• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Abject State of SG Elderly. Another Bit the Dust...

NP_20141218_LHCATS2_708198.jpg

FILTHY: A neighbour, who wanted to be known only as Mr Yap, alerted the police after he did not see the man for a week. TNP PHOTO: GAVIN FOO

<cite>Quote:</cite>By: LINETTE HENG

About a month after a hoarder died in his Toa Payoh flat, his neighbours still have to put up with the stench which they have endured for more than 10 years.

Because the mess in his flat cannot be cleaned up until his next-of-kin can be located.

The dead man, who was in his 50s, lived alone and mostly kept to himself. Seven cats were also found in the messy unit.

Neighbours complained that apart from the stench, pests like cockroaches and flies constantly hover near the flat.

Madam Siti Hasan, 32, a housewife who lives next door, keeps her door and windows shut at all times.

She said: "Our family is suffering. My kids have sensitive nose problems because the air-con has to be turned on very often."

Read the full report in our print edition on Dec 18.
- See more at: http://www.tnp.sg/news/month-after-hoarders-death-neighbours-still-get-stench#sthash.gZWVu0AU.dpuf

sochi2014

Singaporeans need to learn how to throw or give away unused or unwanted things. Hoarding creates pollution and reduce your lifespan.

Oh being alone could also be the reason for your early death.

What have the FAP MPs been doing for the last 10 years? Yet another $million FAP Traitor ministers and MPees chor boh lan in the absence of media attention! Here are the FAP MPees of Bishan-TP GRC:

Members

Mr Hri Kumar
Nair

Dr Ng Eng
Hen

Mrs Josephine
Teo

<tbody>
</tbody>

<tbody>
</tbody>

MY_20141219_TNPCAT19_P1_915544.jpg

WHAT A MESS:

This flat in Kim Keat Avenue cannot be cleaned up until the owner's next-of-kin are found. The man's body was discovered in the unit on Nov 18. Also found in the flat were several cats. PHOTOS: THE NEW PAPER

MY_20141219_TNPCAT19_P2_915543.jpg

LEFT BEHIND: A malnourished cat left in the flat. It could not be rescued as it didn't want to leave.

1 / 2PreviousNext
<section class="block block-block grid-6 alpha razortv-widget block-14 block-block-14 odd" id="block-block-14">Video

Advertisement

</section>

Published on Dec 19, 2014
Suffering from the stench for over 10 years

LINETTE HENG

RESIDENTS living on the third storey of a Toa Payoh block thought things would get better after their hoarder neighbour died last month.

But the stench from his flat, which they have put up with for more than 10 years, has remained.

This is because the mess in his flat cannot be cleaned up until his next-of-kin are located.
The dead man, who was in his 50s, lived alone and mostly kept to himself. He was known to neighbours as Din.
A concerned neighbour called the police after noticing that the man had not been seen for a week.
Neighbours said that the dead man, who used to work as a postman, was often seen sleeping at the void deck of the block.
They added that he had lived alone after his mother died more than 10 years ago.
His decomposing body was discovered in his squalid three-room flat at Block 195, Kim Keat Avenue, on Nov 18. Also found in the flat were several cats.
When The New Paper went there last week, there was a new lock on the gate of the flat, but the door was ajar.
Nearly a month after the man's death, the stench remains. Cockroaches and flies can be constantly seen around the flat.
Housewife Sarah Osnay, 56, who lives four units away , said that she uses up to four cans of insecticide a month, spraying the corridor outside her flat every day.
She said: "It's much worse at night, because the wind blows the smell in the direction of our flat.
"(At night), the cockroaches come out of the flat and the cleaner would have to sweep them away the next morning. Sometimes, my husband would wake up in the middle of the night to spray insecticide."
Another housewife, Siti Hasan, 32, who lives next to the unit, keeps her door and windows shut at all times.
The mother of two children, aged five and seven, is distressed by the pests.
She said: "We've been putting up with the smell for eight years since we moved in, but the smell gets worse every day.
"Our family is suffering. My kids have sensitive nose problems because the air-conditioner has to be turned on very often."
Last Wednesday, three volunteers from the Cat Welfare Society (CWS) were the first people to enter the flat since the body was removed last month.
They had received an e-mail from a neighbour alerting them about the cats in the unit on Monday.
One of the CWS volunteers, Elaine Yap, 33, said that they spent a harrowing two hours rescuing seven cats in the flat.
The volunteers had to clear bags of trash before they could even enter the unit.
Ms Yap said: "We brought masks and gloves, and tied plastic bags around our shoes.
"We had to step outside to take a break several times because of the smell. We felt nauseous and had headaches."
CWS is taking care of the cats, which were malnourished and had sores on their bodies.
When contacted, a Bishan-Toa Payoh Town Council spokesman said: "Tenancy matters come under the purview of the Housing Board. The town council manages the common areas of the estate."
THE NEW PAPER

If the authorities cannot find the next-of-kin of any Singaporean citizen, by default the next-of-kin should be LHL. :wink:

ha ha ha ha good one, I thought the PAP supporters often say that , Opposition's wards are like slum....if this flat not a only a slum, it is rubbish dump...just like the supporters.... ha ha ha ha :biggrin:

shittypore

You just frighten the shit out of Pinky, if they pass a bill on this he will step down immediately and take the first flight out leaving his old man behind.

leehsienloongpointingfingers_zpsefb36004.jpg

You Stinkee better watch your word. It is Woody and not me who said the gahmen is like a parent hor! *chey*

Singaporeans need to learn how to throw or give away unused or unwanted things. Hoarding creates pollution and reduce your lifespan.

caN always start at the top to lead example... like some old dead wood .... really old, about 90 i think.

soIsee

You are wrong. Sinkie need to open up and be less selfish and help their fellow beings. Especially knowing one that needs help.

You Sinkie are a exact carbon copy of your Pappy rulers and that is why you deserve to suffer the fate that awaits you and your Pappy rulers.

Cos both are just as 'fucked up' in their own fucked up way of living their materialistic lives.

this has nothing to do with the pap for the decrepit mental state of a hoarder. hoarders would still exist and stink up the neighborhood when oppos are in charge. :rolleyes: