• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Johor govt to seize Malay land from non-Malays

Highflyer

Only idiot will go and buy "Malay reserve land".

The name of the land already tell you "it is for Malays only".

THis news affected the leasehold landed houses. I can see the price drop drastically now onwards. The Taman Aman Larkin 3 storey house price drop from RM500k to RM420K.

snowbird

Whatever it is, just remember that this is Bolehland and anything can be changed overnight and what you think is logic and rationale sometimes don't apply here.
Remember the CLOB episode and the $$$$millions and the amount of people involved???

FHBH12

Whatever it is, just remember that this is Bolehland and anything can be changed overnight and what you think is logic and rationale sometimes don't apply here.
Remember the CLOB episode and the $$$$millions and the amount of people involved???

It serves to remind us that we should not wholeheartedly support Iskandar and blast Singapore. The Malaysian leaders can get a bit too big-headed sometimes and now with a bit of success, they are starting to show their true color. It is good that the Chinese developers come in with their over-ambitious launches and that helps to moderate investors a bit. However, be prepared to lose your $ overnight in Iskandar if you don't mitigate your risks.

Highflyer

better dont invest in medini.....high risk. It may be a malay reserve land. Those who have bought the bumi release lot will be sweating now too.

snowbird

It serves to remind us that we should not wholeheartedly support Iskandar and blast Singapore. The Malaysian leaders can get a bit too big-headed sometimes and now with a bit of success, they are starting to show their true color. It is good that the Chinese developers come in with their over-ambitious launches and that helps to moderate investors a bit. However, be prepared to lose your $ overnight in Iskandar if you don't mitigate your risks.

The debacle of CLOB is a good lesson for all, that you are invested in a foreign country and you have absolutely no recourse if anything negative do happen.
The CLOB debacle was no small issue but involved billions of dollars and thousands of people; everyone suddenly became totally helpless, it was literally daylight robbery!
So, whatever it is, invest with your eyes wide opened.

malpaso

how would you mitigate against an overnight policy change which severely limits your investment potential? You can't. Therefore, don't invest too much.

snowbird

how would you mitigate against an overnight policy change which severely limits your investment potential? You can't. Therefore, don't invest too much.

Here, you are not dealing with just one party; you have the State govt and the Federal to deal with.
The Federal can, if they wishes, overturn any policy or approval given by the State govt.
Just take the recent reclamation issue.
Even when the developer already had the approval and already started work for some time, Federal can just come in and suspend all works with immediate effect!

Manhattan

Go for safe havens and Iskandar is not one of them. Happy investing.
Bro, you are in the wrong forum la. You should be in the other forum where everyone kwai kwai work hard pay tax and buy overpriced car and pigeon hole and so contented about it.
Everyone will welcome you if you substantiate your views with facts, else you end up like the other guy.

Funniman

Bro, you are in the wrong forum la. You should be in the other forum where everyone kwai kwai work hard pay tax and buy overpriced car and pigeon hole and so contented about it.
Everyone will welcome you if you substantiate your views with facts, else you end up like the other guy.

Bro, safe havens not for salaried man la...parking your money and investing are totally different concepts.
Btw, the other place across is a place to keep your money but not necessarily for investments. :smile:

sgcount

Go for safe havens and Iskandar is not one of them. Happy investing.

Wahhh jialat liao... I think lee hsien loong and our billionaire Peter Lim must also be shivering cold sweat and cannot sleep at night. Cos they invested billions in Iskandar also. Will Singapore topple? Will we lose money? Then our CPF money stuck forever now? :smile:

potter

Wahhh jialat liao... I think lee hsien loong and our billionaire Peter Lim must also be shivering cold sweat and cannot sleep at night. Cos they invested billions in Iskandar also. Will Singapore topple? Will we lose money? Then our CPF money stuck forever now? :smile:

All ah lim projects have ah gong involvement. Risk is lower. Seems like both r ho peng yu..:rolleyes:

Sometimes, u got tikam jb state elephant or fed elephant win..:p lots of unknown and volatile, more interesting than sg.

Funniman

Why worry?
Anyone also can announce their projects but if not implemented yet, the money is still safe in their pockets. People sweat only after they had physically spent the money.

Manhattan

Bro, safe havens not for salaried man la...parking your money and investing are totally different concepts.
Btw, the other place across is a place to keep your money but not necessarily for investments. :smile:

Interesting concept of differentiating parking money and investing. I would prefer parking money and investing at the same time.

Manhattan

Or they have a vision that see 20 years later and saw that if sg do not join forces with Johor, sg and johor will become another forgotten region in the world?

We must continuously evolve our economy to compete with the rest of the world, with the aim of bringing better quality of life to the people of Johor and sg. And we can succeed only if we join forces with johor, to compete with Vietnam, Thailand and Macau hong kong Shenzhen triangle.

China has been trying to dig a canal across Thailand for many years, imagine what will happen if they succeed? We will be bypassed by majority of the world shipping. Better think of a diversified economy and not caught with pants down if it happens.