• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Pinky says sinkees don't deserve democratic rights

PM Lee on democracy: Asian states must find own way

THE Western media may paint popular democracy as a good thing but politics operates in different ways in Asia, Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong said yesterday.

"If you look at the countries in Asia, you'll know these are complicated countries and they work in different ways.

"Even when you have elections, the power structure, the politics, the government functions in different ways in these countries," he added.

For instance, in Thailand, beyond the elected government, the king and the military play critical roles, he said.

Mr Lee made the point at a dialogue on the opening night of the three-day Forbes Global CEO Conference, which brings business leaders together to discuss global economic issues.

Replying to a question on the fate and future of popular democracy in the region, Mr Lee called it a slogan.

"I think each country has to find its own way forward. I don't think there's salvation in saying, oh, we need more democracy and that will make these countries prosper," he said, citing recent events in the Chinese territory of Hong Kong as a case in point.

In India, he noted, a new government is at the helm every now and again. This makes it harder for the country to address fundamental challenges.

In China, however, "they have no elections, but that doesn't mean they don't have the problems (faced by) a government which is legitimate, which is functioning well, and which is subject to checks and balances".

On Singapore, he said an elected government is in place.

"Yet if you ask whether that is a formula which will automatically yield a good government and a successful country for the next 50 years, nobody can say.

"It depends on the people, it depends on the values of the society, it depends on the quality of the leaders and the connection between the leadership and the population."

Though upbeat about the future of Singapore and the region with the ASEAN Economic Community with freer trade and investment targeted to debut by end-2015, Mr Lee also spoke of issues that keep him up at night.

The possibility of regional turbulence is a key concern, he said.

"The fundamental assumption when we look forward and say we are confident is that peace will remain, that countries will cooperate and, therefore, we can gradually solve our problems and develop our economies," he said.

This confidence could be shaken by conflicts erupting in the region.

Territorial disputes breaking out in the South China Sea, or over the Diaoyu/Senkaku islands, which involves two significant powers - China and Japan - going head to head, are cause for concern. Likewise, the unpredictable hermit kingdom of North Korea.

Outside Asia, the Islamic State in Iraq and Syria and other terrorist groups like it pose a global threat, said Mr Lee, highlighting a concern he has raised repeatedly this year.

These groups could bring "the virus and radical fervour which they've acquired fighting somebody else's war" to Singapore.

But at the same time, each country needs to solve its own problems, he said, citing Singapore's dearth of babies.

Also, challenges like maintaining political and social cohesion in a fast-changing world, with income inequalities, are going to put a lot of pressure on societies, Mr Lee said.

But, he added: "Other people can't solve these problems for us. We have to solve our own, so that we are able to work together and prosper together."

[email protected]

It is the same old bs to justify their dictatorial rule.

The PAP thinks it can stop natural evolution of society, especially when it can't fulfill its part of the social contract. It can't and time will show them.

shittypore

The PAP thinks it can stop natural evolution of society, especially when it can't fulfill its part of the social contract. It can't and time will show them.

Its time up for the PAP, he knows it very well. All this excuse of Asian
Style of Democracy is Bullshit.

Last paragraph is wrong lah...PM means we work together and PAP and cronies prosper more than the rest lah...

LHL is saying Sinkaporeans are a special bunch of special needs people,thats why need special form of democracy.

Yes. Cannot handle domestic woes like housing and transportation, distract with ISIS and other assorted international affairs.

Democracy isn't 'Western'. Just because Isaac Newton made the discovery, doesn't make gravity a uniquely Western concept.

Similarly, Machiavelli's works are well-known, but that didn't stop Asian despots from adopting his philosophy. :rolleyes:

Also, the nerve of Lee Hsien Loong to mention Thailand. At least Thailand has freedom of assembly, lese majeste laws notwithstanding. In Sinkieland, protesters are confined to Hong Lim Park, and have to beg for a permit beforehand. And even with these restrictions, NParks deem it fit to fix the protesters with YMCA. :rolleyes:

can someone tell me how a man supposedly a man of great "intellectual" and "genius" like LKY give birth to a moron son like LHL?im reading the article and im thinking wtf is this shit.....this joker is actually apologising and admitting that his country is not as "democratic" as people think and it needs a special form of governence like the Dynasty rule.and he is our prime minister for christ sake!!!!!cmon man lets invite the other moron kim jong un to be our PM instead,im sure that fat fuck can do a better job!!!!

