• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Shit Times reporter "Home Ownership a pipe dream for many in the US" LOL

Melissa SIm, Shit Times leeporter moron gets paid to talk cock about how owning a home is a pipe dream in the US? Why don't she do an article about how home ownership is a pipe dream in Singapore first. Elections must be coming. SHit Times is starting to portray PAP in a favourable light with ridiculous articles.

The dream of owning a home is still beyond the reach of the average American, even though the lower rates of unemployment may signal an uptick in the US economy.

The seasonally adjusted home ownership rate for the last quarter of 2014 slipped to 63.9 per cent, the lowest in 20 years, according to the US Census Bureau. At its peak in 2004, home ownership stood at 69.4 per cent.

Real estate and finance experts said this is a result of stagnant wages, stricter lending standards after the sub-prime crisis and a younger generation that is already burdened by debt and less inclined to buy a home.

Professor Kerry Vandell, director of the Centre for Real Estate at the University of California, Irvine, said: "Today, we are still experiencing the fallout from the financial crisis in a continuing slow decline in home ownership rates."

While the unemployment situation in the United States improves - unemployment rates are 5.7 per cent now compared with 10 per cent during the recession in 2009 - wages have yet to keep up.

Average hourly earnings in the private sector amounted to US$24.57 (S$33.34) in December last year, up just 1.65 per cent from the year before.

According to a report by the Pew Research Centre, this is low compared with the pre-Great Recession years of 2006 and 2007, when average hourly wages often increased by around 4 per cent year on year.

Getting a loan is also proving to be difficult for prospective home owners as banks are generally more careful about lending to those with less-than-stellar credit scores and require buyers to make larger down payments.

"Lending terms remain very strict, and 'sub-prime' and other non-traditional loan products that promoted a broadening of home ownership have disappeared," said Prof Vandell.

Younger buyers are even less likely to buy because they "haven't yet built up their strong credit history, and have yet to save enough to meet higher down payment requirements", said Professor Stephen Malpezzi from the James A. Graaskamp Centre for Real Estate at the Wisconsin School of Business.

For Ms Davena Culberath, 28, who works as a concierge, paying off her student debt is preventing her from securing her own home.

"The goal is to buy something in the next five years. By then, I would have paid off a third of my student debt and my credit rating would be higher," said Ms Culberath, who is renting an apartment in Washington, DC, at the moment.

She falls in the under-35 age group, which experts said is the main group that has shied away from the property market.

The home ownership rate for that demographic dropped to 35.3 per cent in the last quarter of 2014 from 36.8 per cent a year ago.

In comparison, the change in home ownership rate from 71.4 per cent to 70.5 per cent for those aged 45 to 54 over the same period was not statistically different, according to the Census Bureau.

One reason for the decline in young buyers, said Associate Professor Tom Geurts, who teaches real estate and finance at the George Washington University, is that their mindset is less oriented towards owning things.

"This generation does not seem to want to be encumbered by physical possession, hence they own things virtually. As an extension, they might prefer to rent versus own," he said.

That argument is also bolstered by rental vacancy numbers which dropped to 7 per cent in the last quarter of 2014 from 8.2 per cent a year back.

Ms Emily Martin, 28, a marketing associate, is a case in point. She rents an apartment in Washington, DC and said she prefers it to owning a home.

"I like to travel, so this gives me the flexibility. It's easier than owning a place. Also, renting is cheaper on the onset," she said.

But some realtors said young people are beginning to jump back into the market as programmes come on stream to help first-time buyers.

Last December, mortgage finance firms Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac announced that first-time buyers could qualify for loans with down payments of as low as 3 per cent.

Ms Priyanka Ripley, a realtor with Long & Foster, said: "I'm pretty optimistic that young people still want to own. With these programmes in place and rates still low, it will be easier for millennials," she said.

However, Professor Susan Wachter, who teaches real estate and finance at the Wharton School, noted that young Americans would "take a longer time to get there" - owning homes in their 30s instead of their 20s.

