• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

It's Official: We Need FTs Because Sinkies Are Farked-Up!

Table Tennis in Singapore is flooded with foreign players from China who convert to Singapore citizenship to compete for Singapore and win medals.

10906396_747505958672898_2693128264782150192_n_0.jpg

While this has resulted in numerous medals won at various international tournaments, Singaporeans have repeatedly expressed their concerns about the fact that local talents are being cast aside.

There is a lack of support for the foreign born players that many Singaporeans feel have just been imported to win for us.

Despite the low support and obvious dissatisfaction, PAP MP for Nee Soon GRC, Ellen Lee, who just recently took over the position of President of the Singapore Table Tennis Association (STTA) from Fellow Nee Soon GRC member Lee Bee Wah, doesn’t have any plans to reduce the number of foreign born players.

In fact, in an interview with Straits Times, Ellen Lee even indicated that they need to continue importing foreign talent to win medals for Singapore in order to keep the sponsors happy.

She also indicated that Singaporeans simply aren’t good enough to win the medals in international competitions.

“For us, we cannot afford to lose… the bar is (already) there, and that is our minimal responsibility to our sponsors. We cannot let our sponsors down” she had said.

“For the time being, it’s necessary to tap on the foreign-born players. It’ll be a lie to say otherwise.”

It is clear that money talks and is still the priority in local sports. STTA is one of the most well-funded sports associations in Singapore but not all of the money is used to develop young and local talent.

In fact, last year at an STTA fundraiser, Former president Lee Bee Wah indicated that some of the money raised would go toward the retirement of former players, even if they have quit and gone back to China like Li Jiawei.

The new President, Ellen Lee is also in denial about the level of dissatisfaction with foreign players as she said that she feels it is just a handful of vocal people who are against Foreign born players.

She said, “The sentiments will always be there. It’s always the few more vocal ones that will evoke people’s angst.” She also said that these people are just “distractions”.

Since she is the new president of STTA and she had made it clear that they intend to keep bringing in the foreign players, it looks like there aren’t going to be any changes in the near future and dissenting voices will continue to be brushed aside.

What do you think?

http://therealsingapore.com/content...ers-win-medals-us-or-sponsors-will-be-unhappy

LEGEND

Ya we need more FT to take over what our 60.1% are doing now.

Take their jobs, bully their sons and fuck their daughters. After everything is done, being called a looser by people who can't even spell it correctly! :biggrin:

kingrant

How cum it's always table tennis, badminton and swimming?

esp table tennis. The third tier and below players in China are dying to exit the country to shine. Thats why Singapore is so desperate to welcome them. And when they become famous, they run back to China to advance their careers. Ditto badminton.

Why we never can attract talents in golf, tennis, and soccer?

LEGEND

Soccer got leh. What Duric or something angmoh. Kick until 40 plus yrs old still can be top scorer. Don't know what to say. :o

kingrant

Yea, but here in soccer, even that, Singapore soccer can never become Asia champion for a start.

Soccer got leh. What Duric or something angmoh. Kick until 40 plus yrs old still can be top scorer. Don't know what to say. :o

esp table tennis. The third tier and below players in China are dying to exit the country to shine. Thats why Singapore is so desperate to welcome them. And when they become famous, they run back to China to advance their careers. Ditto badminton.

We should bring in Tiger Woods. But I worry for our women!

master

Ya last time even got one arm angmoh. Lucky for the club he not playing goal keeper.

Satyr

Table Tennis in Singapore is flooded with foreign players from China who convert to Singapore citizenship to compete for Singapore and win medals.

10906396_747505958672898_2693128264782150192_n_0.jpg

While this has resulted in numerous medals won at various international tournaments, Singaporeans have repeatedly expressed their concerns about the fact that local talents are being cast aside.

There is a lack of support for the foreign born players that many Singaporeans feel have just been imported to win for us.

Despite the low support and obvious dissatisfaction, PAP MP for Nee Soon GRC, Ellen Lee, who just recently took over the position of President of the Singapore Table Tennis Association (STTA) from Fellow Nee Soon GRC member Lee Bee Wah, doesn’t have any plans to reduce the number of foreign born players.

In fact, in an interview with Straits Times, Ellen Lee even indicated that they need to continue importing foreign talent to win medals for Singapore in order to keep the sponsors happy.

She also indicated that Singaporeans simply aren’t good enough to win the medals in international competitions.

“For us, we cannot afford to lose… the bar is (already) there, and that is our minimal responsibility to our sponsors. We cannot let our sponsors down” she had said.

“For the time being, it’s necessary to tap on the foreign-born players. It’ll be a lie to say otherwise.”

It is clear that money talks and is still the priority in local sports. STTA is one of the most well-funded sports associations in Singapore but not all of the money is used to develop young and local talent.

In fact, last year at an STTA fundraiser, Former president Lee Bee Wah indicated that some of the money raised would go toward the retirement of former players, even if they have quit and gone back to China like Li Jiawei.

The new President, Ellen Lee is also in denial about the level of dissatisfaction with foreign players as she said that she feels it is just a handful of vocal people who are against Foreign born players.

She said, “The sentiments will always be there. It’s always the few more vocal ones that will evoke people’s angst.” She also said that these people are just “distractions”.

Since she is the new president of STTA and she had made it clear that they intend to keep bringing in the foreign players, it looks like there aren’t going to be any changes in the near future and dissenting voices will continue to be brushed aside.

What do you think?

http://therealsingapore.com/content...ers-win-medals-us-or-sponsors-will-be-unhappy

If the STTA is fully funded by sponsors I wouldn't care what they do. If the bulk of the money comes from taxpayers then we should have a say. I may not agree with Ellen Lee but I like her willingness to state her position openly and defend it. She is prepared to face criticism.