• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Smrt: We already did a lot to stop commuters from being squashed on the platform

SMRT: WE ALREADY DID A LOT TO STOP COMMUTERS FROM BEING SQUASHED ON THE PLATFORM
<!-- /.block --> <style>.node-article .field-name-link-line-above-tags{float: right;}.node-article .field-name-ad-box-in-article {float: left;margin: 15px 15px 10px 0;}.node-article .field-tags{clear: both;}</style> Post date:
24 Oct 2014 - 11:38am

<ins id="aswift_0_expand" style="margin: 0px; padding: 0px; border: currentColor; width: 336px; height: 280px; display: inline-table; visibility: visible; position: relative; background-color: transparent; border-image: none;"><ins id="aswift_0_anchor" style="margin: 0px; padding: 0px; border: currentColor; width: 336px; height: 280px; display: block; visibility: visible; position: relative; background-color: transparent; border-image: none;"><iframe name="aswift_0" width="336" height="280" id="aswift_0" frameBorder="0" marginWidth="0" marginHeight="0" scrolling="no" vspace="0" hspace="0" allowfullscreen="true" style="left: 0px; top: 0px; position: absolute;" allowTransparency="true"></iframe></ins></ins>

Following the viral video of commuters being squashed onto the platform at Lakeside MRT Station, SMRT has responded to say that their staff already handled the situation well.
The video which has been shared widely online showed commuters coming up the escalator but encountering an overcrowded platform. As a result, there was a block at the top of the escalators and people were being pushed into one another.
One man in the video is heard asking someone to press the emergency stop button.
Watch the video here:
<iframe name="fb_xdm_frame_http" tabIndex="-1" title="Facebook Cross Domain Communication Frame" id="fb_xdm_frame_http" aria-hidden="true" src="http://static.ak.facebook.com/connect/xd_arbiter/2_ZudbRXWRs.js?version=41#channel=f37bda6915f54fc&origin=http%3A%2F%2Ftherealsingapore.com" frameBorder="0" scrolling="no" style="border: currentColor; border-image: none;" allowTransparency="true"></iframe><iframe name="fb_xdm_frame_https" tabIndex="-1" title="Facebook Cross Domain Communication Frame" id="fb_xdm_frame_https" aria-hidden="true" src="https://s-static.ak.facebook.com/connect/xd_arbiter/2_ZudbRXWRs.js?version=41#channel=f37bda6915f54fc&origin=http%3A%2F%2Ftherealsingapore.com" frameBorder="0" scrolling="no" style="border: currentColor; border-image: none;" allowTransparency="true"></iframe>

<iframe name="f3a4b8142a6f2f" width="500" height="1000" title="fb:post Facebook Social Plugin" src="http://www.facebook.com/plugins/post.php?app_id=211494319007033&channel=http%3A%2F%2Fstatic.ak.facebook.com%2Fconnect%2Fxd_arbiter%2F2_ZudbRXWRs.js%3Fversion%3D41%23cb%3Df7b1db81eaf4b%26domain%3Dtherealsingapore.com%26origin%3Dhttp%253A%252F%252Ftherealsingapore.com%252Ff37bda6915f54fc%26relation%3Dparent.parent&href=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.facebook.com%2Fvideo.php%3Fv%3D865661483479020&locale=en_GB&sdk=joey&width=500" frameBorder="0" scrolling="no" style="border: currentColor; width: 500px; height: 448px; visibility: visible; border-image: none;" allowTransparency="true"></iframe>
The platform was overcrowded due to a delay on the East West Line with trains being forced to stop for about 5 to 10 minutes.
(Full Story See: SMRT AVOIDS MAKING ANNOUNCEMENT ABOUT TRAIN DELAYS ON EAST-WEST LINE)

<ins id="aswift_1_expand" style="margin: 0px; padding: 0px; border: currentColor; width: 336px; height: 280px; display: inline-table; visibility: visible; position: relative; background-color: transparent; border-image: none;"><ins id="aswift_1_anchor" style="margin: 0px; padding: 0px; border: currentColor; width: 336px; height: 280px; display: block; visibility: visible; position: relative; background-color: transparent; border-image: none;"><iframe name="aswift_1" width="336" height="280" id="aswift_1" frameBorder="0" marginWidth="0" marginHeight="0" scrolling="no" vspace="0" hspace="0" allowfullscreen="true" style="left: 0px; top: 0px; position: absolute;" allowTransparency="true"></iframe></ins></ins>