MaxRebo

can someone tell me how a man supposedly a man of great "intellectual" and "genius" like LKY give birth to a moron son like LHL?im reading the article and im thinking wtf is this shit.....this joker is actually apologising and admitting that his country is not as "democratic" as people think and it needs a special form of governence like the Dynasty rule.

who cares???

can someone tell me how a man supposedly a man of great "intellectual" and "genius" like LKY give birth to a moron son like LHL?im reading the article and im thinking wtf is this shit.....this joker is actually apologising and admitting that his country is not as "democratic" as people think and it needs a special form of governence like the Dynasty rule.

Unlike his father, his loony does not have what it takes to hold things together.

60%: Democracy can eat ah? At least now, I still got coolie rice to eat, right? *hee*hee*

40%: Sure, provided that even your beggar rice bowl has not already been broken by the FAP Traitors' FTrash pets!

60%: Mai gar lee gong liao! Talking to you make me vomit blood!

40%: *shake head*

can someone tell me how a man supposedly a man of great "intellectual" and "genius" like LKY give birth to a moron son like LHL?im reading the article and im thinking wtf is this shit.....this joker is actually apologising and admitting that his country is not as "democratic" as people think and it needs a special form of governence like the Dynasty rule.and he is our prime minister for christ sake!!!!!cmon man lets invite the other moron kim jong un to be our PM instead,im sure that fat fuck can do a better job!!!!

This fxxkin traitor is challenging SGs to kick him out of power! And he is 100% confident that SGs, at least 60% of them, donch have the marbles to do that!

Asterix

Ass Loon and the degeneration of Sinkieland under his reign
Is a prime example of why "benign" dictatorships cannot work
It's not even the third generation and already Sinkies can't tahan
In a corporation it's only money but in a country it's people's lives

Please note that I've changed the video to the correct one

[video=youtube;mwut0htI6X4]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mwut0htI6X4[/video]

In a company that makes money from rent, people are its only resource. A renewable and very replaceable one!

Maybe... just maybe LKY isn't an 'intellectual' or 'genius', but constant bombardment by propaganda makes you perceive him to be one? :wink:

Fuck his pinky sinkie shit.. Decomaracy is decided by the people and not by some low life shit who wants to hold on to power and say in Asia we don't do that.

If that shit pinky can't handle that, he should be kicked out of the government. Simple as that. He talk like he has manage so many countries and has vast experience.. Piece of sinkie shit.

Oh yes... We have to keep the trend of insulting PAP going.

LEGEND

I m quite sure nobody gives a flying fuck about his speeches when he goes overseas. :kma:

dr.wailing

Democracy isn't 'Western'. Just because Isaac Newton made the discovery, doesn't make gravity a uniquely Western concept.

Similarly, Machiavelli's works are well-known, but that didn't stop Asian despots from adopting his philosophy. :rolleyes:

Totally agree.

Also, the nerve of Lee Hsien Loong to mention Thailand. At least Thailand has freedom of assembly,.......

Before the Thai military staged a coup in May this year, during both the Abhisit and Yingluck administrations, there was freedom of press and media too. Talks shows on Thai public TV networks frequently criticized the government leaders of that time. Foreign TV news networks such as BBC, Al Jazeera, Deutsche Welle, France24 were free to report whatever they deemed fit.

soikee

Why talk so fucking much you corrupt traitor? Remove your wife from Tiuniaseck to stop her from plundering $18m annually before bonus.

Yeah who is he to decide what kind of democracy Spore needs. Whatever kind it is to be, it is not the current kind where misbehaving foreigners are not arrested while locals are arrested for nothing. Surely protesting in designated area should be considered as nothing if not for the complications introduced by the people giving out the permits.