• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

SDP Teo soh lung: I am disappointed with the opposition parties in singapore

zeroo

10421579_10204358915506834_1753476270701672649_n.jpg

535919_976388432387577_7660221829654802069_n.jpg

By Teo Soh Lung | The opposition parties and activists

In Hong Kong, opposition parties actively support the young protesters, giving them encouragement, assistance and advice. They are by their side, assisting them and speaking up for them. They go on television in support of the protesters. Ms Emily Lau even took the trouble to go to the UN to champion their cause and London to speak on Hard Talk. In Malaysia too, opposition parties were involved in mass demonstration organised by civil society. They stood with them when tear gas and water cannons were fired. They went to jail because they stood up against injustice.

But in Singapore, where are the opposition parties? Do they exist? Do they speak up when civil society is under attack.

Where was the opposition when lawyer Ravi had problems with the professional body that was supposed to assist him and not persecute him? Where was the opposition parties when Roy spoke up for the thousands on CPF and got into trouble with the prime minister? Where was the opposition when Han Hui Hui, Roy and their supporters were harassed and interrogated for hours by the police? Where was the opposition when bloggers like Alex Au was charged for contempt? Did they speak up in parliament? Did they utter a word in support? Did they extend a hand to them?

All the news about political parties speaking up were about their own small trouble with ministers and ministries. What do you expect the opposition parties to do when they are maligned or suffer inconveniences? If they cannot defend themselves, who else can? Why should activists help them when they do not care about them. Is there anything commendable when they went to court to defend themselves for holding a trade fair?

But despite the opposition parties not standing up for activists, the latter are exceedingly generous. They went to their aid whenever the received news that they were bullied by some minister or other. The editors of TOC and TRE wrote articles. Their readers too wrote to support ad nauseum, as if the political parties had no voice of their own? Do they deserve such help when they do not stand up for civil society?

I don’t know. We better think carefully and watch what we do because no opposition parties are going to help us when we get into trouble. There is no more JBJs today. JBJ will mix with the crowd in Hong Lim Park and stand outside the Istana to protest against detention of prisoners under the ISA. He was charged in court for the protest but fortunately was acquitted. Today's leaders of opposition political parties will never protest in public or in parliament! They will never stand up for activists!

methink

She can form a party and protest lor... no one stopping her leh..

She's complaining about the lack of support shown. If opposition do not get their act together, 2016 will come and go... And LKY will be labelling us daft again!

Agoraphobic

Dear Soh Lung:

I normally refrain from any comments regarding politics, but I will answer your question. It is pretty obvious there is little to protest in Singapore. The nation has working laws, civil institutions, and a somewhat vibrant economy. That's what most people want and can live with it. A few complains here and there, but that's normal, everywhere. Basically, there are regular general elections in Singapore every four or five years, and the people get to choose the leadership to represent them. And whether we agree or not, we all go by the choice of the majority. And they make the law. If one doesn't like it, can always vote again when the chance comes around. I myself am not exactly happy with many of the laws/policies here in Singapore, but will not oppose since they are accepted by the majority of the public. As for the opposition being "inactive," you bet they are. And that's why they don't get much support, they only get the votes from those unhappy with the ruling party. As for the ruling party, they have a somewhat easy job as the region is peaceful, prosperous, and quite settled down without any extreme radicals stirring up shit. So the ruling party gets all the credit for Singapore's progress, which your official newspaper eagerly bestows on them. Meanwhile, the public here are happy as long as they have their char kwey teow and laksa and couldn't give a shit about global warming, ebola, endangered species, or any atrocities elsewhere in the world. Life is happy in Singapore.

She's complaining about the lack of support shown. If opposition do not get their act together, 2016 will come and go... And LKY will be labelling us daft again!

cross the bridge when we get there..worry also no use..

Dear Soh Lung:

I normally refrain from any comments regarding politics, but I will answer your question. It is pretty obvious there is little to protest in Singapore. The nation has working laws, civil institutions, and a somewhat vibrant economy. That's what most people want and can live with it. A few complains here and there, but that's normal, everywhere. Basically, there are regular general elections in Singapore every four or five years, and the people get to choose the leadership to represent them. And whether we agree or not, we all go by the choice of the majority. And they make the law. If one doesn't like it, can always vote again when the chance comes around. I myself am not exactly happy with many of the laws/policies here in Singapore, but will not oppose since they are accepted by the majority of the public. As for the opposition being "inactive," you bet they are. And that's why they don't get much support, they only get the votes from those unhappy with the ruling party. As for the ruling party, they have a somewhat easy job as the region is peaceful, prosperous, and quite settled down without any extreme radicals stirring up shit. So the ruling party gets all the credit for Singapore's progress, which your official newspaper eagerly bestows on them. Meanwhile, the public here are happy as long as they have their char kwey teow and laksa and couldn't give a shit about global warming, ebola, endangered species, or any atrocities elsewhere in the world. Life is happy in Singapore.

