• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

SDP Teo soh lung: I am disappointed with the opposition parties in singapore

enterprise2

Friend, what problems do you have today? Dissatisfaction with the ruling party? There is a means to change them, and its known as elections. The citizens of Peesai have been voting for More Good Years all this while, so you got More Good Years. What is there to protest? No freedom to vote? No freedom of speech? Yes, you get into trouble if you defame or slander someome of high standing, that is civil society, otherwise everyone can make all kinds of unsubstantiated claims. Unhappy with "merrygendering," well, that just happens to be within the game of politics, it is a dirty game.

And I never said the majority is right. Just that in society, we go along with the majority. Rebellion may take place if the majority is unjust and inhumane and the laws allow them to get away with it.

Whether life is happy in Singapore or not is up to the individual. Some say happiness is a choice.

There are things in Singapore I just don't agree with, but I don't think I will get support from much of society to see them enacted as law, so I just keep quiet and do things on the quiet. One of them is the three-quarter tank law when driving up north, but it looks like all other drivers accept it, I will be alone looking like a loser if I protest. Another thing is the harsh punishment for marijuana use/possession, but doesn't look like anyone else in Singapore even thinks about it. So what is there to protest about? Even if I think the majority is wrong and stupid, am I going to go against the grain? That's stupidity.

Ago is rite... and wrong at the same time. He is behaving just like the simpleton or the proverbial frog in boiling water. Yes, everything is ok, nothing to protest about... on the surface, but the water is slowly boiling, more and more of the 6.9m is being added, goalpost is being shifted to 65 years and more and yes basic rights like CPF is being withheld.. Etc. The thing is what is the tipping point? In HK, it may be close to that. Here??

Seee3

Agoraphobic; said:
... And whether we agree or not, we all go by the choice of the majority.....

I think you have forgotten about the animal called GRC. In a GRC consisting of 4 constituencies, the individual results could be 2 for and 2 against. However, the system may distort the final result to be all "for". So if all constituencies are SMCs, that 60% may not become a 2/3 majority. I don't share your view that the result is a reflection that they are "the choice of majority" especially if with take into consideration of the absentees and spoilt votes.

Seee3

There will be differences in definitions, but I take political democracy as "Equal political rights for all." This equates to One man, One vote. And it is being practiced in Singapore. And the citizens mostly voted for we know who. With the shitty view I have of politics, I will normally pick the underdog because no matter who one picks, they're all going to line their own pockets.

Hope you can include "1 constituency 1 result". Don't combine ok?

steffychun

Why isn't she writing to Obama and the UN to impose sanctions? That is the normal case if democracy is violated in countries.

She is right. I have always maintained that the Wayang PArty aka Workers Party is fake oppo. What is dissappointing is that the other parties many led by lawyers, would not lend a hand to Roy or HHH either. If I were them, I would actively recruit these popular bloggers to run for them in single constituencies in the next GE. I for one would vote for Roy over any PAP shit they want to field.

very hard to rock the boat when they have a group of mp's in parliament already collecting a hefty payout without the need to get back to their day jobs. you must sympathize. among sinkies, money is the main driver and incentive for behavioral modification. :p

steffychun

very hard to rock the boat when they have a group of mp's in parliament already collecting a hefty payout without the need to get back to their day jobs. you must sympathize. among sinkies, money is the main driver and incentive for behavioral modification. :p

Yes this democracy people think it's so easy. Look at democracies in the West. They aren't fully democratic either.

Agoraphobic

Friend, allow me to explain my position. When I came of voting age, I was out of Singapore (overseas student), and because I didn't vote, my name was struck off the voters' list. So when I returned to Singapore and started working, I didn't vote because I wasn't allowed to, and I didn't want to pay money to reinstate my name on the list. Subsequently, I emigrated, took my CPF, and your country's laws required me to give up my citizenship, so I am no longer a citizen of Singapore. I am here as a visitor on employment pass, so I obey the rules, and work. I am observant of the happenings and spend some time yakking about social issues in Peesai with my old friends, after all, I can only observe.

I am not a political person. I have a simple life, simple wants. I maintain my job, drink beer, pay my taxes, and try to maintain a good image for my kid. I don't like politics and despise politicians. People who choose to adore them, its their choice.

You don't get it. So you come out and vote every 5 years, accept the majoritarian result, and then go to sleep for the next 5 years when you'll wake up again to vote?

We're not talking about violent revolution. We're talking about taking action to raise awareness of issues, garner support, come out with viable alternatives, expose shortcomings, so that in the next election people know better and can vote better for a better govt.

3_M

The key is to support the cause, not the activist. All social and special interest causes are ultimately political because they involve people who vote. Activists and politicians may use different platforms, but their causes do overlap and dovetail.

Ultimately, activist or politician, everyone is fighting for the betterment of society, for better governance.

