• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

The OTHER forum is HERE so please stop asking.

Is this the Singapore we want?

micromachine

Lieutenant General
Loyal
Firstly, Singapore is a country which places strong emphasis on education and since most jobs require at least a bachelor's degree, the government is constantly coaxing Singaporeans to 'study', encouraging them to do well in their 'O's , 'N's or 'A's and so on. However as a student, I sigh at the sight of my friends mugging all night just to study for one test trying their best to score a distinction for the subject. Yes, there is nothing wrong in mugging just to get good grades but if you ask yourself, are you actually really learning something through your years of education or are you just memorising all the information shoved down your throat? In Singapore, students are mostly memorising their work for just one or two tests and will soon forget what they had committed to memory. If students were surveyed on learning outcomes, how many would confidently say that they have learnt everything they needed and understood every single thing their teacher taught them ? And how many would actually say that they merely needed to memorise their notes/textbooks/model answers just so to score well in their examinations?