Its small minded fucks like you that is the cause for the problems we have today. U think the majority is always right and hence u will not oppose because it is accepted by the majority? What kind of fuck thinking is that? In countries like the US, in one election the Democrats can be the majority and the republicans the opposition, but if they think like you, than its acceptable to be democrats forever? Obviously not, the opposition republicans do what they do, which is complain and protest and sometimes they end up being the majority and elected to power. Part of being in a democracy is to always agitate for a better govt. And not to accept that the govt of the day is the best that you can get, and therefore should stay in power for ever. Otherwise, they will be complacent and fat like the PAP.
By the way, over 80 years ago, a certain country had working laws, civil institutions, and a very vibrant economy. They were voted in by majority. The majority was wrong. No one question them. that country is called Germany. and the govt voted in was called the National Socialist.

Life is happy in singapore my ass. If life was so happy, how come 40% voted for a change in govt. even with knowing the opposition is untested and unproven?

She is right. I have always maintained that the Wayang PArty aka Workers Party is fake oppo. What is dissappointing is that the other parties many led by lawyers, would not lend a hand to Roy or HHH either. If I were them, I would actively recruit these popular bloggers to run for them in single constituencies in the next GE. I for one would vote for Roy over any PAP shit they want to field.

yellowarse

So far the only opposition leader to speak up on the issue was CSJ, who gave a very mature and balanced statement on Roy, supporting his cause yet submitting that Roy did err in the HLP fracas.

The trouble is Sinkies like to draw this artificial line between civil activism and party politics. Politicians should not do activism, and activists should not do politics.

This artificial dichotomy is not seen in Western and many developing countries. Politicians regularly give support to activist causes aligned with their party ideology, and activists run electoral campaigns for politicians. US Congressmen collaborate with NGOs and activist groups to formulate bills to be passed in Congress.

That's why the major oppo parties here are loath to be associated with civil activists, for fear of losing the support of their voters. Some 'oppo supporters' are even saying that politicians who are too confrontational and/or too focussed on activist causes and/or give speeches overseas, e.g. TJS & CSJ, should not be voted into parliament.

If your elected politicians are not going to fight for your rights, who will? Then why are you voting for them?

enterprise2

Dear Soh Lung:

I will stand and block a tank if they screw around with my char kwey teow!

yellowarse

And whether we agree or not, we all go by the choice of the majority. And they make the law. If one doesn't like it, can always vote again when the chance comes around. I myself am not exactly happy with many of the laws/policies here in Singapore, but will not oppose since they are accepted by the majority of the public.

What kind of nonsense statement is that? You don't oppose because you're in the minority?

Do you know what a democracy is? You're free to fight for you what you believe, to further your cause, to vote in legislators who will make your nation a better place to live in. If your side loses, you accept the choice of the majority gracefully. But you continue to fight for the next five years if these elected buggers screw up, so that a better group of people can be voted in in the next election!

End of day, in an electoral democracy, the citizens continually exercise their right to ensure that the best people get to run the country and serve the people, to elect a govt of the people, by the people, for the people.

Agoraphobic

Friend, what problems do you have today? Dissatisfaction with the ruling party? There is a means to change them, and its known as elections. The citizens of Peesai have been voting for More Good Years all this while, so you got More Good Years. What is there to protest? No freedom to vote? No freedom of speech? Yes, you get into trouble if you defame or slander someome of high standing, that is civil society, otherwise everyone can make all kinds of unsubstantiated claims. Unhappy with "merrygendering," well, that just happens to be within the game of politics, it is a dirty game.

And I never said the majority is right. Just that in society, we go along with the majority. Rebellion may take place if the majority is unjust and inhumane and the laws allow them to get away with it.

Whether life is happy in Singapore or not is up to the individual. Some say happiness is a choice.

There are things in Singapore I just don't agree with, but I don't think I will get support from much of society to see them enacted as law, so I just keep quiet and do things on the quiet. One of them is the three-quarter tank law when driving up north, but it looks like all other drivers accept it, I will be alone looking like a loser if I protest. Another thing is the harsh punishment for marijuana use/possession, but doesn't look like anyone else in Singapore even thinks about it. So what is there to protest about? Even if I think the majority is wrong and stupid, am I going to go against the grain? That's stupidity.

