• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Of Niches and Seng Kang West

soIsee

Re: Funeral Parlour in Sengkang West? HDB Please Come Clean!

church of the holy trinity in tampines has a columbarium in the basement. the church is surrounded by hdb blocks for decades, and there are no complaints. my aunt's ashes are interned in there.

View attachment 18816

I thought you should have brought up a more important point than to parrot what I have said.

Unlike GMS, he would just pick a controversial issue and as they say 'play to the gallery' but insidiously try to slip in what I would also be questioning, you should have been more 'alert' as to the issue at hand.

A private columbarium is actually a revenue generating instrument.
Now the question begs as to who and why the permission was granted to this org to build it for such a use besides their use for religious purpose?

The questions are , is there a influential person or persons who are connected to the authority or in simple words 'a crony' who has the same religious/business interest as those who run that org? Are there persons in that org that are so 'connected' in some way to the ruling authority? Link through business shares or what's not?

In simple words, in granting such a permit was there anyone who had a hand with approval having a conflict in interest?
You can already have ppl who pervert the course of justice like Mr plastic surgeon who was given a slap on his wrist and ppl questioning are people in the law society , medical councils etc having 'independent members' who look into complains and go on to address them fairly. And Kargarooism and what's not.

The place is going to the dogs, I tell you and the festering rot only will finally show when the structure collapse.

in sg's circumstance, it's inevitable that columbaria be set up near residential hubs considering the lack of burial and cemetery space on the island. majority of sinkies (of tiong ancestry) wish their deceased forebears are buried in caskets based on religious and traditional customs and beliefs. the minority muslim community will remain to be treated specially well as no compromises will be made to exhume, cremate, or re-bury. the minority indian and hindu communities (indians not necessarily hindus) are the most flexible as cremation and disposal of ashes are commonplace. buddhists are also flexible with cremation and the use of columbarium to store ashes. the sizable christian community (catholics and protestants included) have mixed reactions to cremation and storage or disposal of ashes depending on families and individuals. but at chua chu kang, christians get the short end of the burial stick. nonetheless, churches are helping the situation by encouraging parishioners to cremate and intern ashes of their loved ones in private columbaria within church compounds. this alleviate the real estate crush at burial grounds in chua chu kang.

what the gov has done in sg is right and respectful to all religions, minorities and beliefs. for the majority of burial needs at chua chu kang, chinese families are allowed to bury their loved ones, but for a limited period of time adequate enough to satisfy and sympathize with their bereavement duration. in land-scarce sg, plots of burial cannot be secured perpetually unless they are national shrines for heroic, historic, and extremely important personages. if the knuckleduster man kicks the proverbial bucket, he deserves not just a shrine but a massive mausoleum. :p it is therefore necessary to migrate the dead to hdb estates where transportation, eateries, and shopping are all within convenient commute range. the dead too need to eat, shit, and die again. :biggrin:

church of the holy trinity in tampines has a columbarium in the basement. the church is surrounded by hdb blocks for decades, and there are no complaints. my aunt's ashes are interned in there.

My dad's ashes were scattered inside his favorite shopping centre. We undertook the process very discreetly. :smile:

indoor plants, and the inherent eco-system in which they survive in, in exquisite shopping malls are well taken care of. :wink:

Future residents of Fernvale Lea BTO start petition against columbarium plan

http://sgfuck.org/mybb/images/mobile/posted_0.gif Post: #1
<!-- end: postbit_posturl -->
just2share <!-- start: postbit_offline --> http://sgfuck.org/mybb/images/buddy_offline.gif <!-- end: postbit_offline -->
Elite Member
<!-- start: postbit_avatar --> http://sgfuck.org/mybb/uploads/avatars/avatar_3690.jpg?dateline=1412299715 <!-- end: postbit_avatar -->
<!-- start: postbit_author_user --> Posts: 2,587 <!-- start: postbit_reputation -->
Reputation: 17 <!-- end: postbit_reputation --> <!-- end: postbit_author_user -->
image%283%29.jpg

image%281%29_0.jpg

image_7.jpg

Current and future residents in Sengkang West are upset over a new columbarium that will come out in the area in 2016.

It will be integrated with a Chinese temple and the proposed site is right next to an upcoming Build-To- Order residential area, Fernvale Lea, which will have residents moving in early next year.

Stomper Jan is one of those who will be moving into the estate in November 2016.

However, these residents were apparently unaware that the site would include a columbarium.

They said that that the development booklet of the area they were issued with showed the site was reserved for a Chinese temple (see Photo #3 in gallery).

Jan told Stomp that residents have come together to sign a petition titled, "Say no to a columbarium next to our future home!"

The petition asked for the columbarium to be built somewhere else with a lower density of residents and not in a new estate targeted at young families.

To date, it has garnered 539 signatures.

http://singaporeseen.stomp.com.sg/s...ngkang-west-start-petition-against#xtor=CS2-4

leehsienloongpointingfingers_zpsefb36004.jpg

Not happy ah? Vote me out lah! *chey*

<tbody>
</tbody>

<tbody>
</tbody>

Did hdb and ura hide facts about columbarium from residents?

