• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Sinkies should not blindly worship Lee Kuan Yew

Leepotism

SEX BLOGGER ALVIN TAN: S'POREANS SHOULD NOT BLINDLY WORSHIP LEE KUAN YEW

Singaporeans should not blindly worship Lee Kuan Yew

Bitch please, now you scary Lee Kuan Yew worshippers, go get educated on the whole Chia Thye Poh saga (before that, listen to yourself and realize how much you sound like a North Korean defending the Kims). I don't care if the guy invented a cure for cancer or saved the world from Nazi domination. If he did something like this to Chia with a clear conscience and no indication of remorse whatsoever, he isn't fit to be a leader.

He was evil. I don't think anyone can disagree with me on that either. And Lee Kuan Yew didn't even invent the cure for cancer. What he did had impact on at most 5 million people, less than half of the population of Los Angeles county. Yawn...

Leadership is not just about achievement; it's above all about CHARACTER. Otherwise we will just be a mercenary society with no compassion and respect for human rights. In the West, if a leader like Lee Kuan Yew existed, he would have been condemned endlessly and spat on. It would have been a HUGE political scandal if a politician is caught orchestrating an unjust imprisonment of his political rival.
But of course you brainwashed/under-exposed Singaporeans know nothing about that. You only know Lee Kuan Yew is the great father of Singapore, right? Something you learnt from your impartial and objective Social Studies textbook? Something something Asian values, respect, bla bla bla?

First, let's not overstate his achievements, please. He was only responsible for 3 million Singaporean lives (by 1990). That's way less than even the mayor of New York City, who has to be responsible for more than 10 million lives.

Was he efficient and effective in building Singapore? That's beyond doubt. But Singapore was already the TOP entrepot port in Asia by the 1950s, a thriving, bustling world-class port, and he had tons of support from the British colonial government too in dealing with insurgents, defence, consultations, etc.

Second, let's not also discount the contributions of his esteemed colleagues like Dr Goh Keng Swee, S Rajaratnam, etc. They too did a lot, but I don't see anyone worshipping them when they died. You want to worship some people? Worship the whole lot of them. Remember, they weren't the ones suing and imprisoning political opponents. At least their conscience was clear.

Third, I cringe every time I hear the argument that "[all these evil] are necessary to get Singapore to where it is today." Guess what? Post-World War II Western countries, destroyed and totally bankrupt and impoverished, did just fine modernizing themselves WITHOUT COMMITTING HUMAN RIGHTS ATROCITIES. Japan did it. South Korea did it. Germany did it. France did it. And Singapore wasn't even in such dire straits when independence was achieved in 1965.

Hell, even Mahathir -- another ruthless politician -- didn't jail anyone for 30+ years, longer than Nelson Mandela. If you just ship off your opponents to prison for no good reason and without trial, what makes you different from Stalin, who also sent his political opponents to the gulags? Don't forget Stalin also achieved much greater things than Lee Kuan Yew; his contributions to the Soviet nation were phenomenal.

So should we also call Stalin great?

Seriously, that man couldn't even win a general election without locking up his political opponents whenever they started to pose a threat. At least Mahathir charged Anwar for a deed that he indeed was guilty for. In 1998/1999, Anwar had trials, outlets for appeal, legal representation, international scrutiny, etc. Unjust as the law of sodomy was and biased as the judiciary was, Mahathir exhibited way more respect for the rule of law than Lee Kuan Yew ever had.

I know I'll never change your (small) minds when it comes to Lee Kuan Yew; you're too brainwashed to think clearly anymore. I merely want to provide an alternative perspective for your consideration. In the mean time, enjoy your $80,000 COEs and fragrant NeWater.
Alvin Tan
*Article first appeared on https://www.facebook.com/alvintan.yolo/posts/593441444125930

Note: Chia Thye Poh is a political detainee who was thrown in jail without a charge or trial for 23 years and put under house arrest for a further 9 years. He was accused by Lee Kuan Yew of conducting pro-communist activities and was put way through the abuse of the Internal Security Act. He was an activist and a member of parliament under the party Barisan Socialis.

At least Mahathir charged Anwar for a deed that he indeed was guilty for. In 1998/1999, Anwar had trials, outlets for appeal, legal representation, international scrutiny, etc. Unjust as the law of sodomy was and biased as the judiciary was, Mahathir exhibited way more respect for the rule of law than Lee Kuan Yew ever had.

Lol he has a bright career in comedy

LEGEND

Will the SAF send in the SOFs to kidnap Alvin and extradite him back to face charges

You have to ask steffy about this and and probably his suck cock buddy scrooball (clone) will give Alvin a stone cold stunner after he is arrested. Wahahaha.

Sideswipe

LKY's legacy is bullshit, massive layers and layers of lies are covering the truth. but the truth always comes out one way or another in the end.

Well, he got a bronze bust. Nice legacy?

ST_20130807_PLLKY07_3781254e.jpg

CABcommander

Wow this Alvin talk until the Malaysia judiciary system So good. Can have avenue for appeals.

Wonder Why he needs to scram to USA rather than face His own sedition charge. So much faith in his own country system hor.

csi88

This chap is hopeless.Even his good frd can screw his so call ex girlfriend.I dun understand why reporters even bother to interview him.If he is a man,stand up and go back Malaysia and challenge his charges.You dun get your stardom by uttering nosences to the press.You are really MLY.