Its small minded fucks like you that is the cause for the problems we have today. U think the majority is always right and hence u will not oppose because it is accepted by the majority? What kind of fuck thinking is that? In countries like the US, in one election the Democrats can be the majority and the republicans the opposition, but if they think like you, than its acceptable to be democrats forever? Obviously not, the opposition republicans do what they do, which is complain and protest and sometimes they end up being the majority and elected to power. Part of being in a democracy is to always agitate for a better govt. And not to accept that the govt of the day is the best that you can get, and therefore should stay in power for ever. Otherwise, they will be complacent and fat like the PAP.
By the way, over 80 years ago, a certain country had working laws, civil institutions, and a very vibrant economy. They were voted in by majority. The majority was wrong. No one question them. that country is called Germany. and the govt voted in was called the National Socialist.

Life is happy in singapore my ass. If life was so happy, how come 40% voted for a change in govt. even with knowing the opposition is untested and unproven?

Just vote the PAP out.
Talk so much also no use.
The power is in your ballot.

Agoraphobic

There will be differences in definitions, but I take political democracy as "Equal political rights for all." This equates to One man, One vote. And it is being practiced in Singapore. And the citizens mostly voted for we know who. With the shitty view I have of politics, I will normally pick the underdog because no matter who one picks, they're all going to line their own pockets.

Do you know what a democracy is?...

Just vote the PAP out.

Yes vote out those scums.
We'll sort the rest out later.
You dun chop off the gangrene limb then you will die.
Amputate first then we discuss on whether to sit wheelchair, use clutches or attach artificial limb after we have heal the nation.

3_M

It a rather tricky situation. Imagine if any opposition openly support Roy and the next moment he does something silly, it will affect the party's credibility.

Political party thinks differently from activists.. Activists are concern with the cause they advocate and do not give a hoot to political correctness. Politicians assess the position they need to take on the matter. whether to endorse, oppose or to adopt a more ambitious stance. If political party ever came out to endorse what the activists advocate, it must be part of the larger picture of how many votes they gain by doing so and does it comes into conflict with their targeted supporters?

I liken activist and politician with inventor and businessman. Inventor is the one who will be passionate about their inventions and the mechanism behind it. Businessman on the other hand will be more concern with the marketability of the invention. How receptive are the public to the product and the projected sales target. We have to accept the fact that there are inventions that can be marketed and there are those that are completely infeasible.

Likewise party does not need to follow whatever the NGOs and activists advocate. The onus is on the party to decide whether to support the cause.

From the Presidential Elections, it is obvious that the majority of sinkies support PAP. They are terrified of a future without the PAP. If the opposition goes to support Roy and HHH, it will become a political issue instead of just a civil rights issue. And by default, most people will support PAP and treat the opposition, including the likes of JBJ and Chee, as nothing more than rabble-rousers.

Just vote the PAP out.

but my family had been voting opposition since day one but no use. With the merging of constituency into GRC; often people don't even get to vote! Really we must become opposition party ourselves or go for revolution then can?

yellowarse

but my family had been voting opposition since day one but no use. With the merging of constituency into GRC; often people don't even get to vote! Really we must become opposition party ourselves or go for revolution then can?

Good. Now is the time to raise the awareness of those around you – friends, relatives, colleagues – that voting opposition is in their best interest. When a critical mass of citizens have raised their consciousness, we'll see a significant impact at the ballot box. Then toppling the regime by non-violent electoral means becomes feasible.

Activists play an important role in raising the awareness of key issues affecting the people, so they know whether the govt is doing its job and how they should vote at the next election.

yellowarse

It a rather tricky situation. Imagine if any opposition openly support Roy and the next moment he does something silly, it will affect the party's credibility.

The key is to support the cause, not the activist. All social and special interest causes are ultimately political because they involve people who vote. Activists and politicians may use different platforms, but their causes do overlap and dovetail.

Ultimately, activist or politician, everyone is fighting for the betterment of society, for better governance.

yellowarse

There will be differences in definitions, but I take political democracy as "Equal political rights for all." This equates to One man, One vote. And it is being practiced in Singapore. And the citizens mostly voted for we know who.

You don't get it. So you come out and vote every 5 years, accept the majoritarian result, and then go to sleep for the next 5 years when you'll wake up again to vote?

We're not talking about violent revolution. We're talking about taking action to raise awareness of issues, garner support, come out with viable alternatives, expose shortcomings, so that in the next election people know better and can vote better for a better govt.