• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

40% Increase in Egg Prices Since September. Effect of Causeway Toll Hike by FAP?

I buy the organic eggs that are shipped from NZ. NTUC is selling them at $10.50 for 10.
I have also noticed that the yolks are darker than the cheaper brands.

That's not a price peasants are going to pay. :rolleyes:

It's definitely caused by the increased toll charges... please don't tell me there's another round of bird flu or the hens have collectively stopped laying eggs, resulting in short supply. :rolleyes:

But no worries, folks such as Josephine 'Flat Kar Chng' Teo can afford super expensive, organic, airflown eggs. :kma:

[video=youtube;-DOJDxWugN0]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-DOJDxWugN0[/video]

kaipoh

Fuck you sir, why you posted my photo, the egg price is not in my porforlio lah! anywy, you can get cheap egg from China (fake one) what is the problem?

[h=1]EGG PRICES RISES AGAIN, SOME SUPERMARKETS RAISE PRICES 40% SINCE SEPTEMBER[/h]
<!-- /.block --> <style>.node-article .field-name-link-line-above-tags{float: right;}.node-article .field-name-ad-box-in-article {float: left;margin: 15px 15px 10px 0;}.node-article .field-tags{clear: both;}</style> Post date:
21 Oct 2014 - 9:44am

<ins id="aswift_0_expand" style="margin: 0px; padding: 0px; border: currentColor; width: 336px; height: 280px; display: inline-table; visibility: visible; position: relative; background-color: transparent; border-image: none;"><ins id="aswift_0_anchor" style="margin: 0px; padding: 0px; border: currentColor; width: 336px; height: 280px; display: block; visibility: visible; position: relative; background-color: transparent; border-image: none;"><iframe name="aswift_0" width="336" height="280" id="aswift_0" frameBorder="0" marginWidth="0" marginHeight="0" scrolling="no" vspace="0" hspace="0" allowfullscreen="true" style="left: 0px; top: 0px; position: absolute;" allowTransparency="true"></iframe></ins></ins>

The price of fresh eggs in Singapore have risen sharply over the last few weeks as several farms in Malaysia have been suspended from exporting eggs to Singapore.

In the last 6 months, three different farms have been stopped from sending their eggs to Singapore and while the three farms only make up about 8% of Singapore’s supply of eggs, supermarkets here are raising prices significantly to make up for the shortfall.

The most recent suspension was the Charoen Pokphand Jaya farm which had its eggs suspended from export to Singapore because they had Salmonella Enteritidis in them. This is a bacteria which causes food poisoning. The two other farms were Chong Ne Nam which was suspended in March and Teo Seng Farm which was suspended in July.
None of the three farms have been approved for resume exports to Singapore.

At Sheng Siong, a box of 30 eggs has risen to $5.95 a box, back in September it was only $4.30. That’s almost a 40% rise in just 1 month.

<ins id="aswift_1_expand" style="margin: 0px; padding: 0px; border: currentColor; width: 336px; height: 280px; display: inline-table; visibility: visible; position: relative; background-color: transparent; border-image: none;"><ins id="aswift_1_anchor" style="margin: 0px; padding: 0px; border: currentColor; width: 336px; height: 280px; display: block; visibility: visible; position: relative; background-color: transparent; border-image: none;"><iframe name="aswift_1" width="336" height="280" id="aswift_1" frameBorder="0" marginWidth="0" marginHeight="0" scrolling="no" vspace="0" hspace="0" allowfullscreen="true" style="left: 0px; top: 0px; position: absolute;" allowTransparency="true"></iframe></ins></ins>

Over at NTUC Fairprice, eggs have seen a slightly smaller increase going up to 5c to 20c a box. FairPrice explained that the total increase has been about 12% for eggs at their supermarkets.

Giant Supermarket have also increased their egg prices up to 7%.

Currently there are 20 farms in Malaysia which are approved by AVA to export to Singapore. These make up about three quarters of the 1.68 billion eggs consumed in Singapore last year. The other quarter is produced in Singapore.

Other factors pushing prices up include the higher demand thanks to festivities this month. Prices are not likely to go down again at least until after the Deepavali celebrations.

