• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Singapore economy grows slower than expected as labour rules bite: PM

https://sg.finance.yahoo.com/news/singapore-economy-grows-slower-expected-093958143.html

Singapore's trade-sensitive economy grew at a slower-than-expected rate of 2.8 percent in 2014 as the city-state cut its reliance on foreign workers, Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong said Wednesday.
The slowing growth was attributed in particular to tougher rules on foreign workers stemming from citizens' complaints about overcrowding, a tighter job market and other impacts of immigration.
"Our economy has performed moderately well in 2014. Growth was 2.8 percent," Lee said in his New Year message released to the media.
In its last forecast in November, the government predicted growth of 3.0 percent for 2014.
"Our growth will be slower than we are used to," he continued.
"One reason for this is that we have been tightening polices, including on foreign workers, to get our economy onto a path of sustainable, productivity-driven growth."
The 62-year-old premier expressed concern over "disappointing" productivity growth.
In recent years, authorities have been phasing in measures to boost the productivity of Singaporeans while tightening the influx of foreign labour and the granting of permanent residency status.
Concerns over immigration made it a hot-button issue on the affluent but space-constricted island.
The discontent spilled into the 2011 general elections when Lee's People's Action Party garnered its lowest-ever vote count after more than 50 years in power, and analysts say it remains a key issue for the next election, which must be held before January 2017.
According to official statistics, over 29 percent of Singapore's population of 5.47 million is comprised of "non-residents" -- those working, studying or living in the country but not granted permanent residency.
In his message Wednesday, Lee also warned of global uncertainties, adding that events this year including air tragedies in Asia, the Ebola virus outbreak in West Africa, extremism in the Middle East and the Ukraine crisis were reminders that "stability, safety and security are precious".
"The road ahead appears daunting: intense competition and greater inequality because of globalisation and technological advances, security threats from extremist terrorism, new pandemics are just some of the challenges," he said.
Singapore, which became a sovereign state in 1965 after a brief union with Malaysia following the end of British colonial rule, celebrates its 50th year of independence in 2015.

What "mee siam mai hum" is saying...IT IS SINGAPOREANS FAULT......SO VOTE WISELY, STINKERPOREANS...!!

LEGEND

"The 62-year-old premier expressed concern over "disappointing" productivity growth.

This fucking Chao Ah Gua talking about productivity when his cabinet is full of Jiak Liao Bees?

Hey Pinky, Happy New Year and FUCK YOUR MOTHER PHUA CHEE BYE! :oIo:

why after pumping so much FT, they failed to lift up the productivity numbers. you mean the cheaper better and faster FTs dont work that well as on paper?

wow..

Poomer

My my, he has failed as a leader as he is unable to grow the economy without foreign labour.

Do the pappies even care about productivity? I thought the best way to grow the economy is to import a horde of low cost FTs, and increase the population to 7 or 10 million people? Then build plenty of malls, condos, flats and other miscellaneous stupid shit. :rolleyes:

if he sack the 3 DPM, 1 useless minister in PM office n his secretary, the number should jump by double digit. seriously he should not be saddened. he should be ashamed he is the most unproductive person around. its so infectious even his cook outsource nasi lemak to hawker centers.

Total bs excuse. An inept and morally bankrupt government indeed.

Even with higher growth, the benefit of growth didn't go to the majority of sinkees. PMETs have been replaced in thousands by foreigners.

Can we deport the 160k Pinoy PMETs so that those jobs go back to sinkees?

Total bs excuse. An inept and morally bankrupt government indeed.

Even with higher growth, the benefit of growth didn't go to the majority of sinkees. PMETs have been replaced in thousands by foreigners.

Can we deport the 160k Pinoy PMETs so that those jobs go back to sinkees?

If we did that, who would drive our taxis and be our security guards?

In any case, the Pinoys seem more hungry for the job. They were educated in less prestigious unis, didn't have tuition or attend elite schools like so many sinkies had. Yet, they could perform the same job for a much lower pay with no noticeable drop in productivity. Clearly the Pinoys are worth more in the eyes of any employer. If PAP sent them packing, PAP would lose the votes of most sinkie business owners big and small.

why after pumping so much FT, they failed to lift up the productivity numbers. you mean the cheaper better and faster FTs dont work that well as on paper?

wow..

the steriods arent working anymore,now we are stuck with a island of 2 million trashes......the 1.4 million cockroaches we have imported over the last 10 years are deadweight.it turns out foreign talents after u import them and they have been on this island for a while stop being "talents" and become deadwood.in order to make the gdp "grow",u have to import new "talents".

so basically for PAP to last another 10 years and give us more good years ahead,we would have to import another 1.4 million "talents", 1.4 million "talents" for every 10 good years ahead.

