• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

What Robert Kuok Thinks of LKY

Dreamer1

Hey, do you know that the Indonesian authorities have cracked down on gambling in Batam:confused: I think it was 7+ years ago that those illegal casinos were forced to close.

While the gambling ship operating off the seas of Batam is still operating. I heard rumours that LHL is part owner:rolleyes:
Lee & Lees with an investment fund of several billions,I am not surprised at all that some of their fund are invested by their manager into these lucrative biz.

For example,it is well known that Lee's fund was invested into the Opium Mafia in Myanmar,at one time,thro' Robert Kuok's hotles.

Unless Lee & Lees are willing to practise what MM LKY has preached thro'out his whole life,and that is TRANSPARENCY.

Would they?wouldn't they??

Merl Haggard

Mar 25, 2015 6:00 AM

rob_0.jpg

April 2011: Mr Robert Kuok and his wife in green together with their family hosted a dinner for Mr LKY during his visit to Hong Kong.

By Li Xueying, Hong Kong Correspondent.

On his regular visits to Hong Kong, Mr Lee Kuan Yew observed that when people there failed in business, they blamed themselves or bad luck, picked themselves up and tried again.

He wondered how to encourage that entrepreneurial spirit among Singaporeans, and would put the question to powerful businessmen he met there. South-east Asia's richest man, Mr Robert Kuok, remembers how he responded to Mr Lee: "I told him, you have governed Singapore too strictly, you have put a straitjacket on Singapore. Now, you need to take a pair of scissors and cut it."

The Malaysian tycoon would sometimes invite other Hong Kong businessmen to meet Mr Lee, who was always ready to talk politics.

But on his last trip, in May 2012, Mr Lee was more subdued. His wife had died, and he visited another old friend, media mogul Run Run Shaw, who was ill. Mr Lee sat quietly by Sir Run Run's wheelchair, saying little but patting the centenarian's knee from time to time.

"He had grown far more mellow," recalled Mr Kuok in an interview at his Deep Water Bay home in March 2013. It was a different side of a man he had known for seven decades.

They were born 20 days apart - Mr Lee on Sept 16 and Mr Kuok on Oct 6, 1923 - and met in 1941 as students at Raffles College in pre-war Singapore. "We're both pigs, born in the Year of the Pig," Mr Kuok said with a laugh, referring to the Chinese zodiac sign.

Did that make them stubborn? No, he said. "Greedy. See food, eat. See power, grab." From Hong Kong, Mr Kuok presides over an US$11.4 billion (S$15.4 billion) family business empire that spans the Shangri-La hotel chain to logistics to being the world's biggest processor of palm oil.

He said they were not especially close in school. Harry, as the young Mr Lee was known then, already had a reputation for pugnacity. "He was combative, wanting to win every argument. Not someone you would take an immediate great warmth and liking to," said Mr Kuok. And because Harry was "intellectually a cut above the average", there was "a slight feeling of superiority" about him. He did not mix much, though he did attend the college's annual fancy dress ball in 1941 in Malay garb complete with a songkok. Mr Kuok went as a Mandarin.

On Dec 8 that year, their lives were disrupted when the first Japanese bomb landed, bringing World War II to Singapore.

Mr Kuok returned to Johor Baru, where his parents ran a shop selling rice, sugar and flour. By the time he returned to Singapore in 1955, he had established a sugar refining business that would be the foundation of his fortune and earned him the title of Malaysia's Sugar King.

Mr Lee was a lawyer and rising politician, and a founder of the People's Action Party.

They would meet occasionally and Mr Kuok found Mr Lee "still pretty curt", but now he was obsessed with Singapore. In 1970, Mr Kuok received a call from the Istana inviting him to the Prime Minister's Office. Mr Lee wanted his views on Malaysia, saying his analyses were more down-to-earth than the official briefings he received. These meetings occurred regularly till 1973 when Mr Kuok moved to Hong Kong. After that, they met mostly when Mr Lee visited Hong Kong.

"Over the years, he shed a lot of his stiffness," he said, though they did not agree on everything.

"Politically, I did not share all his views," revealed Mr Kuok, citing as an example the benchmarking of ministerial pay to the private sector.

