• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

The real reasons behind the fare hikes

Written by Ng E-Jay
23 January 2015

The Public Transport Council (PTC) said on Wednesday that it has decided on an overall fare increase of 2.8 per cent. However, it could not explain adequately why the fare increase has to take place despite a 60% plunge in the price of oil from its peak. Its reasons for the fare increase are dubious and illogical.

The PTC said that this year’s fare review exercise was based on 2013 figures, using changes in consumer price index, average wage and energy index from that year. Also, part of 2014’s fare increase was held back to prevent too big a hike. The line of reasoning therefore is that the part of the fare increase that was held back in 2014 is thus carried over into 2015.

However, this is illogical. Policy decisions must be made on updated data whenever possible. The fare increase that was held back in 2014 should not be carried over into 2015 because the price of oil has fallen drastically. It is senseless to implement the full increase originally meant for 2014 in the light of the new developments.

Even if fare review exercises are primarily conducted using past data rather than forecast data, it is illogical to ignore the latest statistics, because the current year’s profit experienced by the transport companies would be a function of the current price levels, and not previous price levels.

In rubber-stamping fare hikes proposed by transport companies, the PTC also claims that fares need to increase in order to cover operating costs. However, the public transport companies are making record profits every year. The net result is that the fare hikes have ensured that record profits continue, and not merely that costs have been covered.

As can be seen therefore, the PTC is looking after the continued prosperity of the public transport companies at the expense of commuters.

Transport minister Lui Tuck Yew said in a Facebook post on Wednesday evening that he was pleased to note that some 1.1 million commuters will be unaffected by the fare increment. However, he failed to mention that the rest of the 4 million people in Singapore would be affected. Perhaps he would like to elaborate why the rest of the 4 million people have to pay higher fares to ensure that transport companies continue to make higher and higher profits every year.

Our public transport companies are majority-owned by Temasek Holdings and GIC. These are the two entities that benefit from the record profits and millions of dollars of dividend payouts made by the transport companies. However, Temasek Holdings and GIC don’t return the accrued investment returns to Singaporeans. So essentially, Singaporeans are paying more and more each year to make our sovereign wealth funds rich, whilst in return for their generous contributions to state coffers, the CPF Board only returns to Singaporeans a very meager 2.5% interest rate on their CPF OA account.

Thus, the public is being made to feed state coffers and our sovereign wealth funds, but are given nothing more than random scraps in return.

Sinkies, you want lower transport fares, then go protest for it.. Post in the forum got what use.

You want your rights justice and fairness, then go protest for it.. This sort of thing do not come to you on a silver platter.

The same sinkies who demand fares be lowered are the same sinkies who demand for their own salaries to be hiked regardless the economic situation. While fuel prices may have dipped, existing bus drivers and support staff still demand for annual salary increments. Bus and rail companies also need to hire more drivers to drive the expanded bus fleets. All of these require more money.

Typical sinkies. Demand for their own salaries to be high, but are stingy when paying their maids and other people who work hard to support their modern lifestyles.

Indian

Bunch of Spastic Maggots withn inferior genes managing a tiny cuntry and anothe bunch monikers here with totally chinky genes trying to act smart.

Sinkies, you want lower transport fares, then go protest for it.. Post in the forum got what use.

You want your rights justice and fairness, then go protest for it.. This sort of thing do not come to you on a silver platter.

Spot on jiu hu kia.

So what are YOU doing about it? Go protest. Dun just KPKB behind your PC also. Go physically fuck pinkie's arse outside Istana.

Walk the talk and show us that you are not balls-less.

Indian

Another dumbfuck Chink calling the other dumfuckee Chink to protest.

You Chinks are all Spastic Maggots. :oIo:

i am waiting for stupid draft sinkie to do a protest about this unreasonable fare hike..

so who gonna start first????

if you don't protest, it means you are willing to allow your arse to be screwed.... just see you complain about fare hike but no balls to protest really makes my days... how ..sinkie...ass pain or not???

The same sinkies who demand fares be lowered are the same sinkies who demand for their own salaries to be hiked regardless the economic situation. While fuel prices may have dipped, existing bus drivers and support staff still demand for annual salary increments. Bus and rail companies also need to hire more drivers to drive the expanded bus fleets. All of these require more money.

Typical sinkies. Demand for their own salaries to be high, but are stingy when paying their maids and other people who work hard to support their modern lifestyles.

Isn't that the whole idea?this country is founded on the principles of no minimum wage and aggressive importation of cheaper better faster....one would expect drastic falling of prices and mass deflation from government aggressive pursuant of policies.instead all we got is rampant out of control inflation and 2.8% increase in fare hikes even when there's a 50% drop in fuel prices.

The whole sinkieland is founded on the basis that its citizen are addicted to ass screwing.

No need reasons....we the Citizens of SHITgapore are very " kuai, kaki" people...they say pay, we pay, how much? $1,000, $100, $10, $0.01ct...we pay...!:rolleyes:

The whole sinkieland is founded on the basis that its citizen are addicted to ass screwing.

Spot on jiu hu kia. So when are you going to physically fuck pinkies's arse and protest outside Istana?

Dun be like your ball-less parents in matland whereby they allow UMNO and the MIC Ah neh to screw their arse daily.

Spot on jiu hu kia. So when are you going to physically fuck pinkies's arse and protest outside Istana?

Dun be like your ball-less parents in matland whereby they allow UMNO and the MIC Ah neh to screw their arse daily.

Oh.. Now u like spot here and there.. Ur PAP master has spotted your mother's g-spot, congratulations.. U will have an increment and another year of free ride on public transport.. Offer ur wife and daughter too together another 2 years of free rides.

Jiu hu kia, did your mother gave you feedback on her gang bang with these Ah Nehs from MIC (UMNO's BN buddies)? Heard that the Ah Neh's enjoyed her old dry chee bye, mouth and loose arse!

Dun be like you ball-less father, walk the talk and protest against Pinkie outside Parliament!

:confused:
[video=youtube;7UIui7xXiAs]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7UIui7xXiAs[/video]

the real reason is nothing more sinister and preparation to smoke the nation when GE closes in.

this bloody conjob works like this:

lst they increase the fare with one set of craps reasonings now. when erection is nearing, they would sure to announce reduction in fare hike with reasons such as fuel now cheaper or worst, WE ARE TRULY CONCERNED ABOUT YOUR WELFARE and all those kinds of craps.

so the voters would be touched to tears and therefore smoked out of their usual daft freaking minds. they would thought the pap has repented and so maybe voting for them would now guarantee a better life.
rai
the daft and stupid fools of 60% would vote them. or probably more votes would be swung toward the paps when the lower the fares. what they forgot was who the fuckers in the lst place increase the fare.

after the pap secure a win, now the sinister evil plan begins. they shall raise every possible they can raise: school fees, medical fees, gst 10% most likely and etc.

then the KPKB shall repeat like the last GE.

and now the bloody pap is doing a deja vu with our cpf.

MEDISHIELD LIFE shall zap what little money left in the poor and needies. it's good bye to their meagre life savings.

pap also rasie their own salary what...!:rolleyes:

yes...............if only Sinkies has 1/10th the balls of the Hongkies..........