• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Many real estate agents turn to becoming part-time hawkers, taxi drivers

[h=1]MANY REAL ESTATE AGENTS TURN TO BECOMING PART-TIME HAWKERS, TAXI DRIVERS[/h]
<!-- /.block --> <style>.node-article .field-name-link-line-above-tags{float: right;}.node-article .field-name-ad-box-in-article {float: left;margin: 15px 15px 10px 0;}.node-article .field-tags{clear: both;}</style> Post date:
28 Oct 2014 - 4:03pm

<ins id="aswift_0_expand" style="margin: 0px; padding: 0px; border: currentColor; width: 336px; height: 280px; display: inline-table; visibility: visible; position: relative; background-color: transparent; border-image: none;"><ins id="aswift_0_anchor" style="margin: 0px; padding: 0px; border: currentColor; width: 336px; height: 280px; display: block; visibility: visible; position: relative; background-color: transparent; border-image: none;"><iframe name="aswift_0" width="336" height="280" id="aswift_0" frameBorder="0" marginWidth="0" marginHeight="0" scrolling="no" vspace="0" hspace="0" allowfullscreen="true" style="left: 0px; top: 0px; position: absolute;" allowTransparency="true"></iframe></ins></ins>

New curbs and financing rules have made it difficult for real estate agents to survive. Many have to turn to other careers in order to survive.

Many agents are beginning to take on part-time jobs to supplement their income, or to switch to a new job altogether.

Some agents have turned to working as hawkers or become taxi drivers, while some have gone back to their trade prior.

There are also fewer people entering the profession now. Last year, there were 4,289 new salespersons. However, this dropped to 3,061 this year.

Last year, there were only 18,100 resale flats that exchanged hands – which is already a new low. However, the 12,683 exchanges conducted in the first nine months of this year means that the trend will keep going.

Private property fare worse. Less than 10,000 exchanges were made. In better years, this could be achieved within a quarter.

The dark clouds overshadowing the property market means that the exodus this year have hurried along this year.

The spate of new rules introduced by the government to curb property prices has inadvertently hit the rice bowls of estate agents.
Some agents have voiced out their displeasure as to the speed of the changes by the government.
The government’s sudden about turn in policies come after a flurry of speculative buying, which has led to many apartments sitting empty.
The loss in job opportunities exposes a worrisome undercurrent trend in the property market.

Tuayapeh

Useless housing agents, good times so yaya, serve them right!

Yeah this totally economically useless bunch should never be regarded as a proper profession....coupled with that toothless bunch of idiots running the council of real estate agents who have no fucking clue how to regulate these monkeys, it just fucks everything up......

So now that we have all these money launderers and crooks who are hiding their money here (just look at all the fucking empty apartments that do not need to be rented) .....stinkapore property market is way overdue for a massive correction....

I got a funny feeling that a lot of these housing agents are way over levered in the market as well....blood on the streets is what i said.......

I had an ex-colleague who went into the line because he was let go from his job. Maybe he should have become a taxi driver or security guard?

It would be a big let down for someone with a masters in science.

xebay11

It fails to take into commercial, industrial and rental transactions which are still very active and agents there making tons of money.

Tuayapeh

I had an ex-colleague who went into the line because he was let go from his job. Maybe he should have become a taxi driver or security guard?

Seems to be the default fallback profession........all you gotta do is bullshit about gains to lure the greed, put up advertisements and open doors,.......

Whats so fucking special about that?

That s not important. What is important isxwho he voted for and is he voted Papzi, they will take care of him. They ll send him letters regularly to remind him to pay up

I remember in the past when unemployed graduates were problems you only found in the Angmo countries.

Now it is so common in Spore:(

The sad thing is my ex-colleague was an NUS grad. If he had an Aussie degree he could have emigrated there as many that studied in Aust have got Aussie PR.

SgGoneWrong

I remember in the past when unemployed graduates were problems you only found in the Angmo countries.

Now it is so common in Spore:(

The sad thing is my ex-colleague was an NUS grad. If he had an Aussie degree he could have emigrated there as many that studied in Aust have got Aussie PR.

Thanks hor, he unemployed he comes aust for what? So that taxpayers can support him?

Soon, the majority of sinkees will end up in two professions, driving taxi and hawkering. That's the SINKAPORE DREAM.

belnibone

A few years ago was their feast now it is their famine but the cycle should be up again after 2016 elections.

congo9

better that they change jobs now than wait until no more jobs to change to.

Singapore has confirm become a high cost low skilled economy. We have a ton of agent making money off people hard work. To be brutal, Singapore's economy is a Hollow one.

No technological advantage, no manufacturing prowess. We are just a manufacturing outsource country competing with China and India. Pathetic.

PAP allows freely all these fucking MNCs to bring Ah Nehs and all their countrymen in.

Of course local grads whether PHD or MD have to become aganet or taxi driver lah.

so much for Singapore being a first world education hub,this is the future of sinkies,either they become bankers selling financial products,or insurance agents or real estate agents or hawkers and taxi drivers.Mahjullah SInkapore!!!!Mahjullah PAP!!!!

PAP sold Singaporeans away to these FTs....