• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

If Only - To the memory of LKY by Catherine Lim

Dinkum

If Only ~ To The Memory Of Lee Kuan Yew (1923–2015)

Catherine Lim

30 March 2015

You transformed little, obscure, resource-poor Singapore into one of the most successful economies in the world. If today Singapore is described in breathless superlatives—’best’, ‘richest’, ‘cleanest’, ‘brightest’—it is all because of you.

If only you had done so without so much human cost. If only the high ranking of Singapore in international surveys on economic development were matched by a similar ranking in surveys on human rights.

Your ruling style was distinguished by its efficiency, purposefulness and determination. Once you had established your principles of governance, you followed them with relentless energy.

If only this single-mindedness had not blinded you to the need for change in the evolving political landscape of Singapore. It was extremely painful for concerned Singaporeans to see how the hard reality overtook you at the General Election in 2011, and you had to step down.

You have been described as a great leader. In the many tributes to you, your qualities of greatness were singled out for special mention—your courage, your strength, your vision, your fearlessness, your passion for doing the best for your people.

If only you had shown one more attribute of great leadership—the ability to acknowledge mistakes made and the humility to say sorry for policies that had caused pain and hardship to others.

You were such a wonderful husband and father, the consummate family man. Although you kept your family life private, Singaporeans got to know about it through many engaging anecdotes and family photographs, after your death.

If only this deep sense of family closeness and love had been paralleled by a sense of compassion for the families of those political dissidents who were jailed for decades or had to flee into permanent exile.

You are much admired for your immense love of and devotion to your wife. Singaporeans must have been very moved when they read about how you cared for her in her illness, how you read her favourite novels to her. You had once been reported as saying that if there were an afterlife, you would hope to meet her there.

It must be the wish of even non-believers like myself, that you have been granted this dear wish of yours, your ultimate reward.

You transformed little, obscure, resource-poor Singapore into one of the most successful economies in the world. If today Singapore is described in breathless superlatives—’best’, ‘richest’, ‘cleanest’, ‘brightest’—it is all because of you.

If only you had done so without so much human cost. If only the high ranking of Singapore in international surveys on economic development were matched by a similar ranking in surveys on human rights.

Your ruling style was distinguished by its efficiency, purposefulness and determination. Once you had established your principles of governance, you followed them with relentless energy.

If only this single-mindedness had not blinded you to the need for change in the evolving political landscape of Singapore. It was extremely painful for concerned Singaporeans to see how the hard reality overtook you at the General Election in 2011, and you had to step down.

You have been described as a great leader. In the many tributes to you, your qualities of greatness were singled out for special mention—your courage, your strength, your vision, your fearlessness, your passion for doing the best for your people.

If only you had shown one more attribute of great leadership—the ability to acknowledge mistakes made and the humility to say sorry for policies that had caused pain and hardship to others.

You were such a wonderful husband and father, the consummate family man. Although you kept your family life private, Singaporeans got to know about it through many engaging anecdotes and family photographs, after your death.

If only this deep sense of family closeness and love had been paralleled by a sense of compassion for the families of those political dissidents who were jailed for decades or had to flee into permanent exile.

You are much admired for your immense love of and devotion to your wife. Singaporeans must have been very moved when they read about how you cared for her in her illness, how you read her favourite novels to her. You had once been reported as saying that if there were an afterlife, you would hope to meet her there.

It must be the wish of even non-believers like myself, that you have been granted this dear wish of yours, your ultimate reward.

=========================

If only someone had said the above to his wife, who once asked, how is it that a man so much loved by so many could also be so much hated by many too.

Reddog

Catherine sums up: A SELFISH BAS###d. [ Using her usual smooth genteel English.]

xpo2015

Human rights is to make sure everybody dun feel hunger everyday.

Human rights means universal education for every children.

Human rights means everyone has a shelter from the rain.

Human rights means when you are sick you get to see the doctor easily.

Humans rights means every father or mother can have the means to feed their children.

Human rights means women have the same opportunity as men to be educated.

Human rights means we have clean waters for everyone.