But even if home ownership rates do bounce back, most real estate experts believe they will languish at around 64 per cent, calling that the "new normal".

Said Prof Vandell: "We are gradually moving to a new equilibrium in the housing and home ownership market. Barring new policy interventions to again stimulate home ownership, it will stay at about that level."

Her parents must be real proud of her. London School of Economics bachelor degree thru a SPH scholarhsip and Masters from University of Chicago. And she writes this drivel about the US housing market. why don't she write one about the singapore housing market and how real home ownership here (not a 99 year rental) is even more remote than a pipe dream for most singaporeans?

Singaporeans are indeed very lucky to be able to own their homes with the initial deposit and the monthly payments all taken care of using CPF funds.

Singaporeans are the envy of the rest of the world. They complain constantly because they don't realise how lucky they are.

In NZ, a young couple just starting out in life would have to come up with at least $50,000 of cold hard cash for a chance to own a home.

congo9

Singaporeans are indeed very lucky to be able to own their homes with the initial deposit and the monthly payments all taken care of using CPF funds.

Singaporeans are the envy of the rest of the world. They complain constantly because they don't realise how lucky they are.

In NZ, a young couple just starting out in life would have to come up with at least $50,000 of cold hard cash for a chance to own a home.

Coming out with cold hard cash of 50K is so damn cheap, NZ couple must be very lazy.

that's why sinkies are so lucky. $50k is small change for sinkies. in the u.s., it's near impossible to find a young american couple with $10k in the bank. they not only owe over $100k in student loans, they are in serious crédit card debt for their recent exotic and fancy weddings. and unlike sinkies, they don't have cpf savings to put down on a home.

Asterix

Home ownership is a luxury not a necessity. I read an article on the SCMP website recently, while I was physically on the other side of the planet, that only 16% of Berliners own their homes and the cost is something like 300 per foot for private apartments in the city centre. Berlin is the capital of Germany, the economic powerhouse of the Euro zone.

In most states of the US, one can buy a single family home with 3 car garage and almost 3000 square foot built in (including the garage unfortunately) for a little over USD 300K. California is an exception. Just google Lennar, Pulte, KB Homes, etc and let your saliva drop. Don't get me going about cars. :smile:

99 year lease is home ownership? Are you retarded?

cocobobo

Your bike helmet is too tight maybe. Loosen it to get the blood to flow properly again

99 year lease is home ownership? Are you retarded?

You're the one who's retarded. This issue was put to bed a long time ago. I won.

You can own leasehold property just as you own freehold property. If you didn't own and HDB flat, you wouldn't be allowed to sell it on the open market and pocket the profit.

this pitiful fixer upper property in palo alto sold for us$6.5m.

image.jpg

Same old 'good news and be grateful' routine from the propagandists, and it escalates once every five years. :wink:

[video=youtube;zY2hGdl_ArI]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zY2hGdl_ArI[/video]

greedy and cunning

u trying to smoke again.

the situation of young couple in NZ JUST STARTING OUT IN LIFE is THE SAME as
sillypoore young couple JUST STARTING OUT IN LIFE ,
of course both will not have $50K ,
are u saying the sillypoore couple will be have $50K in their Chee-Pye-F after working
a few years ? go examine your fuck brain or open your eyes.
:p:p
Sillypootians are the envy of the rest of the world ????
not unless these people in the rest of the world also like
to be exploited , and be an obedient slave.

u trying to smoke again.

are u saying the sillypoore couple will be have $50K in their Chee-Pye-F after working

In NZ, a $50,000 (20%) cash deposit is required before a housing loan can be granted for the purchase of a $250,000 house. Young families starting out in life don't have that sort of money so they end up being stuck in the rental market for many years and in some cases, forever.