OOOOOOOOOOOOHHHHHHHHHHHHHH MYYYYYYY GODDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDD WILLLLLLLLLLL SOOOOOOOMMMMMMMMEEEEEEEBODDDDDDDYYY STOOOOOOOOOPPPPPP THHHHHISSSSSSSSSSS MADNNNNNNNNNNNESSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS???????????????

Poomer

In any case, the Pinoys seem more hungry for the job. They were educated in less prestigious unis, didn't have tuition or attend elite schools like so many sinkies had. Yet, they could perform the same job for a much lower pay with no noticeable drop in productivity. Clearly the Pinoys are worth more in the eyes of any employer. If PAP sent them packing, PAP would lose the votes of most sinkie business owners big and small.

The only reason that they are around is some employers think they can speak english, as opposed to the PRCs and Indians. PAP would win the elections by a landslide victory if all the employees vote PAP and employers vote against. Let's be honest here, Sinkie business owners are unlikely on the top of PAP's election courting list. Do I need to add that only 10-20% of businesses use filipino labour, so your logic fails miserably.

As you said, third world education, third world roots and responsibilities, it's no wonder they can lower their pay package so much. It's the PAP who invited them in, removing barriers of entry to force the local workforce to compete directly with third world countries. We have our roots here, they can move on from Singapore at any point of time, usually when a better offer comes along or when they earn enough $$$ to live like kings in their villages.

Let's be honest here, Sinkie business owners are unlikely on the top of PAP's election courting list. Do I need to add that only 10-20% of businesses use filipino labour, so your logic fails miserably.

On the contrary, Sinkie towkays are delighted by the PAP's pro-FT policy... lower labour costs means more money into their own pockets.

Anyhow, the pappies don't really court the small timers, it is those bigwig bosses whom they adore and rub shoulders with. They are also the ones who hire plenty of FTs... because they can. :wink:

ST_20130922_PSHENG22_3848356e_2x.jpg

nayr69sg

Staff member
quite a lot of Singaporeans hire foreigners to help them do housework, wash car, wash clothes, iron clothes, cook meals. Live in and at beck and call. Couple of hundred a month. Pro-FT as well?

JHolmesJr

I for one don't mind the trade off for less growth and more peace on this overcrowded island populated by cheap ass, low class foreigners who have no skills apart from agreeing to shockingly low salaries and living like rats….10 to a room.

cunnosieur

The thing is that FTs will remit back the money they earned in SG.

FTs are unlike SGs who spend what they earn in SG.

If econs and GDP is PAP's concern, then its either they failed econs 101, cos the FTs dont contribute to the consumption part.

That's why we should find ways to either increase the wages of SGs, so that we can spend more and spur the domestic consumption.

Or

Tax FTs or do a FTPF (CPF) for them)...raise the withdrawal limit to 65....If the FTs go back or die earlier, then SG will take the money.

Profits gentlemen. Profit margins more important, or productivity more important? So many more ways to improve profit margins.

congo9

Do the pappies even care about productivity? I thought the best way to grow the economy is to import a horde of low cost FTs, and increase the population to 7 or 10 million people? Then build plenty of malls, condos, flats and other miscellaneous stupid shit. :rolleyes:

That was the plan. But after the 2011 general election, they thought twice about it, but they still persisted with it simply because they have no other viable choice to grow the economy. Of course, your economy will grow by default if you keep importing people into your country. It a no brainer, consumption will increase automatically, including the rental costing.

But still they persist with such hollow Policy... story goes on and on.

winners

This fucking Chao Ah Gua talking about productivity when his cabinet is full of Jiak Liao Bees?
This I do agree as some of his ministers as well as those in the civil service (especially in LTA and NEA) are totally useless if not redundant.

No need security guards when there are no foreigners. No need so many taxis when MRT and buses are not crowded. Sinkee PMET can reclaim their jobs and spend the money to boost our economy.

They perform? You dunno Pinoy lah. How many votes from business owners?
Deport 160k pinoy PMET. Until that happens, please show them the Ah Beng hospitality.