• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Bag handlers walkout led to delays for jetstar. Song boh jetstar users.

seems like a sabo case by sats but then again it's due to jetstar's gian png mentality that probably caused them to take up Asig and dump sats.

Imagine the workers working for asig got a better deal by sats and they just said fuck it we quit on the spot and the luggage for jetstar customers gets left unloaded leading to many hours of delay if you read on the news.

At the end of the day the customers suffer the most due to this. Read there was a few shouting matches with some airport officials with the customers.

CHANGI Airport's newest ground handler, Aircraft Service International Group (Asig), might have thought it scored big time when it convinced Jetstar Asia to dump heavyweight handler Sats.

But the joy of bagging its first customer was short-lived when its workers did not turn up on the first day of the contract on Oct 16.

That led to massive flight delays and cancellations, as well as baggage issues, which affected more than a thousand frustrated Jetstar customers.

As it turns out, market leader Sats - which controls about 80 per cent of Changi's passenger, baggage- and cargo-handling business - had offered the workers a better deal, The Straits Times found out.

It is not known how many of them walked out, but it was enough to cause United States-based Asig serious problems.

Jetstar Asia, Asig and Sats all refused to comment when contacted.

Given the tight labour situation here, Asig could not recover in time, forcing Jetstar Asia to seek assistance from Sats.

Since Oct 16, Sats has been taking care of the airline's ramp services, which includes the loading and unloading of bags and cargo, while Asig does passenger check-in.

Confirming this, a spokesman for the airline said: "Jetstar Asia can confirm that we are working with Asig for ground-handling requirements in Singapore. Sats, Jetstar Asia's former sole ground-handling partner, is currently helping with the transition, providing ramp services."

Yacoob Piperdi, Sats' executive vice-president, gateway services, said: "Jetstar approached us on the evening of Oct 16 with an urgent request to provide ramp and baggage-handling services for its flights."

It took two days after services were disrupted on Oct 16 for all services to operate as scheduled.

The problem may be solved for now but the question is how long Sats will provide assistance, industry observers said.

Neither Sats nor Jetstar Asia would say when asked.

In its first official comment since the hiccup, Asig apologised to affected customers and told The Straits Times that the firm remains committed to its operations here.

But how long it can survive here remains to be seen, industry experts said, citing the exit of Swissport a few years ago.

The global European firm, which began operations in Singapore in 2005, quit four years later after suffering losses of more than $50 million.

With the year-end holidays approaching, the bigger concern for travellers is whether Jetstar Asia can find a permanent solution to its ground-handling woes.

Portfolio manager Su Zhen, 30, who took a Jetstar flight from Bangkok to Singapore on Oct 16, had to wait two days before her luggage was delivered to her.

"Understandably when there is a change in system or process, hiccups are bound to happen. But it's shocking that the hiccup is of such scale," she said.

[email protected]

Poomer

It means the workers go on strike right, and subsequently joined a rival company. No police investigation?

Nowadays I only travel with a carry on back pack, the largest one that is permitted :smile:

Indeed, it is easy for men to travel light, and maybe buy things along the way when necessary.

The women on the other hand, like to pack all kinds of bras and panties, shoes, cosmetics, medical kits, vitamin pills etc. :rolleyes:

Given the tight labour situation here, Asig could not recover in time, forcing Jetstar Asia to seek assistance from Sats.

See? Those sneaky bastards couldn't resist adding in this line to drive home the point that somehow the problem was caused by a lack of foreign workers. :rolleyes:

hahahaha..agree..pay peanuts then say tight labour..

u go geylang ask the gals for 10 bucks 1 fuck ... u see whether u can fuck them or u get fucked. :rolleyes:

or Jetstar will say shortage of prostitutes.

The ironic thing in this situation is that the workers hired by asig were stolen by sats so they had to ask the stealer of their workers to come help them.

Sats is a GLC so it's a very different case from foreign pmets stealing from normal sinkies.

Uh don't like that leh....jetstar is my favorite airline leh....direct flight to melbourne from this shithole for only 255.

Indeed, it is easy for men to travel light, and maybe buy things along the way when necessary.

The women on the other hand, like to pack all kinds of bras and panties, shoes, cosmetics, medical kits, vitamin pills etc. :rolleyes:

Nowadays there are more restrictions on what you can carry into the cabin e.g. no big bottles of liquids or aerosols, sharp things,.... I saw some women who were asked to take off their shoes while they left the men alone:confused:

A PRC Chinese cut in front of me in the queue for the security check but I had a laugh when he was pulled aside & his bag searched at the BKK airport:biggrin:

The ironic thing in this situation is that the workers hired by asig were stolen by sats so they had to ask the stealer of their workers to come help them.

Sats is a GLC so it's a very different case from foreign pmets stealing from normal sinkies.

This would not have been an issue had non-fraudulent, legitimate labour unions existed in Singapore. You can't just poach away the workers at the last minute, especially in mission-critical jobs.