• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Japan in Denial mode.

chuckyworld

Japan should be nuke a few more time, Nanjing massacre and Unit 731 activities in accordance with international law?.

Japan asks U.S. publisher to change 'sex slave' reference in textbook

→Politics Jan. 16, 2015 - 03:15PM JST ( 363 )

Japan asks U.S. publisher to change 'sex slave' reference in textbook
The Comfort Women statue in Glendale, California.

AFP

TOKYO —

Japan has asked a major U.S. publisher to “correct” a school textbook that references World War II sex slaves, the foreign ministry said Thursday, as Tokyo’s bid to polish its history moves abroad.

Diplomats petitioned McGraw-Hill to change passages of a book used in American schools that refer to “comfort women”, a euphemism for those forced to work in military brothels.

TOKYO —

More than 8,700 university professors, lawyers, teachers, journalists and others are suing the Asahi Shimbun, seeking both a formal apology and reparations for the newspaper’s stories on “comfort women.”

The group of plaintiffs, led by Sophia University professor emeritus Shoichi Watanabe, is demanding 10,000 yen in apparently symbolic compensation each, describing themselves as “Japanese citizens whose honor and credibility were damaged by the false reports made by the Asahi Shimbun”, according to court documents.

Prime Minister Shinzo Abe has said the Asahi’s erroneous articles on comfort women smeared Japan’s image in the eyes of people overseas, but the report concluded that the Asahi’s reports had only limited impact on international society.

Despite a dearth of official records, mainstream historians say up to 200,000 women, many from Korea but also from China, Indonesia, the Philippines and Taiwan, served Japanese soldiers in military brothels called “comfort stations”.

palden

Their children and grand children are now paying the price. 不是不报,只是时辰未到。after ww2 the jap av industry booms.

danielsim

Now they are trying to cover up their tracks as much as possible. What's done cannot be undone, what goes around comes around.

yellowarse

Japan already imploding lah. 20+ years of recession and deflation, and still counting. Population shrinking by a couple of million every year. Nuclear radiation wiping off their kids. Losing their #2 economic power position to China, and soon to India as well. The race is headed for extinction.

In another 50 years, they'll be paying obeisance to the Chinese emperor as a vassal state.

Japan today is a joke. Nobody takes Japan's military seriously. If not for the US 7th fleet, China would have reclaimed back Diaoyu islands and even Okinawa.

master

Japan today is a joke. Nobody takes Japan's military seriously. If not for the US 7th fleet, China would have reclaimed back Diaoyu islands and even Okinawa.

China no balls.
Cannot blame US.
In ww2 the mother fucker china president kept retreating n no balls to fight the Japanese head on.
This boosted the jap to advance very quickly n many chinese kena cooked!!!!!!!!!
In the end, little boy n fat man cums ends the war.
Ang mo the best!!!!!!!!

yellowarse

hahaha so u are saying China is scared of US?

Not scared. The Chinese are smarter than that. When you're building your economy into the world's largest and solving problems ranging from wide income gaps to massive urban migration to corruption to Islamic extremism, the last you want to do is pick a fight with a nuclear superpower. You gain nothing from instigating a war now; everything from biding your time and consolidating your power.

harakirineh

Not scared. The Chinese are smarter than that. When you're building your economy into the world's largest and solving problems ranging from wide income gaps to massive urban migration to corruption to Islamic extremism, the last you want to do is pick a fight with a nuclear superpower. You gain nothing from instigating a war now; everything from biding your time and consolidating your power.

Is correct. Without having to worry about and spending on the military you can see how Japan and Germany recovered and advanced so rapidly post WW2. China is doing the very same thing now and building its economic and military base slowly but surely.

lantau

Japan already imploding lah. 20+ years of recession and deflation, and still counting. Population shrinking by a couple of million every year. Nuclear radiation wiping off their kids. Losing their #2 economic power position to China, and soon to India as well. The race is headed for extinction.

In another 50 years, they'll be paying obeisance to the Chinese emperor as a vassal state.

The country needs a total overhaul and even that may not work.