He thought Mr Lee was too obsessed about Singapore. "He wanted to talk about politics all the time. There is more to life than politics. To me, there is more to life than business."

Yet it was Mr Lee's single-mindedness that made Singapore thrive, Mr Kuok acknowledged, and it helped that he possessed "all these strong leadership traits - an intimidating attitude, presence of face and body".

"He was very sure of himself, resolute, even ruthless. But he turned Singapore into a model nation, put in place a government that cared for its people, and made sure that others would not bully Singapore," he said. "The greatest Chinese outside the mainland is Lee Kuan Yew."

But he hired Georgie Yeo, who was below LHL in SG's political pecking order.

Let's guess if he would hire LHL, if he were to become available. :wink:

fark lah..................who cares..................all i wanna know is...............who's that babe in the photo..........actress huh ?

yellowarse

fark lah..................who cares..................all i wanna know is...............who's that babe in the photo..........actress huh ?

Robert Kuok, richest man in Malaysia, at age 90, still have a daughter age 35 .

Actually, Kuok Hui Kwong is daughter of Robert Kuok second wife. He remarried after his first wife pass away.

Ms. Kuok, affectionately in the newsroom as "Baby" Kuok at one point, received her undergraduate degree BA, East Asian Studies from Harvard University. She worked as an analyst in the investment banking unit of JP Morgan.

Kuok Hui Kwong started as financial journalist in South China Morning Post Publishers Ltd and become Executive Director of South China Morning Post Publishers Ltd in 2003. Kuok Hui Kwong become CEO of SCMP Group Ltd in 2009.

She has been a Non-Executive Director at The Post Publishing Public Company Limited which published Bangkok Post since November 9, 2012 and served as its Director since March 27, 2009 until July 20, 2012.

Kuok Hui Kwong resigned as CEO and Managing Director of SCMP Group Ltd in 2012. Robin Hu appointed as CEO of SCMP Group Ltd replacing Kuok Hui Kwong position. Ms Kuok remain as Executive Director. Many speculation on her re-designation at that point as it is co-incident with protest of SCMP Group Ltd self-censorship policy. Although Kuok says his news executives publish without fear or favor, present and former staff members have publicly complained that the paper sometimes self-censors stories it thinks the Chinese government wouldn’t like. Some gossip also said she is pregnant and prepare to give birth in Dragon year in 2012. She married to grandson of Hong Kong's late "Instant Noodle" King. , also graduate from Harvard University. Her husban also work for father in law as Executive Director of Kerry Properties Ltd

Actually his first daughter in law lagi chio.....look like teresa teng

Anything relating to robert kuok can ask resident samster número uno.....he claims to be robert Kuok's Neighbour

Man look for beauty in a woman but LKY is exceptional he look at other things like is she from rich connections?

Robert Kuok, richest man in Malaysia, at age 90, still have a daughter age 35 .

Actually, Kuok Hui Kwong is daughter of Robert Kuok second wife. He remarried after his first wife pass away.

blackmondy

You just have to wonder why some people can have such a beautiful daughter while some can only have a hideous-looking one ?

Own daughter look like shit bad is bad enough, even daughter-in-law is ugly than a man.....

You just have to wonder why some people can have such a beautiful daughter while some can only have a hideous-looking one ?

Own daughter look like shit bad is bad enough, even daughter-in-law is ugly than a man.....

please understand that she sacrifices herself as an absorbent of toxic waste in the familee, and thus the hideous appearance, as all negative karma is concentrated and captured by her. it's a noble cause, and she besides her dear leeder dad should truly be deified, as she is saint personified.

Ordinarily the ugly duckling slowly transform into a Beautiful Swan, that is what the fairy tales we know about. But these are exceptional fairy tales, where the swan slowly transform into ugly & hideous looking ducklings!

This is what we call, EXCEPTIONAL.

35 and still look very very good leh..............

if you got money, you can look good even at age 50. simple as that.. oops..maybe i should take back my words.. i know a rich family here isn't like that. Maybe must including how the money is gotten.

Asterix

Who cares what a 90 year old man, albeit a filthy rich one, thinks about a 90 year old corpse, albeit a once upon a time powerful one :p

[video=youtube;RN52URER6V0]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RN52URER6V0[/video]