Activists and politicians have very different motive for supporting a cause. Activists truly believe in the values of the cause while politicians are just making use of it to gain more ground.

Agoraphobic

Bro, Singapore was already crowded back in the 90s, it is even more crowded now. Personally, I go to open spaces where I can feel the space to relieve myself. I hate shopping malls, congested roads, standing in line and avoid such situations whenever I can. I only go into town for official reasons. I do not know how you guys going to live when the population hits 6.9 million, and who says its going to end there? I'm just glad it is not my job to deal with this issue, you have your highly-paid MIWs to solve this issue. I just wonder if they have any idea what to do?

........ but the water is slowly boiling, more and more of the 6.9m is being added,........

Agoraphobic

Well, I personally do not agree with it (the GRC thing), but if it was illegal, the committee that overseas elections will not allow it, and in the worse case, the opposition parties could have boycotted the election for this GRC thing. But it looks like they fielded teams and took part too. On the other side of the coin, the ruling party will lose big too if the bet big. It's still the people's vote.

I think you have forgotten about the animal called GRC...........

Agoraphobic

That decision rests with the courts, election committee, or whichever authority that oversees the election process. As far as I know, there has been no objection.

Hope you can include "1 constituency 1 result". Don't combine ok?

Seee3

Well, I personally do not agree with it (the GRC thing), but if it was illegal, the committee that overseas elections will not allow it, and in the worse case, the opposition parties could have boycotted the election for this GRC thing. But it looks like they fielded teams and took part too. On the other side of the coin, the ruling party will lose big too if the bet big. It's still the people's vote.

It is a sure win system. If opp boycotted, isn't that playing into their hand, as that is exactly the results they wanted. By contesting, it implies opp has no objection yet the chance of opp winning is curtailed. They play big because they know wind is in their favour. So the chance of losing big is not going to happen. Just watch, things will change when they lose a few. The system will be changed and that will be the last change they can ever make. It is too late.

SgParent

As far as I know, there has been no objection.
i wouldn't say no objection.

some oppo parties/individuals actually voiced out against it

ultimately the majority voters did not object it so everybody who wants to continue playing the political game has to follow this new rule.

Seee3

That decision rests with the courts, election committee, or whichever authority that oversees the election process. As far as I know, there has been no objection.

You have stated your position and intention very clearly now. Our discussion shall lend here. Good night.

SgParent

this teo sl, instead of dirtying her shoes walking pavement, dirtying her hands knocking on doors, chose to believe thumb fist, shout slogan will win the voters' heart, votes and kick out white scum after white scum.

my questions are why she dun thumb fist, shout slogan at the white scums?

why is she now thumb fist, shout slogan at oppo parties/individuals? is she contesting against the white scums or oppo parties/individuals?

did she or activists help any oppo parties/individuals fight against the white scums?

did she or activists help any jbj?

did she or activists kick out white scum after white scum by themselves with thumb fist, shout slogan?

Agoraphobic

You are right. The ruling party has the upper hand here. So far, its been their game, but there's no telling what the future holds. I can sense the ground is no longer in their grasp, but the oppositions parties are not actively working to win the votes. They play big, they stand the chance of losing big too. Let's see how the next GE turns out.

It is a sure win system. If opp boycotted, isn't that playing into their hand, as that is exactly the results they wanted. By contesting, it implies opp has no objection yet the chance of opp winning is curtailed. They play big because they know wind is in their favour. So the chance of losing big is not going to happen. Just watch, things will change when they lose a few. The system will be changed and that will be the last change they can ever make. It is too late.

Its small minded fucks like you that is the cause for the problems we have today. U think the majority is always right and hence u will not oppose because it is accepted by the majority? What kind of fuck thinking is that? In countries like the US, in one election the Democrats can be the majority and the republicans the opposition, but if they think like you, than its acceptable to be democrats forever? Obviously not, the opposition republicans do what they do, which is complain and protest and sometimes they end up being the majority and elected to power. Part of being in a democracy is to always agitate for a better govt. And not to accept that the govt of the day is the best that you can get, and therefore should stay in power for ever. Otherwise, they will be complacent and fat like the PAP.
By the way, over 80 years ago, a certain country had working laws, civil institutions, and a very vibrant economy. They were voted in by majority. The majority was wrong. No one question them. that country is called Germany. and the govt voted in was called the National Socialist.

Life is happy in singapore my ass. If life was so happy, how come 40% voted for a change in govt. even with knowing the opposition is untested and unproven?

Indeed, those were words spoken by "the majority". Now, if someone passes a law that seriously discriminates or infringes on the rights of a minority group, can he be counted on to stand up for his fellow man? No, not at all.

The problem isn't with the majority. It is apathy. People who don't care about the well-being of other people aka "you die your own business". Sociopaths in short. Too many damn mecenaries on our shores to add to the numerous heartless sinkie civil serpents doing the PAP's bidding.