• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Tan Peng Ann: Why I joined opposition politics

Re: Former SAF Col Tan Peng Ann joins opposition party

i know winston choo last time like to eat the laksa at nee soon camp...:o

Without LKY's backing, he would have been sacked! NBG pales in comparison to Winston. Latter same same during his overseas posting.

tanwahp

Opposition supporters must put aside all their differences and work with one aim so as to topple the PAP bastards ......

I understand the Workers Party is not talking to the other parties........ this is not helpful. Teochew boy must be humble and work with everyone, then he will have a chance to be PM when all throw their support behind him as a united opposition front in the next General Elections.

There is a difference between talking and working. Maybe WP doesn't talk because talking doesn't end up with working together. Show me 2 major opposition parties that are working together right now and I will tell you WP is wrong.

There is more than one way to build a "united opposition". Building a party as large and viable as the PAP is also a way to unite the opposition under WP's banner for that goal. LTK opened his doors to people like Sylvia and Chen Show Mao when the 2 could have formed their own parties and then we will have 10 opposition parties. So in that sense, WP itself is already a "united opposition" of very different personalities.

tanwahp

please allow me to back myself, i am pro-opposition. but i dislike pple who have been a pappy dog all his life now turn around and say his master is not good enough.

The issue is, the PAP changed. So I believe their former supporters have the right to switch sides.

Seee3

Singapore's success as a nation and as a people does not come by accident. It comes from the necessary tough policies and hard-headed decisions by leaders who are able to garner the myriad people of different cultures, religions, languages and wealth together as one people to work hard for the future .....

Why last time people no complain but now everyone kpkb?

I have 2 storey to share.

Story 1:
A man was doing well. However, he made his kids work during vacation to pay for whatever extras they wanted. When things turned for the worst, there wasn't much impact on the family because they are used to a simple life.

Story2:
A woman was doing well. She promised the kids that she would bring them to Switzerland and watch the World Cup. She bought them the latest gadget in town. To make more money faster, she speculated in shares and properties. When things turned for the worst, inorder to maintain a nice front, she sold her body. When the foreign men jeered at the kids, they scolded the women.

Why did one set of kids accepted hardship willing while the other set so ungrateful?
Who created the difference?
Was it wrong for the second set of kids to scold the women?

Equalisation

According to his cousin Mr Khoo, who also share his middle names, it is because of the thrill of whipping.:o

bhoven

There is another Colonel I know from the pioneer generation. He is Colonel Kwan Yue Yong. He is now living in Vancouver. Colonel Kwan started the commando unit. Today, I know him as a gentleman, a loving grandfather, humble and alway a pleasure to be with.

KYY was the co SOH winner amongst the 117 who were commissioned in the 1st batch of SAFTI officers in 1967. He henda kaki after being promoted to full Colonel and last held the CIO position before being seconded to the Spore Sports Council as Executive Director. I think only 2 in this first batch -which had quite a few graduates actually like RM,HML, GS, - got beyond 3 crabs...one was a History graduate who was not oustanding in the course but got sent to Camberly, became BG and Director GS and eventually Perm Sec in MFA and MHA. The other was an A level chap NJP (like KYY ) who surprisingly made 2 stars and even became CGS. TPA was in the first Service batch in SAFTI. He was enlisted for NS because he joined the civil service as a teacher but signed on as a regular.

I knew him too. A great guy. I'm surprised you're so dumb compared to him since you share a gene pool.

Don't insult him. You think he associate himself with known porngraphers and sheep fuckers like you?

KYY was the co SOH winner amongst the 117 who were commissioned in the 1st batch of SAFTI officers in 1967. He henda kaki after being promoted to full Colonel and last held the CIO position before being seconded to the Spore Sports Council as Executive Director. I think only 2 in this first batch -which had quite a few graduates actually like RM,HML, GS, - got beyond 3 crabs...one was a History graduate who was not oustanding in the course but got sent to Camberly, became BG and Director GS and eventually Perm Sec in MFA and MHA. The other was an A level chap NJP (like KYY ) who surprisingly made 2 stars and even became CGS. TPA was in the first Service batch in SAFTI. He was enlisted for NS because he joined the civil service as a teacher but signed on as a regular.

