• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Population Madness: Liu Thai Ker's 10 million

DR LIU THAI KER’S VIEW ON POPULATION GROWTH
Forget seven million. Think ten million people, if you want this city-state to succeed. That’s the bold suggestion of Dr Liu Thai Ker, often credited as the architect of modern Singapore.

http://sg.thepeakmagazine.com/2014/10/feature-liu-thai-ker-2/

1) This is exactly the money-centric and myopic PAP definition of 'success'.

2) This old architect probably wouldn't be alive to witness and enjoy the 'success' once Singapore hits 10 million population. :rolleyes:

Currently senior director of RSP Architects & Engineers as well as the founding chairman of the Centre for Liveable Cities, Dr Liu, 76, has some ideas although he declines to be drawn into a discussion of what the city will look like when it hits the magic 10-million mark – it would be too “irresponsible”, he says.

Indeed... as irresponsible as your PAP masters in their urban planning. :wink:

Ultimately, for Singapore to remain sovereign, it must plan for the long haul. The 10-million figure is just a start. “If we plan for anything less than that, I just feel that we will be sorry.

If you're struggling and using drastic measures to stay sovereign, perhaps sovereignty isn't a great thing after all. It's like clinging onto life on your deathbed while plugged into a life support machine. Perhaps it is time to let go. Think about it.

Currently senior director of RSP Architects & Engineers as well as the founding chairman of the Centre for Liveable Cities, Dr Liu, 76, has some ideas although he declines to be drawn into a discussion of what the city will look like when it hits the magic 10-million mark – it would be too “irresponsible”, he says.
tis burger is dam irresponsible! ... n he dun even noe watz being irresponsible means ...

he tels u dat u muz haf 10-million population ... but he dun want 2 tel u how livable sinkielan wil b wif 10 million population ...

juz like he tels u 2 go 2 hell ... but declines 2 tel u wat hell is ...

belnibone

This person is dead serious about the 10M population and talking about it also serves to immunise us to the initial target of 6.9 M which is slowly being accepted by virtue of the lessened objections online. Soon someone else will be talking 12M.

If jobs are available to locals and consumer prices including are kept affordable and if the infrastructure can handle the increase then it could be okay but can those conditions be met otherwise there will be lots of anger even before 6.9M.

Wrong, wrong, wrong. It is never okay. I don't care how godly your infrastructure is: you just don't have enough land and the number of people per square km of land is currently number one in the world for a sovereign country. Just stop.

blissquek

This person is dead serious about the 10M population and talking about it also serves to immunise us to the initial target of 6.9 M which is slowly being accepted by virtue of the lessened objections online. Soon someone else will be talking 12M.

Yes you used the right word.....immunise....

This will make PM LHL look like a saint with the 6.9 million figure...
It is going to be more crammed and make people scramble for houses again.

Is this their agenda..????

This guy is in his 70's & I think out of touch.

Although he had a hand in planning & building HDBs in the past. It's pretty obvious that he doesn't live in the HDB heartlands.
Just another example of the divide that exists between the elites & "lesser mortals" in Spore.

xingguy

This thread shows all the more reason that we must vote the PAP out in the coming GE.

PAP have shown its true color.
There was not a squeak of the 6.9 million population mentioned during the GE-2011.

With the disproportionate parliamentary representation of 40% opposition votes translated to 11% opposition parliamentary seats, the 6.9 million population was bulldozed through parliament.
The scums in white in their ivory towers would not see how devastating the damage it has done.

Now, this 10 million population madness could become a reality if we don't vote wisely this coming GE.

Equalisation

This guy is in his 70's & I think out of touch.

Although he had a hand in planning & building HDBs in the past. It's pretty obvious that he doesn't live in the HDB heartlands.
Just another example of the divide that exists between the elites & "lesser mortals" in Spore.

More new citizenships given equals new PAPPY votes. Period.:o

PAP might be giving away citizenships but how many new citizens will actually vote for the PAP:confused:

If they are only using Spore as a stepping stone then I think they could care less about the elections.

numero uno

This guy married Kishore's ex-wife.

Heard this crap did some hanky panky with a diplomat's wife who was an ang moh when she was still married to diplomat and there was a complaint from this diplomat to old man. that's why he was asked to step down form all garmen pposition and URA. Old man would not tolerate such nonsense. this guy now with albert H architect gp and has vested interests in pushing for 10 miilion so more contracts and work for him in building condos. blardy selfish snake and @sshole. close ties with property bigwigs. all his "advice " is crap and tainted by vested interests .

he was thinking of the 10x10-foot hk model of extremely high density housing.

image.jpg

Heard this crap did some hanky panky with a diplomat's wife who was an ang moh when she was still married to diplomat and there was a complaint from this diplomat to old man. that's why he was asked to step down form all garmen pposition and URA. Old man would not tolerate such nonsense. this guy now with albert H architect gp and has vested interests in pushing for 10 miilion so more contracts and work for him in building condos. blardy selfish snake and @sshole. close ties with property bigwigs. all his "advice " is crap and tainted by vested interests .

He looks a bit ang moh. Interesting thing is both his wives are ang moh. Seems like he likes ang mohs a lot.

SgGoneWrong

Sorry to say this but you sound like a typical gong sinkie that pap knows can con with ample assurance.