• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

How Come Chinatown so many Ah Tiong type of food nowadays?

It seems like the Ah Tiongs have taken over Chinatown...so many Ah Tiong food nowadays once you come out from the MRT station.

Sinkie Chinese now being colonised by Ah Tiong Chinese....

It seems like the Ah Tiongs have taken over Chinatown...so many Ah Tiong food nowadays once you come out from the MRT station.

Don't pretend la si-lao-gau you mean Geylang is it?

Chinatown was once a hub for the Cantonese, no thanks to the PAP govt most of them have been displaced by the Tiongs. Sichuan and Dongbei cuisines aplenty. By Tiongs, for Tiongs. :rolleyes:

the tiongs cum here to laundry their money. even if it's a losing biz, it's ok to them cos that's how they launder their ill-gotten money from mainland.

it also explains why they can drive up hdb prices like nobody's biz. it's the laundering of funds that is their primary intention.

let me illustrate further.

say the tiongs (in a syndicate) make million$ in china. being communist, they would hv to give their gahmen very substantial share. so they cum to our shore waving their money infront of the avaricious pap who would be too pleased to give them PR or even pirated citizenship. once they got that, they would dump all their funds into pigeonholes at whatever prices the sellers would command.

well, it would be good for the sellers in the beginning but becos of this, it drives the market crazy. everyone now becums greedy and think their pigeonholes are really worth that much. it's a chain reaction and hence, that's how now the prices are crazy.

the tiongs once got their exaggerated priced flats would play a waiting game since they ve set the greediness rolling. they know the prices would go up further in a couple of yrs. being "singaporeans" now, they would plan to sell away their flats now at a new even crazier prices.

after they got their $$$$, they would just emigrate to another place probably oz or USA where the prices of properties are so much cheaper.

what do they contribute? NOTHING. it's just turn sgp into a craze mnney greedy place.

we being the love singapore citizens are badly being hit becos of the fake prop prices the tiongs ve drive up.

now apply this to the hawker stalls which the gahmen gives through tendering. the tiongs would again repeat the same n drive up the rentals. again, singaporeans are being hit badly again.

so how stupig our million$ gahmen is? tsk...tsk...if only they are not ruled by GREED but by a sheer caring heart for the people :(

if u wikipedia chinatown,it says that chinatowns in foreign countries acted as a safe haven for chinese immigrants,where there is no language barriers and they can be among their own kind and culture.....

although singapore is a predominantly chinese country,we are like a foreign country to tiongs having been exposed to british and malaysian influences for more than 150 years,so it is only natural for freshly immigrated tiongs to congregate in a chinatown where they can feel safe and comfortable living in a alien nation.

At least little india still maintain local indian food...

cause the high caste indians dont eat at those places.u should come to the east side,theres tons of fancy indian restaurants and curry houses.

one day when im rich and living in one of those condo enclaves,i will also try dining at those indian restaurants.

They have also moved into hawker centres. I don't like Ah Tiong food.