Yes, TPA actually left the SAF because of the bullshit and when into the civil service as a teacher, to discover there was as much bullshit in there. In the end, he wanted back into SAF and SAF at that time never took people back. I think Gopal supported him. I was quite surprised when KYY got accepted for Canadian PR given his age and lack of any marketable skill that the Canadians needed. But he has money, so I guess it was the investor program for him. His whole family when over too, not only him. He is much happier there and more lelac. Very happy for him. By the way, its still current practice to second all retiring full and half bird colonels to the SSC for a few years so that their military knowledge will be outdated before they can be finally retired. The bad thing about that is that you have a bunch of unqualified people running sports in singapore, hence the current shit status.

gsh

I am always impressed with KYY when I meet him for lunch occasionally. Having accomplished a lot, he is easy going, very humble and always have a great sense of humor when we chat over old times.
There is another colonel I know living here. He is Thomas Ng - former chief of Engineering at the Navy. He has made it big here in Vancouver. Initially, he started a lumber mill and eventually went into real estate. The last I heard is that he has >1000 apartments under his rentals. We do meet up once in a while.

All these colonels are not too complimentary on their views of the PAP government although they were part of the Elites. I think KYY's brother joined the WP and he and his whole family were under scrutiny when they were in Singapore.

Charlie99

probably another jiak liao bee saf colonial burger who was denied to be star general and refuse entry to GLC. been taken care all his life and been a pappy dog now says that his master lky is arrogant. forced to retire at age 45 say so lah...:rolleyes::p:biggrin:

but his other points are good for the opposition to whack pap...hurray!:cool:

I believe that Colonels in the SAF may retire at age 50,
whereas officers below the rank of Colonel retire at age 45.

Charlie99

There is another Colonel I know from the pioneer generation. He is Colonel Kwan Yue Yong. He is now living in Vancouver. Colonel Kwan started the commando unit. Today, I know him as a gentleman, a loving grandfather, humble and alway a pleasure to be with.

Pardon me, if my memory serves me well, Kwan Yue Yong (a Rafflesian) was awarded the Sword of Honour for the first batch of Officer Cadets.
But he did not start the SAF Commando Unit.
Then LTA or CPT Clarence Tan started the SAF Commando Unit.
I recall that Clarence Tan and a newly commissioned 2LT (Boon Hong Lin, also from fisrt batch OCS) were sent for the Ranger training in the USA,
before they started the SAF Commando Unit.
Not sure when Tham Chee On went for the USA Ranger training, but he was one of the first few SAF Commando officers.
I am not sure whether or not he is in Vancouver, but I know LTC Jimmy Yap (who was a LTA, and instructor during the first batch OCS) has been in Vancouver for about two decades,
whereas I have been in Toronto for about three decades.
(Jimmy Yap interviewed me before I was selected for OCS)

Charlie99

Without LKY's backing, he would have been sacked! NBG pales in comparison to Winston. Latter same same during his overseas posting.

Different rules for different individuals.
I wonder how Winston Choo got away with his adventures.

Charlie99

Wow, you appear to know a lot about the first batch of officer cadets.

Who is RJM. HML, GS?

NJP was a LG, and Chef of Defence Force, because Boey Tak Hap (first batch of SAFOS) declined.

Your HML is not Hwee Man Lok, who retired as CPT after 3 years.

Charlie99

Yes, TPA actually left the SAF because of the bullshit and when into the civil service as a teacher, to discover there was as much bullshit in there. In the end, he wanted back into SAF and SAF at that time never took people back. I think Gopal supported him. I was quite surprised when KYY got accepted for Canadian PR given his age and lack of any marketable skill that the Canadians needed. But he has money, so I guess it was the investor program for him. His whole family when over too, not only him. He is much happier there and more lelac. Very happy for him. By the way, its still current practice to second all retiring full and half bird colonels to the SSC for a few years so that their military knowledge will be outdated before they can be finally retired. The bad thing about that is that you have a bunch of unqualified people running sports in singapore, hence the current shit status.

hello brother,

when versus went

Charlie99

I am always impressed with KYY when I meet him for lunch occasionally. Having accomplished a lot, he is easy going, very humble and always have a great sense of humor when we chat over old times.
There is another colonel I know living here. He is Thomas Ng - former chief of Engineering at the Navy. He has made it big here in Vancouver. Initially, he started a lumber mill and eventually went into real estate. The last I heard is that he has >1000 apartments under his rentals. We do meet up once in a while.

All these colonels are not too complimentary on their views of the PAP government although they were part of the Elites. I think KYY's brother joined the WP and he and his whole family were under scrutiny when they were in Singapore.

Kwan Yue Chew?