[h=1]DID HDB AND URA HIDE FACTS ABOUT COLUMBARIUM FROM RESIDENTS?[/h]
<!-- /.block --> <style>.node-article .field-name-link-line-above-tags{float: right;}.node-article .field-name-ad-box-in-article {float: left;margin: 15px 15px 10px 0;}.node-article .field-tags{clear: both;}</style> Post date:
1 Jan 2015 - 12:17pm

<ins id="aswift_0_expand" style="margin: 0px; padding: 0px; border: currentColor; width: 336px; height: 280px; display: inline-table; visibility: visible; position: relative; background-color: transparent; border-image: none;"><ins id="aswift_0_anchor" style="margin: 0px; padding: 0px; border: currentColor; width: 336px; height: 280px; display: block; visibility: visible; position: relative; background-color: transparent; border-image: none;"><iframe name="aswift_0" width="336" height="280" id="aswift_0" frameBorder="0" marginWidth="0" marginHeight="0" scrolling="no" vspace="0" hspace="0" allowfullscreen="true" style="left: 0px; top: 0px; position: absolute;" allowTransparency="true"></iframe></ins></ins>

Did HDB AND URA hide facts about columbarium from residents?

Following the uproar over the proposal to build a columbarium in the middle of a residential estate and next to the Fernvale Lea BTO, the MP for the area, Lam Pin Min wrote a lengthy post claiming that there many "erroneous and misleading articles" circulating around.

He even took the trouble to find a "nice" photo to showcase the proposed temple and columbarium - no doubt to persuade residents to his point of view.
https://m.facebook.com/LamPinMin/photos/a.873340626029248.1073741825.174943379202313/963154360381207/?type=1

---------------------------------
A resident however has posted a pointed rebuttal to Lam Pin Min:

To Lam Pin Min:
You said:
"This plot of land has been designated as a reserve site for a Chinese Temple in the URA Masterplan and has been reflected on the brochure for the Fernvale Lea BTO development.
It has also been indicated in the brochure that the proposed facility may include other ancillary uses, including Columbarium allowed under URA’s prevailing Development Control."
--- FYI, it did not state on the brochure "the proposed facility may include other ancillary uses, including Columbarium allowed under URA’s prevailing Development Control"
It stated Proposed Civic & Community institution ONLY,
based on URA website, if you search under this URL
https://www.ura.gov.sg/…/t…/dchbnr/placeofworship-dchbnr.pdf

--- Point 4; there isn't any word mentioned regarding "Columbarium"

<ins id="aswift_1_expand" style="margin: 0px; padding: 0px; border: currentColor; width: 336px; height: 280px; display: inline-table; visibility: visible; position: relative; background-color: transparent; border-image: none;"><ins id="aswift_1_anchor" style="margin: 0px; padding: 0px; border: currentColor; width: 336px; height: 280px; display: block; visibility: visible; position: relative; background-color: transparent; border-image: none;"><iframe name="aswift_1" width="336" height="280" id="aswift_1" frameBorder="0" marginWidth="0" marginHeight="0" scrolling="no" vspace="0" hspace="0" allowfullscreen="true" style="left: 0px; top: 0px; position: absolute;" allowTransparency="true"></iframe></ins></ins>

PLACE OF WORSHIP & INSTITUTIONAL DEVELOPMENTS: OVERVIEW - 1
Three main types of developments will be discussed in this section. They are:
(a) Place of Worship
These include temples, churches and mosques.
(b) Civic & Community Institutions
These include
buildings like police stations, community clubs / centres, homes for the
aged, associations, libraries and museums.
(c) Educational Institutions

These include primary/secondary schools, junior colleges, universities, polytechnics,
foreign and special education schools (e.g. school for the disabled).
And if HDB knew that the masterplan for "Columbarium" is going to be build over at Project Fernvale Lea, why they can't be more truthful to state "Temple" & "Columbarium"?
Why are they trying to hide with all the misleading information?

The Alternative View
*Article first appeared on https://www.facebook.com/358759327518739/photos/a.598097686918234.107374...

Re: Future residents of Fernvale Lea BTO start petition against columbarium plan

If they claim that they are unaware of the proposed structures (whatever they call it) they will be on thin ice.
As Goh Meng Seng says in his blog, the intentions WERE stated in the sales materials - it's just that they were in
the smallest of fine print. The petitioners will easily lose the battle.

Look at the way the Shitty Times reported the matter - the KEY ISSUE is that there were plans to incorporate these
likely unhappy features into the estate and they conveniently stated in very general terms, in very small print in
some insignificant part of the brochure.

garlic

Re: Future residents of Fernvale Lea BTO start petition against columbarium plan

If petitions got use in SG, pigs can fly..

i wanna petition it to remain in sengkang.

Did HDB AND URA hide facts about columbarium from residents?

Following the uproar over the proposal to build a columbarium in the middle of a residential estate and next to the Fernvale Lea BTO, the MP for the area, Lam Pin Min wrote a lengthy post claiming that there many "erroneous and misleading articles" circulating around.