Have you people gone into NTUC Farceprice supermarket lately??....it feels kind of empty, like it is not stocked...only those perishables are changed daily...but other products are not stocked....one glaring sight, was the tissue papers, toilet & kitchen rolls section..is almost empty, I went to three supermarkets...one "finest"....they are almost empty & in one a notice was saying..."they are facing some supply issues....".

Are they facing supply chain problems? for most of what we buy come from across the causeway & with the increased in toll fess.....transportation will now become major problem right?...

Don't think, eggs prices have gone up only.....other products too & then others....it is a multiplier effect....like the "tetris effect" on the escalator...thank you to a very educated people in parliament...no?

Have you people gone into NTUC Farceprice supermarket lately??....it feels kind of empty, like it is not stocked...only those perishables are changed daily...but other products are not stocked....one glaring sight, was the tissue papers, toilet & kitchen rolls section..is almost empty, I went to three supermarkets...one "finest"....they are almost empty & in one a notice was saying..."they are facing some supply issues....".

Are they facing supply chain problems? for most of what we buy come from across the causeway & with the increased in toll fess.....transportation will now become major problem right?...

Don't think, eggs prices have gone up only.....other products too & then others....it is a multiplier effect....like the "tetris effect" on the escalator...thank you to a very educated people in parliament...no?

It's very easy to find out why. All you need to do is head over to JB and observe the prices and supply of eggs in shops and supermarkets. JB has more or less been infected by price inflation due to Sinkie shopping and Iskandar/Danga Bay developments, so the price difference is not too great even if you factor in currency conversion.

hofmann

Expensive eggs means people will just have to ea tless eggs Lor. Eat too much also bad for health.

There is still the debate between the experts on how many eggs are good for you or bad for you....in the distant past, my good old doctor..will tell me " 8 eggs a week"...but my argument was, you find eggs in almost anything we eat outside...can we limit to 8 eggs??
So, it means..." eat in moderation"

Yes...expensive, we can do without eggs, our government is very expensive & they are one of the causes in making our costs expensive, by throttling our salaries & increasing all prices..

eggs expensive, we can live without...we should also, live without an expensive government....can we throw eggs at them?:rolleyes:

It's very easy to find out why. All you need to do is head over to JB and observe the prices and supply of eggs in shops and supermarkets. JB has more or less been infected by price inflation due to Sinkie shopping and Iskandar/Danga Bay developments, so the price difference is not too great even if you factor in currency conversion.

Prices had gone up , not only in JB, in Melaka, in Penang & in KL too....factoring the difference in currency exchange....for example, "wanton mee" in JB now cost RM4.50, up from the usual $2.30 & many of the old shops have closed down..to us, RM4.50 is still affordable....

The problem is not only in supply, fuel cost, labor cost, transportation cost, rental etc...have gone up, thanks to the Singapore Government helping them...now, the Malaysian Government too caught the 'greedy bug'...

mikec

When diseases found on eggs start to settle down lets see if prices will come down . . . . let's see. Remember petrol and electricity prices

Even ypur CPF EGGS also gone...what more chicken eggs.

They will tell you, they have "preserved the eggs" for you, when you retire, you get "CENTURIES EGGS", not Century....remember, " long term investment"....you get your "eggs"...may centuries later..that is why they are now 'WELL PRESERVED CENTURIES EGGS".. HA HA HA

hofmann

They will tell you, they have "preserved the eggs" for you, when you retire, you get "CENTURIES EGGS", not Century....remember, " long term investment"....you get your "eggs"...may centuries later..that is why they are now 'WELL PRESERVED CENTURIES EGGS".. HA HA HA

are the farm yields sufficient?

The previous Indian gov't was kicked out because they were not able to rein in food inflation e.g. the high cost of onions.

In Spore we have increasing price of eggs, shortage of toilet paper, expensive electricity, expensive public transport.... These problems on top of the other problems: over crowding, dengue, flooding, MRT breakdowns, riots, corruption, CPF, ..

It is beginning to look like the PAP might lose some votes.

The previous Indian gov't was kicked out because they were not able to rein in food inflation e.g. the high cost of onions.

In Spore we have increasing price of eggs, shortage of toilet paper, expensive electricity, expensive public transport.... These problems on top of the other problems: over crowding, dengue, flooding, MRT breakdowns, riots, corruption, CPF, ..

It is beginning to look like the PAP might lose some votes.

In other countries, some of the pappies might even lose their lives. :wink: