the majority of the residents don’t agree with?

Also, why can’t the residents truly elect their own RC members?

The RC needs to do what is right, and not what is popular. That is how Singapore has succeeded while so many new nations have failed. Our leaders have vision, have long term planning, and they make tough decisions that most politicians don't dare to make lest they lose votes! I am glad the new RC centre is going to be built, regardless of the residents' whining.

zookeeper

[ Residents felt strongly that the DBSS image of premium housing would be affected by the building of a RC centre at the void deck]

Is it not because of money?

FUNCHOI

Propose build mini casino there for high rollers.
will project the place as super ultra high class.

Semaj2357

[ Residents felt strongly that the DBSS image of premium housing would be affected by the building of a RC centre at the void deck] Is it not because of money?
Yet another resident said, “RC members pushed to build the centre refusing to address the core issues which the residents raised. They were selective in the questions they wanted to answer. And the reason provided by some RC members was that they were rushing to build as they did not want to lose the grants given by HDB to RC as it would expire soon.”
absolutely and definitely.....yes!

One of the bad things about living near a RC is the area around your block getting polluted with flags and red-and-white decorations every August. An irritating eyesore. :wink:

I think all RCs should be torn down. Let the residents meet up according to their own interests e.g. karaoke, mahjong, yoga, bird watching instead of having some stupid committee set up along political and geographical-municipal lines.

The RC is there to serve as a bridge between the government and the plebians. If you organize your interests groups within the RC framework, you get access to government support for your programmes, not to mention the grassroots advisor or MP serving as your guest-of-honour for your events.

The RC needs to do what is right, and not what is popular. That is how Singapore has succeeded while so many new nations have failed. Our leaders have vision, have long term planning, and they make tough decisions that most politicians don't dare to make lest they lose votes! I am glad the new RC centre is going to be built, regardless of the residents' whining.

Wow, now the RC folks think that the are gods? How dare they claim they know what is right for the residents? If the residents don't want an RC, that is their choice.

Since you think that the RC can tell us what to do, would you accept whatever dictates the RC make on you?

Wow, now the RC folks think that the are gods? How dare they claim they know what is right for the residents? If the residents don't want an RC, that is their choice.

Since you think that the RC can tell us what to do, would you accept whatever dictates the RC make on you?

Sinkies didn't want CPF or NS or HDB at first. But thanks to PAP's long term planning and willingness to be right than be popular, sinkies have conceded that PAP made the right choices. It's the same for this current problem. I am in the RC. Of course I accept the decisions of the RC, since I am part of the committee that makes the decision making.

Victor Lye was right about the teenage effect. Sinkies now are getting more defiant and want to spend more time reasoning, instead of following the directions of their parents, aka PAP and the grassroots. What's this world coming to?

Sinkies didn't want CPF or NS or HDB at first. But thanks to PAP's long term planning and willingness to be right than be popular, sinkies have conceded that PAP made the right choices. It's the same for this current problem. I am in the RC. Of course I accept the decisions of the RC, since I am part of the committee that makes the decision making.

Sinkees still don't want CPF; they want a pension. They don't want NS either. HDB ...they don't have a choice as the government expropriate all the land. Sinkees are paying the world's highest price for social housing.

RC asks you to make your flat available to everyone to use, you okay with that?

Victor Lye was right about the teenage effect. Sinkies now are getting more defiant and want to spend more time reasoning, instead of following the directions of their parents, aka PAP and the grassroots. What's this world coming to?
Sinkees should be more aggressive to assert their rights. Take on RC now. Then the government next. It is time for sinkees to rise up

greedy and cunning

izzit ? all the while I mistakenly thought RC is a façade for some other purposes.

did you get your "factors" correct boh :kma:

Sinkees still don't want CPF; they want a pension. They don't want NS either. HDB ...they don't have a choice as the government expropriate all the land. Sinkees are paying the world's highest price for social housing.

RC asks you to make your flat available to everyone to use, you okay with that?

Sinkees should be more aggressive to assert their rights. Take on RC now. Then the government next. It is time for sinkees to rise up

Look at the picture below. That tells you who the majority thinks is correct. In your face!!!!

CBPTuKNU8AAYrgc.png

SMF_bids_farewell_to_LKY_2.JPG

[ Residents felt strongly that the DBSS image of premium housing would be affected by the building of a RC centre at the void deck]

Is it not because of money?

A case of what's good for the goose.....
Vile pap places money above all else.....now residents apply the same principle.....well done!