In Singapore, because of the wonderful CPF scheme, no cash down payment is required. In fact, first time buyers are given an extremely generous grant of up to $40,000. The details of this scheme are at http://www.hdb.gov.sg/fi10/fi10321p.nsf/w/BuyingNewFlatAdditionalCPFHousingGrant?OpenDocument

As you can see from the facts above, Singaporeans are indeed blessed and this is all thanks to the government taking excellent care of its citizens and ensuring that everyone has an affordable roof over their heads when they start out in life.

I'm sure you can now understand why Singaporeans are envied by the rest of the world. It's because they are so well taken care of by their government.

http://tvnz.co.nz/national-news/should-not-way-economist-hits-auckland-house-price-ranking-6220424

'It should not be this way' economist
hits out at Auckland house price ranking

Published: 6:09AM Monday January 19, 2015 Source: ONE News

An economist has called for urgent action to make Auckland homes more affordable, following a study that reveals it's easier to
buy property in Los Angeles than New Zealand's largest market.

Auckland has been ranked the ninth most unaffordable major property market in the latest Demographia International Housing
Survey.

It was seen as slightly more affordable than London, which ranked seventh, but more expensive than New York, Toronto or Los
Angeles.

NZIER economist Shamubeel Eaqub told TV ONE's Breakfast it is "incredible" that Auckland housing is so unaffordable.

"It should not be this way. There are a lot of reasons why we've gotten there but we need urgent action. The Government is very
focused on this but we need to do a great deal more," he said.

Australia's biggest cities were even pricier than New Zealand's, with Sydney and Melbourne taking the third and sixth spots on the unaffordability index.

Hong Kong was ranked the most unaffordable place to buy a house.

The Kiwi housing market was labelled "severely unaffordable" overall, with Christchurch also tagged as having outofreach
property prices.

The US was the most affordable place to buy a house of all the countries surveyed, with 14 major property markets ranked as
being affordable.

New Zealand property values rose 4.9 percent last year, less than half the pace of 2013, according to recent QV figures.

However, Auckland continued to drive the higher prices, rising 9.8 per cent to $761,858 in the year to December.

The 11th annual Demographia survey analysed 86 major property markets in New Zealand, Australia, the United Kingdom, United States, Canada, Hong Kong, Ireland and Singapore.

Least affordable cities:
1. Hong Kong
2. Vancouver
3. Sydney
4. San Francisco
5. San Jose
6. Melbourne
7. London
8. San Diego
9. Auckland
10. Los Angeles

In NZ, a $50,000 (20%) cash deposit is required before a housing loan can be granted for the purchase of a $250,000 house. Young families starting out in life don't have that sort of money so they end up being stuck in the rental market for many years and in some cases, forever.

Yes they do. Their parents give it to them. Its quite common for parents to gift the deposit money to their kids to buy their first property. Maybe a bastard like you with no mother and father does not understand that. In Canada, I was told that if you are a young couple buying your first freehold condo, you only need 5% down payment if you get the govt. mortgage guarantee. So, on a $250,000 property, they only need to have a down payment of $12,500. Not only that, they can use up to $20,000 of their retirement fund to use for the downpayment. Their retirement fund can be set up like CPF with money giro deductions going into a dedicated retirement account.

this pitiful fixer upper property in palo alto sold for us$6.5m.

View attachment 19534

Don't use your Palo Alto bullshit. Its one of the most expensive area in the US. Why don't you use other states? Some of my friends in S'pore bought a freehold apt on the golf course in Orlando for around USD$80,000. Another one bought several properties in Phoenix Arizona, some as cheap as $40K. All freehold. Why don't u use those examples instead?

u trying to smoke again.

Sam, the sheep fucker is always full of shit.

You're the one who's retarded. This issue was put to bed a long time ago. I won.

You can own leasehold property just as you own freehold property. If you didn't own and HDB flat, you wouldn't be allowed to sell it on the open market and pocket the profit.

A HDB flat is not a leasehold property, stupid.

