• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Ex-relationship manager gets 11 months for cheating bank customers

SINGAPORE - A former bank officer was sentenced to 11 months in prison on Thursday for cheating three customers into investing a total of $1.17 million in unit trusts, claiming they were principal-guaranteed.

Too Jincai, 31, was a relationship manager with United Overseas Bank at the time.

The three had wanted to place their money in fixed deposits at the UOB branch at Ang Mo Kio Hub but Too convinced them to buy other financial products instead.

He admitted to cheating housewife Wong Mee Foong, 60, by convincing her to buy $20,000 worth of the United Emerging Markets Bond Fund on July 2012, and retiree Lye Choh Hwa, 67, into buying $1 million worth of the same fund in November that year.

- See more at: http://www.straitstimes.com/news/si...ating-bank-customers-201#sthash.KuwoSF8u.dpuf

potato29

why only Too Jincai get charged? what he did is common in most banks. i used to get tellers telling me to buy products because interest for deposits is very low.

yinyang

Think he (and what a name) :biggrin: kena not for selling unit trusts per se. Rather for misrepresentation (aka con job) to 3 retirees, who only needed to park their money. Ala Lehman. 1.17mil... that's a plenty of dosh

xpo2015

Song Song!

After 11 months of free watery curries and accommodation, can enjoy that one million dollars!

gingerlyn

Too JinChai has no wrong.
Too JinChai only mistake is that he copies from CPF scheme.
In CPF scheme, we were promised to get our cpf fund by age 55. However, now all our cpf fund get stucked after government introducing minimum sum.

Too JinChai modus operandi is the same as CPF scheme.

If judge from TooJinChai wrong, Judge must has the courage to criticize CPF scheme

All relationship managers are fraudsters by default. If those investment plans were really that awesome, they wouldn't need to continue with their shitty jobs, much less tell you about the 'opportunity'. :rolleyes:

They are all commission whores. All of them. :cool:

congo9

All relationship managers are fraudsters by default. If those investment plans were really that awesome, they wouldn't need to continue with their shitty jobs, much less tell you about the 'opportunity'. :rolleyes:

They are all commission whores. All of them. :cool:

Yes , you are right.
One of my self made businessman kaki say that all these RM is like licensed fraudster. Now all youngster has no fighting spirit. Just want to live off their parents and education.

I don't know why this case is treated as cheating. It is a case of caveat emptor. Those investors didn't do their homework and just trust this individual.

Relationship managers, financial advisers make money by selling you products. They are not there to look after your interests.

Can we sue the PAP government for cheating us of our CPF returns?