SMRT has insisted that their staff acted well in the situation pointing out that they had already closed 4 of the 6 entry gates into the platform and staff were deployed to the escalators to stop people from boarding.
There were also announcements made at the platforms to inform commuters of the short delays.
In a statement about the incident, SMRT said:
"While the video shows that there was bunching up of commuters at the top of the escalator, it also shows station staff stopping more commuters from getting onto the escalator, and the escalator was stopped shortly after”.
"Our station staff are trained to manage crowding at platforms and have commuters' safety as their top priority," he said.

Tags:
Editorials

<iframe title="Twitter Tweet Button" class="twitter-share-button twitter-tweet-button twitter-share-button twitter-count-horizontal" id="twitter-widget-0" src="http://platform.twitter.com/widgets/tweet_button.d4db41a5a14a4516e6d4ecf6250c7419.en.html#_=1414125530097&count=horizontal&counturl=http%3A%2F%2Ftherealsingapore.com%2Fcontent%2Fsmrt-we-already-did-lot-stop-commuters-being-squashed-platform&id=twitter-widget-0&lang=en&original_referer=http%3A%2F%2Ftherealsingapore.com%2Fcontent%2Fsmrt-we-already-did-lot-stop-commuters-being-squashed-platform&related=%3A&size=m&text=%20SMRT%3A%20We%20Already%20did%20a%20lot%20to%20Stop%20Commuters%20from%20being%20Squashed%20on%20the%20Platform&url=http%3A%2F%2Ftherealsingapore.com%2Fcontent%2Fsmrt-we-already-did-lot-stop-commuters-being-squashed-platform&via=www.twitter.com%2Frealsingapore" frameBorder="0" scrolling="no" style="width: 107px; height: 20px;" allowTransparency="true" data-twttr-rendered="true"></iframe>

<iframe name="f200988e9a9f6d" width="450" height="1000" title="fb:like Facebook Social Plugin" src="http://www.facebook.com/plugins/like.php?app_id=211494319007033&channel=http%3A%2F%2Fstatic.ak.facebook.com%2Fconnect%2Fxd_arbiter%2F2_ZudbRXWRs.js%3Fversion%3D41%23cb%3Df1d362200cfdfd3%26domain%3Dtherealsingapore.com%26origin%3Dhttp%253A%252F%252Ftherealsingapore.com%252Ff37bda6915f54fc%26relation%3Dparent.parent&href=http%3A%2F%2Ftherealsingapore.com%2Fcontent%2Fsmrt-we-already-did-lot-stop-commuters-being-squashed-platform&layout=button_count&locale=en_GB&sdk=joey&send=false&show_faces=false&width=450" frameBorder="0" scrolling="no" style="border: currentColor; width: 77px; height: 20px; visibility: visible; border-image: none;" allowTransparency="true"></iframe>

<!-- block__no_wrapper --> by Taboolaby Taboola
Sponsored LinksSponsored Links
Promoted LinksPromoted Links

You May Like
Zenfolio 23 Photographers You Need to KnowZenfolio

Undo

PRC stripped naked and beaten in public due to the increase in mistress culture in China

Undo

OptioNavigator 27 Year Old Man from Melbourne makes $3000 per week!OptioNavigator

Undo

Facebook co-founder Eduardo Saverin's Billionaire life in Singapore

Undo

iMoney Singapore Planning a Classy Wedding On a Frugal BudgetiMoney Singapore

Undo

American shares contacts of almost 100 Singapore girls he slept with on Craigslist

Undo

HungryGoWhere 5 Best Fried Hokkien MeeHungryGoWhere

Undo

PRC women fails to claim $330,000 from her Singaporean ex-husband

Undo

<!-- Article 4A --> <!--<script type='text/javascript'>googletag.cmd.push(function() { googletag.display('div-gpt-ad-1406813234749-11'); });</script>
-->
<!-- /.block --> <!-- Article 4A -->

