• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

LED Lights for the home

I was using those circular fluorecent lights & when one of them failed I took the opportunity to replace it with LED unit. The hardest part of the installation was to remove the old transformer, ballast, tube holder fixture,...
The units I installed looks something like this http://www.alibaba.com/product-detail/Gear-shape-12W-magnet-retrofit-5730_1938036294.html

Curious to know if anyone has tried this type of LED light :confused: How long have you had the lights & if the brightness remains constant, or does the light dim over time?

led is suitable for torchlight technology because of its low energy consumption and high light output.the unique properties of led means that nearly 99% of the energy consumed is converted into light and less than 1% waste heat.compare to traditional tungsten or incandescent light bulbs where the light is a byproduct of extreme heat generated thru the filament.

u can get led torchlights the size of ur palm that generates 1000 to 3000 lumens,more powerful than car headlamps than runs on car batteries.

I have the LED light installed in my kitchen. It is as bright as my previous fluorescent energy saving light. The biggest disadvantage with those fluorescent lamps is that they become dimmer over time.

It's a new installation so it is now running great but I worry about the longevity of the chinese product.

well i dunno about dimming,they should last perfectly fine until the end of their lifespan.but since they claim that led lights last for 10,000 hours which is a long long time,i have yet to see one burnt out on me yet.

but since it is tiong made,expect it to pop before the expiry date.

I have the LED light installed in my kitchen. It is as bright as my previous fluorescent energy saving light. The biggest disadvantage with those fluorescent lamps is that they become dimmer over time.

It's a new installation so it is now running great but I worry about the longevity of the chinese product.

http://optics.org/news/5/11/2

tiongland led lights flood the market till margin so thin that Samsung call quit. I brought led lighting last nov @ $39 each, now sama sama products selling for $12-15 only. knn, $39 that time already discounted price as most selling at $60 and above at that time.

according to employees of a lighting company that make light fixtures for corporate customers that operate beside my office, led wont reduce brightness. they say don't be con by high price led sellers as most of the world led factories are in tiongland.

http://optics.org/news/5/11/2

tiongland led lights flood the market till margin so thin that Samsung call quit. I brought led lighting last nov @ $39 each, now sama sama products selling for $12-15 only. knn, $39 that time already discounted price as most selling at $60 and above at that time.

according to employees of a lighting company that make light fixtures for corporate customers that operate beside my office, led wont reduce brightness. they say don't be con by high price led sellers as most of the world led factories are in tiongland.

Read somewhere that there are quality differences in the products like those LED lights produced by OSRAM vs all the other tiong brands. It's hard to know fact from propaganda so I'm trying to find out from users their experience.

With the advantages of LED lights I was wondering why so few shops in Spore are selling them? You have to really look for shops selling LED stuff. I did find a store that specialises in LED lighting & they were very busy. However they only provide a 1 month warranty on their products.

If anyone out there wants to get Samsung branded tube LED lights. Like those long tube fluroscent lights you can find them at Mustaffa. They are being sold at clearance prices:smile:

Read somewhere that there are quality differences in the products like those LED lights produced by OSRAM vs all the other tiong brands. It's hard to know fact from propaganda so I'm trying to find out from users their experience.

With the advantages of LED lights I was wondering why so few shops in Spore are selling them? You have to really look for shops selling LED stuff. I did find a store that specialises in LED lighting & they were very busy. However they only provide a 1 month warranty on their products.

my guess is Led light last for so long they have a low turnover rate,since Singapore is a profit maximising country,the retailers tend to push wares that are good for business.

few meh? my neighbourhood lighting shop sell led light leh. there also showrooms for led lights at those industrial building, especially those that sell toilet hardware, fans, kitchen fixtures etc etc to ppl who renov their home. Ubi has a number of such showrooms/stores.

I brought 2 extra led lights in case any of the ten I fix to the false ceiling blow.

few meh? my neighbourhood lighting shop sell led light leh. there also showrooms for led lights at those industrial building, especially those that sell toilet hardware, fans, kitchen fixtures etc etc to ppl who renov their home. Ubi has a number of such showrooms/stores.

I brought 2 extra led lights in case any of the ten I fix to the false ceiling blow.

How many people go to those ulu industrial buildings unless they know what they are looking for:smile:

Those neighbourhood shops might sell bulbs but their range is very limited unlike those specialty stores & I don't mean those light stores at Balestier Rd or Serangoon Rd

The place I find the is easiest to reach is a company named
LED Eco Lighting with branches :

Blk 302 Ubi Ave 1 #01-25
Blk 729 Ang Mo Kio 6 #01-4280( almost next to Courts & the Library)
Blk 8 Eunos Crescent #01-2681

There are places in 11 Woodlands Close & 48 Hillview Terrace but they are in industrial buildings.

I bought these to replace all my energy saving and old incandescent bulbs.

BULPAN121240__1.jpg

terry1965

i bought and installed LED lights in my house, and so far so good no problems, after measurements with my meter, I found that I could save about 2 Dollars per light per month, if i switch on for 5 hours per night. Now testing, they are cheap, sim lim selling at 20 dollars, I bought for only 6 dollars. So now it is brighter and cooler, and my daughter complains too bright.
The flourescent tube I installed a few year ago now having problems, not bright all connectors turn brittle already.

terry1965

i bought and installed LED lights in my house, and so far so good no problems, after measurements with my meter, I found that I could save about 2 Dollars per light per month, if i switch on for 5 hours per night. Now testing, they are cheap, sim lim selling at 20 dollars, I bought for only 6 dollars. So now it is brighter and cooler, and my daughter complains too bright.
The flourescent tube I installed a few year ago now having problems, not bright all connectors turn brittle already.

IMG_2280.jpgIMG_2280.jpg

I was using those circular fluorecent lights & when one of them failed I took the opportunity to replace it with LED unit. The hardest part of the installation was to remove the old transformer, ballast, tube holder fixture,...
The units I installed looks something like this http://www.alibaba.com/product-detail/Gear-shape-12W-magnet-retrofit-5730_1938036294.html

Curious to know if anyone has tried this type of LED light :confused: How long have you had the lights & if the brightness remains constant, or does the light dim over time?

bro.............got British scientists say LED lights will cause permanent damage to eyes leh............

That is a good price. Does it include the power thingee & LED ring:confused:

I am going to buy a spare in case of problems with my unit. Where did you get it for $6:confused:

lifeafter41

Have been to shops that put on the LED lights, always finds it is not bright enough, unlike those filaments or fluorescent lights.
It always gave me the impression that the place is dark...... or does my eye sight got problem.