• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Singapore home prices seriously unaffordable, but better than other countries: report

https://sg.finance.yahoo.com/news/s...better-other-countries-220015526--sector.html

Although prices of Singapore properties have fallen in recent months due to the stringent cooling measures by the government, housing here remains seriously unaffordable with a score of 5.0, according to findings of the 11th Annual Demographia International Housing Affordability Survey 2015.
The study used the Median Multiple which is the median house price divided by gross annual median household income to rate housing affordability across 378 cities in nine countries, with a grade of 3.0 and below being affordable, 3.1 to 4.0 (moderately unaffordable), 4.1 to 5.0 (seriously unaffordable) and 5.1 and above (severely unaffordable).
In a statement, Demographia said this method of calculating housing affordability is widely used for evaluating urban markets, and is recommended by the World Bank and the United Nations.
Aside from Singapore, the report also tracked property markets in Australia, Canada, China (Hong Kong), Ireland, Japan, New Zealand, the UK and the US.
Singapore was surprisingly rated more favourably than some other markets traditionally seen as less pricey such as Australia (6.4) and New Zealand (8.2). With a rating of 17.0, housing affordability in Hong Kong has spiralled out of control.
Singapore has been far more successful in controlling housing affordability than in markets that have followed the British urban containment model, said the Demographia report.
Further, as is typical in urban containment markets, governments have failed to bring the housing cost escalation under control by liberalising land use regulations, it added.
Restrictions on foreign buyers were credited for shielding the city-state from skyrocketing prices seen as the result of globalisation of real estate markets.
For instance, foreigners have to pay an Additional Buyers Stamp Duty (ABSD) of 15 percent when purchasing a private residential unit.
Meanwhile, the Housing and Development Board (HDB) which is responsible for public housing was singled out for praise. Singapore has an overall 88 percent rate of homeownership, the highest of any country in the survey. Buyers are free to sell their own houses, without any further intervention by HDB, stated the report.
According to preliminary data from the housing board, prices of resale HDB flats fell 1.4 percent in Q4 2014 from the previous three-month period. As for private units, URA flash estimates revealed that in the last quarter of 2014, prices dropped by 1.0 percent, higher than the 0.7 percent decrease in the quarter before.
Data from both HDB and URA shows a price decline over the past five consecutive quarters.

Sinkies

Re: Singapore home prices seriously unaffordable, but better than other countries: re

Why Foreigners no need to pay ABSD when buying cars? These FT expats are also driving COE up.

gingerlyn

Re: Singapore home prices seriously unaffordable, but better than other countries: re

foreigners bring jobs to sinkies
i proposed to PAP to give foreigners free coe as they are encouraged to come here to bring more jobs to sinkies

quelone

foreigners bring jobs to sinkies
i proposed to PAP to give foreigners free coe as they are encouraged to come here to bring more jobs to sinkies

Why not since they are getting free screws from our SPGs already. Males do NS to keep the country safe so some of our patriotic females do NS to keep foreigners happy in our cuntry.

This international survey failed to see that our pigeon hole is a lease, not ownership. That fact tilts the affordability factor.

In other countries, your house is a move-in condition. Here, you still need to spent at least 10 percent more on renovation to make it liveable.

These international surveys don't know the fine details of sinkapore lah.

gingerlyn

This international survey failed to see that our pigeon hole is a lease, not ownership. That fact tilts the affordability factor.

In other countries, your house is a move-in condition. Here, you still need to spent at least 10 percent more on renovation to make it liveable.

very good point and I up you.

cass888

By your argument that leasehold is not ownership, Hong Kong's New Territories was not a UK colony. Any 1st year law student will tell you that a lease is as much ownership as a freehold.

Leasehold in Australia: https://www.justlanded.com/english/Australia/Australia-Guide/Property/Property-titles-in-Australia

Leasehold in Canada (where your beloved Winnipegjets play): http://www.century21.ca/aaron.moss/Blog/FREEHOLD_OR_LEASEHOLD_OWNERSHIP

By your argument that leasehold is not ownership, Hong Kong's New Territories was not a UK colony. Any 1st year law student will tell you that a lease is as much ownership as a freehold.

Leasehold in Australia: https://www.justlanded.com/english/Australia/Australia-Guide/Property/Property-titles-in-Australia

Leasehold in Canada (where your beloved Winnipegjets play): http://www.century21.ca/aaron.moss/Blog/FREEHOLD_OR_LEASEHOLD_OWNERSHIP

u are such a fucking retard. Was one or both of your parents afflicted with Downs Syndrome? he said Lease. Not Leasehold. there is a difference. look it up.

What the international survey also missed was the fact that one entity owns and controls 80% of the property and land in Singapore. Therefore, this entity is the market maker and the price setter. Any affordability study is useless. Because if they desire, they can drop the singapore property market 50% overnight. Or up it to double digit over night. All those other countries mentioned in the survey are actually free market economy property markets. Whereas Singapore is more like a monopoly, borderline communistic property market. Its like comparing apples and oranges.

MyFriends

My Friends always joke about the PAP using other countries misfortunes in comparison.

cass888

You are the one who is the retard.

A leasehold interest arises from a lease.

The lease can be, like condos, for the land and buildings. Or like HDB flats for the flat only. Or in some cases, just the land and you are required to demolish the building after the lease.

u are such a fucking retard. Was one or both of your parents afflicted with Downs Syndrome? he said Lease. Not Leasehold. there is a difference. look it up.

You are the one who is the retard.

A leasehold interest arises from a lease.

The lease can be, like condos, for the land and buildings. Or like HDB flats for the flat only. Or in some cases, just the land and you are required to demolish the building after the lease.

U have been exposed as a fucking stupid asshole once again, but I enjoy humiliating you more.

A lease is a long term rental. eg. you lease a car for 5 years. Or a HDB lease for 99 years.

A leasehold property is a property where the land on which the building sits does not belong to the property owner. He is just leasing the land, but the building that sits on this land is owned by the property owner, and this is otherwise known as the improvements. So, the property owner has some subtantial interest as the actual physical structure of the house/building is owned by him.

A freehold property is a property in which the land and the building are both owned by the property owner.

Is that too difficult for you to understand?

nowadays developers including HDB do not want to build affordable hoes as its not profitable enough. Everybody targets high end homes due to high margins.

cass888

You are a real retard who doesn't know what you are talking about. Any lease grants a leasehold interest even if it is for 1 month. Any leasehold interest of more than 7 years must be registered in Singapore (this period varies elsewhere). It does not matter whether the interest is in land, buildings or both.

It is possible for the holder in fee simple to own both land and buildings. He may own only the land. He may even grant multiple leasehold interests. There may be more than one leasehold interest in land.

E.g. holder of freehold grants 99 year leasehold on land to 1st lessee.
1st lessee builds a property on the land and grants a 7 year lease on one of the units to 2nd lessee. This lease must be registered.
2nd lessee grants a lease on the unit for 3 years to a third lessee.

All three lessees have a leasehold interest. Don't take my word for it. Consult a lawyer.

U have been exposed as a fucking stupid asshole once again, but I enjoy humiliating you more.

A lease is a long term rental. eg. you lease a car for 5 years. Or a HDB lease for 99 years.

A leasehold property is a property where the land on which the building sits does not belong to the property owner. He is just leasing the land, but the building that sits on this land is owned by the property owner, and this is otherwise known as the improvements. So, the property owner has some subtantial interest as the actual physical structure of the house/building is owned by him.

A freehold property is a property in which the land and the building are both owned by the property owner.

Is that too difficult for you to understand?