Human rights means taxpayers monies are not corrupted away by useless government.

Human rights means everyone could walk in the streets without getting robbed, beat up, raped or killed any time of the day.

Humans rights means little boys are not being raped by other men.

Human rights means children are not being abused by their parents.

Human rights means women are not being abused by their husbands.

Which human rights are you talking about? The right to fcuk others without restraints?

enterprise2

Must credit Catherine for giving much needed balance to the legacy of the old man. He NEVER said sorry or apologize or acknowledge the mistakes made. Actually I must credit Singaporeans for taking this in and still luv and respect the man. Says a lot about us as well as the old man. Well no point looking back now, what is done is done. We can only move on and fulfill our own vision for Singapore and that means for me for political representation of all parties and treating each other as equal decent human beings. The past week we saw the real Singaporeans. Let's build on that.

What are you talking about man! All lky did was to continue with polices put down by the British, improve on it, and curtail uncouth chinaman through discipline and the extreme ones put them in jail. And because of that, sinkies do not pee and shit in public anymore.

Baris Catherine, Sedi-A
Ke Kanan lu-rus
Pandang ke Hadapan Pandang
Skuad Catherine, heads down, ass up , senjata !

Human rights is to make sure everybody dun feel hunger everyday.

Human rights means universal education for every children.

Human rights means everyone has a shelter from the rain.

Human rights means when you are sick you get to see the doctor easily.

Humans rights means every father or mother can have the means to feed their children.

Human rights means women have the same opportunity as men to be educated.

Human rights means we have clean waters for everyone.

Human rights means taxpayers monies are not corrupted away by useless government.

Human rights means everyone could walk in the streets without getting robbed, beat up, raped or killed any time of the day.

Humans rights means little boys are not being raped by other men.

Human rights means children are not being abused by their parents.

Human rights means women are not being abused by their husbands.

Which human rights are you talking about? The right to fcuk others without restraints?

She is talking about the right to express their view openly without being prosecuted and freedom to protest anywhere the people wanted.

I guess you are too stupid to even understand.

Hans168

What are you talking about man! All lky did was to continue with polices put down by the British, improve on it, and curtail uncouth chinaman through discipline and the extreme ones put them in jail. And because of that, sinkies do not pee and shit in public anymore.

SYED PUKI: Wow that is a refreshing view of what has taken place!
50 yrs of achievement compressed into a little BLACK DOT.......

Game-of-the-Thrones2.jpg

And love is the death of duty. How else do you think the Familee got so rich and powerful?

LKY was a traitorous, power-hungry, self-serving scoundrel... and yet most daft Sinkies prefer to believe the official revisionist nonsense they were taught in schools. That is perhaps why Huang Na, that Viet guy at SLS, NKF, Renci and CHC prospered.

Too much faith and too little discernment. Ponder upon that as the grateful twits still put the black ribbon on their Facebook profiles and their cars.

JHolmesJr

Well Amos, THIS is how you do it.

She is 60 something with years of maturity and learning...he is a rough boy whos balls havent descended yet....theres bound to be dissonance.

People will remember and discuss what the boy said more than what she said.

soikee

Sadly these lot of S'poreans are, I describe with one word, MINDLESS!

enterprise2

Sadly these lot of S'poreans are, I describe with one word, MINDLESS!

No lah, we r not mindless. We became stronger as a result. Yes, we suffered. We suffered NS, paid pittance. We suffered the dumb education streaming and rote learning! We suffered the COEs, the ERPs and what have u! Now we r suffering the FTs and job loss! But we r still surviving and we have prospered too. LKY is gone, no point blaming him. He cannot solve these problems anymore. We have to ... move on and fight the present battles with the current gahment!

What a boring pile of crock!

If only LKY remained a lawyer instead of a politician, Catherine would have been a maid working for a HK family.

soikee

What a boring pile of crock!

If only LKY remained a lawyer instead of a politician, Catherine would have been a maid working for a HK family.

Read my lips you SOB!

Your mother let all the grasslooters, Banglas and Ah Nehs fuck until her chow-chee-bye cannot stop bleeding!