<!-- /.block --> <fb:comments class="fb_iframe_widget" colorscheme="light" fb-xfbml-state="rendered" numposts="8" width="728" migrated="0" href="http://therealsingapore.com/content/smrt-we-already-did-lot-stop-commuters-being-squashed-platform"><iframe name="f19594fbbe96db5" title="Facebook Social Plugin" class="fb_ltr" id="f2cbf20e9daef9e" src="https://www.facebook.com/plugins/comments.php?api_key=211494319007033&channel_url=http%3A%2F%2Fstatic.ak.facebook.com%2Fconnect%2Fxd_arbiter%2F2_ZudbRXWRs.js%3Fversion%3D41%23cb%3Dfde6912eac6cab%26domain%3Dtherealsingapore.com%26origin%3Dhttp%253A%252F%252Ftherealsingapore.com%252Ff37bda6915f54fc%26relation%3Dparent.parent&colorscheme=light&href=http%3A%2F%2Ftherealsingapore.com%2Fcontent%2Fsmrt-we-already-did-lot-stop-commuters-being-squashed-platform&locale=en_GB&numposts=8&sdk=joey&skin=light&width=728" scrolling="no" style="border: currentColor; width: 728px; height: 293px; overflow: hidden; border-image: none;"></iframe></fb:comments>

<!-- /.block -->
<!-- /.block --> <!-- Article 4C --> <!--<script type='text/javascript'>googletag.cmd.push(function() { googletag.display('div-gpt-ad-1410235591227-2'); });</script>
-->
<!-- /.block --> <!-- region__no_wrapper --> <form id="search-block-form--2" action="/content/smrt-we-already-did-lot-stop-commuters-being-squashed-platform" method="post" accept-charset="UTF-8">[h=2]Search form[/h]<label class="element-invisible" for="edit-search-block-form--4">Search </label> <input name="search_block_form" title="Enter the terms you wish to search for." class="form-text" id="edit-search-block-form--4" type="text" size="15" maxLength="128" value="">
<input name="op" class="form-submit" id="edit-submit--2" type="submit" value="Search">
<input name="form_build_id" type="hidden" value="form-R8c01CLnNLGNMs9lQhaFk0a9LW39qvg-9wbdJxdVp6w"> <input name="form_id" type="hidden" value="search_block_form">

</form>
<!-- /#content --> <aside class="sidebars"><section class="region region-sidebar-second column sidebar">
  • Facebook.png
    Facebook
  • Twitter.png
    Twitter
  • YouTube.png
    YouTube
  • RSS.png
    RSS

<center> </center>
<!-- /.block --> [h=2]Search Our Site[/h]<form id="search-block-form" action="/content/smrt-we-already-did-lot-stop-commuters-being-squashed-platform" method="post" accept-charset="UTF-8"><label class="element-invisible" for="edit-search-block-form--2">Search </label> <input name="search_block_form" title="Enter the terms you wish to search for." class="form-text" id="edit-search-block-form--2" type="text" size="15" maxLength="128" value="">
<input name="op" class="form-submit" id="edit-submit" type="submit" value="Search">
<input name="form_build_id" type="hidden" value="form-hCvXvuIMllaMN_oW9UZzPBO4GWP57GmeOxvcA5lcNfg"> <input name="form_id" type="hidden" value="search_block_form">

</form>
<!-- /.block -->
<iframe name="f961c8806e98c7" width="130" height="350" title="fb:like_box Facebook Social Plugin" src="http://www.facebook.com/plugins/like_box.php?app_id=211494319007033&channel=http%3A%2F%2Fstatic.ak.facebook.com%2Fconnect%2Fxd_arbiter%2F2_ZudbRXWRs.js%3Fversion%3D41%23cb%3Df3011dced5c16f4%26domain%3Dtherealsingapore.com%26origin%3Dhttp%253A%252F%252Ftherealsingapore.com%252Ff37bda6915f54fc%26relation%3Dparent.parent&header=true&height=350&href=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.facebook.com%2Ftherealsingapore&locale=en_GB&sdk=joey&show_border=false&show_faces=true&stream=false&width=130" frameBorder="0" scrolling="no" style="border: currentColor; width: 181px; height: 350px; visibility: visible; border-image: none;" allowTransparency="true"></iframe>