Yes they do. Their parents give it to them. Its quite common for parents to gift the deposit money to their kids to buy their first property. Maybe a bastard like you with no mother and father does not understand that. In Canada, I was told that if you are a young couple buying your first freehold condo, you only need 5% down payment if you get the govt. mortgage guarantee. So, on a $250,000 property, they only need to have a down payment of $12,500. Not only that, they can use up to $20,000 of their retirement fund to use for the downpayment. Their retirement fund can be set up like CPF with money giro deductions going into a dedicated retirement account.

In Singapore, the government is far more generous than most Canadian parents. A $40,000 grant is a huge amount of money plus there are many other assistance packages on offer for the needy.

Details are at http://app.msf.gov.sg/Assistance?tid=115&title=Comcare / Help For Low-Income/Needy

[h=2]ComCare Enterprise Fund (CEF)[/h]
topics
ComCare / help for low-income/needy, developing/regulating our social sector, social enterprises/projects

The ComCare Enterprise Fund (CEF) supports new and existing social enterprises in training and/or hiring those who might need help in becoming self-reliant.

[h=2]ComCare Child Care Subidies[/h]
topics
ComCare / help for low-income/needy, subsidies for child/student care

From 1 April 2013, the ComCare Child Care Subsidies (also known as the Centre Based Financial Assistance for Child Care, CFAC) will be combined with the universal working mother subsidy, into one subsidy framework. This simplifies the application process for parents and Child Care Operators.

[h=2]ComCare Kindergarten Subsidies[/h]
topics

ComCare helps you pay part of your child’s Kindergarten fees. You can apply for the ComCare Kindergarten Fee Assistance at any of the Kindergartens participating in the programme.

[h=2]ComCare Public Assistance[/h]
topics
ComCare / help for low-income/needy

Long-term ComCare assistance for those who are permanently unable to work.

[h=2]ComCare Short-to-Medium Term Assistance[/h]
topics

Temporary ComCare Assistance for households whose members are temporarily unable to work

[h=2]ComCare Student Care Subsidies[/h]
topics

ComCare helps you pay part of your child’s Student Care fees. You can apply for the ComCare Student Care Fee Assistance at any of the Student Care Centres participating in the programme.

[h=2]ComCare Urgent Financial Assistance[/h]
topics

Urgent ComCare Assistance for those requiring immediate help for less than 3 months.

[h=2]Funding Scheme for Public Education to Empower Families Facing Multiple Stress Factors[/h]
topics

MSF provides funding for public education programmes that aim to empower families facing multiple stresses

[h=2]Home Ownership Plus Education (HOPE) Scheme[/h]
topics

Provides comprehensive benefits to young, low-income families who choose to keep their family small so they can invest in their children's future and break out of the poverty cycle.

[h=2]Medical Fee Exemption Card[/h]
topics
ComCare / help for low-income/needy, disabilities

This card provides free medical and hospitalisation treatment at government/restructured hospitals and polyclinics for needy residents of sheltered and disability homes.

[h=2]Multiple Lines of Assistance[/h]
topics

Find out more about the multiple lines of assistance with this interactive chart.

[h=2]Youth Social Entrepreneurship Programme for Schools[/h]
topics
ComCare / help for low-income/needy, developing/regulating our social sector, social enterprises/projects

The CEF-Schools Programme supports schools and Institutes of Higher Learning (IHLs) in the implementation of programmes targeted at educating youths about social entrepreneurship.

[h=2]Youth Social Entrepreneurship Programme for Start Ups[/h]
topics

The CEF-Young Start-Up Programme provides funding support to youths in developing and implementing their social enterprise start-ups within the social services sector.

- See more at: http://app.msf.gov.sg/Assistance?ti...elp For Low-Income/Needy#sthash.mwc1A2BK.dpuf

xpo2015

Owning a flat in SG is lumpsum prepaid rentals Lah. And there are many restrictions with what you want to do with it because the CB garmen wants to control every damn things.