He even took the trouble to find a "nice" photo to showcase the proposed temple and columbarium - no doubt to persuade residents to his point of view.
https://m.facebook.com/LamPinMin/ph...41825.174943379202313/963154360381207/?type=1

---------------------------------
A resident however has posted a pointed rebuttal to Lam Pin Min:

To Lam Pin Min:
You said:
"This plot of land has been designated as a reserve site for a Chinese Temple in the URA Masterplan and has been reflected on the brochure for the Fernvale Lea BTO development.
It has also been indicated in the brochure that the proposed facility may include other ancillary uses, including Columbarium allowed under URA’s prevailing Development Control."
--- FYI, it did not state on the brochure "the proposed facility may include other ancillary uses, including Columbarium allowed under URA’s prevailing Development Control"
It stated Proposed Civic & Community institution ONLY,
based on URA website, if you search under this URL
https://www.ura.gov.sg/…/t…/dchbnr/placeofworship-dchbnr.pdf

--- Point 4; there isn't any word mentioned regarding "Columbarium"

collo whatever is a Civic & Community institution.... there's nothing uncivil about it. keep it in sengkang... otherwise it will go to my estate.

sochi2014

I am not afraid of burning carcasses.

Please bring them to my estate!!

batman1

They come in with their eyes open.
Even if they are hoodwinked by HDB,HDB will say it's their fault.
SO Lan Lan they just have to accept what they are offered.
It's their mistake,no second chance,if they not happy,they can go buy private condos to stay.

winners

Only selfish and self-centered Sinkies will behave in this manner and protest. I don't understand why there's a need for such a fuss on a columbarium. It's not even a crematorium nor funeral parlor. At the end of the day, it'll just be a waste of time.

These Sinkies only care for their own advantage and benefit. They deserve to be disappointed by the HDB/URA. Furthermore, I'm very sure they'll react in the same manner if it's an Old Folks Home being built there instead. I'm sure the PAP is not afraid of losing those votes from these Sinkies anyway.

zeebjii

Similarly, what if it's the other way round? That is, the HDB decides to build a mall with all the bells and whistle and to top it off, LTA will also build an MRT station nearby. So, do you think those HDB dwellers living next to these better amenities will thank the HDB?

Absolutely correct! The plot of land beside my flat was originally planned for "entertainment complex". Now a EC is in its place. Not a soul complained!

These motherfuckers never try building the columbarium along Sentosa Cove? Only dare to offend the poor sinkies who buy such shit location.

Sinkies have no right or reason to complain since Singapore is the highest first world developed country in the world with percentage of religious people.nearly 70 percent of daft and stupid sinkies believe in one religion or another compared to countries like japan or hong kong where only 20 to 30 percent of folks believe in a religion.

LKY should have done the right thing years ago and followed in China's footsteps in suppressing religion instead of allowing freedom of expression and practise of all religions.with such high levels of stupidity,its not hard to find clashes between stupid sinkies of different religious sects the christians and the buddhism/taoists sects.

To complain about a colombarium is a hypocrite,if u are a religious person and truly accept the premise of religion as a whole u should have no objections against a religious site being placed near your home.otherwise ur a hypocritical pinoy.

heres a song about hypocrite pinoys who believe in god.

[video=youtube;lD9KCq93Jbg]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lD9KCq93Jbg[/video]

Goh Meng Seng

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]

Sometimes I really wonder how ignorant people can be.

I have already said, if there is a FULL DISCLOSURE in a transparent and open manner, and people still buy it, then no problem lor. But this is NOT the case. HDB tries to hide material information under ULTRA fine prints, then that is unethical and despicable. Simple as that.

Chinese Temple or Church with columbarium is one thing, as it is a religious entity providing service to their people. However, this is a BUSINESS entity, not a registered religious organization in Singapore. Do you mean that anybody can just suddenly turn into a priest, monk or religious teacher over night as long as he or she has money to buy a land to build a temple and do business?

Goh Meng Seng

Nobody is forcing you to buy in favourable or not favourable( according to you) HDB.

If you not happy with the 'kinds of facilites' that sprout out with your residential location, you can choose to move out.

Columbariums in temple are nothing new. There is a temple off Bedok that also have a columbarium within. And this temple is located in LANDED FREEHOLD PROPERTY AREA( which I
am sure you will never afford in your lifetime) and there is no sign of property price being affected at all.
If you are so adverse to buying already discounted HDB pigeon holes in such locality and still make helluva lot of noise about such issue, you can always relocated to JB or..

Batam. LoL

Only selfish and self-centered Sinkies will behave in this manner and protest. I don't understand why there's a need for such a fuss on a columbarium. It's not even a crematorium nor funeral parlor. At the end of the day, it'll just be a waste of time.

These Sinkies only care for their own advantage and benefit. They deserve to be disappointed by the HDB/URA. Furthermore, I'm very sure they'll react in the same manner if it's an Old Folks Home being built there instead. I'm sure the PAP is not afraid of losing those votes from these Sinkies anyway.

Such sinkies will vote for PAP anyway. Their loyalties are easily bought, and they don't buy any of the morality crap the opposition likes to preach about, especially the lousy SDP party. These guys will still remain PAP strong supporters.