<iframe name="f2c3f3abee87158" width="172" height="500" title="fb:recommendations Facebook Social Plugin" src="http://www.facebook.com/plugins/recommendations.php?app_id=211494319007033&channel=http%3A%2F%2Fstatic.ak.facebook.com%2Fconnect%2Fxd_arbiter%2F2_ZudbRXWRs.js%3Fversion%3D41%23cb%3Df230241e830f794%26domain%3Dtherealsingapore.com%26origin%3Dhttp%253A%252F%252Ftherealsingapore.com%252Ff37bda6915f54fc%26relation%3Dparent.parent&header=true&height=500&locale=en_GB&sdk=joey&site=http%3A%2F%2Ftherealsingapore.com&width=172" frameBorder="0" scrolling="no" style="border: currentColor; width: 172px; height: 500px; visibility: visible; border-image: none;" allowTransparency="true"></iframe>

<!-- /.block --> <!-- Article 6A -->
</section></aside>

Idiot SMRT. Please reduce travelling up escalater speed by half.
It will reduce crowd/ accident and energy saving. Also wear and trear of the escalator.

Is it me only or did anyone find the vid damn funny haha
Gong cheebyes kena piled onto one another.....wasted no one fell else it'll be even funnier....
I dunno how those 60.1% can live like this every morning going to work...song bo?
Must be molest galore for peverted cheeko ah peks who get to squeeze into charbors.

smrt was trying to provide bumpyourrump entertainment and pleasure, and you sinkies want to kpkb? who says sg is no fun. very tough crowd to please. :rolleyes: :p

lang jeow lorr... traffic light never work, install ERP gantry lah.

Maybe the staff forgot that they had traffic lights?
Maybe SMRT should now install cameras like the ones at traffic lights - zapping commuters who insist on going up escalator?
Well done, Desmond!

LEGEND

Idiot SMRT. Please reduce travelling up escalater speed by half.
It will reduce crowd/ accident and energy saving. Also wear and trear of the escalator.

If they reduce the travelling speed of the escalator, the jam will be formed at the entry area. Not helping much either.
They need to squeeze as many people in the train to maximise their profit. Shipping people as fast as possible to the platform is one of the way to make sure the trains are fully loaded before it leaves the station. I hope these people voted for PAP! :oIo: Go Hor Gau Kan lah! NabehCheeBye PAPpies! :oIo:

SgGoneWrong

Gong cheebyes kena piled onto one another.....wasted no one fell else it'll be even funnier....
I dunno how those 60.1% can live like this every morning going to work...song bo?
Must be molest galore for peverted cheeko ah peks who get to squeeze into charbors.

Hahaha, i just watched the clip and laughed till my tears rolled out :biggrin:

Very funny indeed, these sinkies are like meat on a fast moving conveyor belt where the finishing end has somehow ran out of mechanism to pack them away resulting in the squash. Some of the commuters looked shocked when they were squashed when they hit into the next person at the finishing line (surfing on the phone).
Count our luck if we were not in the clip, sibeh malu to be there.

And guess what? You get what you voted for :biggrin:

i agree,must get out of sinkieland for ur sanity.....no idea how sinkies can live in this kind of hell.

AttilaTheHun

That is why I stay away form sinkieland.

SgGoneWrong

Smrt needs to have a messaging system like what it had for taxi drivers to inform them to go make money out of stuck commuters when the train broke down last time. This time, the messaging system is for all the cheekopeks to inform them to quickly go squash up with sinkie char bors when breakdowns happen :biggrin:

Cerebral

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
Smrt needs to have a messaging system like what it had for taxi drivers to inform them to go make money out of stuck commuters when the train broke down last time. This time, the messaging system is for all the cheekopeks to inform them to quickly go squash up with sinkie char bors when breakdowns happen :biggrin:

So they should weigh all the commuters. Anyone beyond a certain size or weight will be rejected. Like that, they can squeeze another 50% more.

SgGoneWrong

So they should weigh all the commuters. Anyone beyond a certain size or weight will be rejected. Like that, they can squeeze another 50% more.

Size and weight don't matter.
Last CEO Saw said not packed as sardines, I mean people, are not stacked on top of one another yet :biggrin:

Agree. Machiam lifts like that....with overloading buzzer.
Fat fucks should pay more for a train ticket