• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Very serious Warning - Do not show this sign in Thailand!!!

o-HUNGER-GAMES-570.jpg

AP910073215808-638x368.jpg

images

‘Hunger Games’ three-finger salute adopted by Thai protesters

Protesters in Thailand have been seen adopting the 3-fingered salute from the film “Hunger Games” as a mark of silent defiance against the military government. Thai officials are reportedly considering arresting citizens who make the three-finger salute.

Photos of Thai protesters raising three fingers in protesters have taken social media by storm under the hashtag #ThaiCoup. One activist tweeted a photo of himself making the salute, claiming to be inspired by the Hollywood film.

The movie is based on the novel of the same name by Suzanne Collins which is set in a dystopian future where adolescents are forced to fight to the death in yearly “Hunger Games” to entertain the population of the fictional state of Panam. The three-finger gesture is used in the film as a show of defiance against Panam’s authoritarian rulers.

However, there is some divergence in the meaning of the salute in Thailand. Thai newspaper the Bangkok post writes that the three fingers stand for the slogan of the French Revolution – liberty, equality and brotherhood.

Either way, the gesture is quickly becoming adopted as a symbol of silent protest against the military leaders who took control of Thailand in a coup on May 22, banning protests and instituting martial law.

Defying the ban, thousands of people took to the streets over the weekend, calling for democratic elections. Many of the protesters made the three-fingered salute and one woman was detained for making the gesture at police, the Bangkok Post reported.

Army deputy spokesman Colonel Winthai Suwaree, for the military’s National Council for Peace and Order (NCPO), says the junta is currently looking into whether it should classify the gesture as a sign of protest and therefore a criminal offense under the ban.

“[The NCPO] must look at their intention, what they want to communicate and surrounding circumstances,” Winthai said.

The unrest in Thailand has been going on for the last several months and began with mass protests calling for the resignation of former Prime Minister Yingluck Shinawatra. She has since been detained by the junta and remains in custody along with hundreds of political activists.

Yingluck’s lawyer has decried the military coup as “illegal” and warned it could lead to a dangerous power divide.

3.jpg

Junta arrests Thai Protesters using ‘Hunger Games’ 3-finger Salute at Mockingjay Premiere

22 Nov 14

[Taiwan Animators (TomoNews)] “I’m sure you remember this touching scene from ‘Hunger Games: Catching Fire’ where Katniss shows her resolve and will to fight after her friend was killed. She turns to the camera and puts up her hand with the first three fingers outstretched in an act of resolve and defiance.

That three finger salute, symbolizing gratitude, admiration and farewell, has become a symbol for those in Thailand who disapprove of the military takeover of the government this past summer after months of protests.

Just today, five students decided they had enough of Prime Minister (and still kinda general of everything) Prayut Chan-O Cha’s speech in Khon Khan, a city in northeastern Thailand.

The students took off their jackets revealing shirts that read simply, “No Coup” and turned their backs on the Prime Minister while giving the salute.
Of course, Prayut quickly had them detained, and they were most likely hauled off to a military camp for “re-education.”
Speaking of which, did you know that having outdoor picnics while reading popular literature is also “deeply frowned upon” as well in Thailand? The military claims they’re only looking out for the citizen’s greater happiness.

I wonder if they’d “re-educate” some Girl Scouts, though. They do that salute thing and they have cookies too. Because nothing says ‘rebellion’ like a plate full of Do-See-Dos given to you by a cute little girl.”

http://www.juancole.com/2014/11/protesters-mockingjay-premiere.html

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="//www.youtube.com/embed/d6aTAlctZTc" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Where did the hunger games people get that sign from?

Prior to the military taking over the last i checked it was reds vs yellows and causing chaos everywhere. If there's a red govt in power yellows would come out in force to disrupt the govt it's the same when the yellow was in power so how is that any better than having the military take over?

They have cleaned up quite a huge number of places. Take taxis overcharging customers and taxis picking up customers from the arrival section of the airport. It's mostly changed and more strictly regulated now.

wtf is with the retarded 3 finger sign?are they like trying to summon sun wu kong or tang sha zang from journey to the west?knn just point the middle finger lah.

Chump. Next time when you go Bangkok to find your black chicken teerak, show that 3 fingers also lah!

See.. Thai people got balls.. I respect the Thais so much..

What happen when sinkie govt say cannot do this and cannot do that.. Sinkies just bend down and let the govt screw.. Pathetic!!!

See.. Thai people got balls.. I respect the Thais so much..

What happen when sinkie govt say cannot do this and cannot do that.. Sinkies just bend down and let the govt screw.. Pathetic!!!

Got balls? Sure. Living under a military junta and never even utter a word means got balls?

Gong chee bye.

Your family in jiu hu also got balls, let UMNO screw daily...