• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

S'porean plumber unable to compete with cheaper malaysians with no work permit

[h=1]S'POREAN PLUMBER UNABLE TO COMPETE WITH CHEAPER MALAYSIANS WITH NO WORK PERMIT[/h]
<!-- /.block --> <style>.node-article .field-name-link-line-above-tags{float: right;}.node-article .field-name-ad-box-in-article {float: left;margin: 15px 15px 10px 0;}.node-article .field-tags{clear: both;}</style> Post date:
20 Oct 2014 - 8:49am

<ins id="aswift_0_expand" style="margin: 0px; padding: 0px; border: currentColor; width: 336px; height: 280px; display: inline-table; visibility: visible; position: relative; background-color: transparent; border-image: none;"><ins id="aswift_0_anchor" style="margin: 0px; padding: 0px; border: currentColor; width: 336px; height: 280px; display: block; visibility: visible; position: relative; background-color: transparent; border-image: none;"><iframe name="aswift_0" width="336" height="280" id="aswift_0" frameBorder="0" marginWidth="0" marginHeight="0" scrolling="no" vspace="0" hspace="0" allowfullscreen="true" style="left: 0px; top: 0px; position: absolute;" allowTransparency="true"></iframe></ins></ins>

The PRC crook, Yang Yin, who, incidentally, has been endorsed by the PAP, is, apparently, not the only FT crook who has been stealing the rice bowls of Singaporean PMETs. I, quite recently,had an interesting conversation with a Singaporean plumber who is duly licensed by the PUB.

His grievance is that skilled Singaporeans like him who have slogged through years of training in order to obtain their vocational licenses are unable to compete with uncertified Malaysian "technicians" who do not have valid work permits in Singapore and who commute from JB every morning.

The irony, it seems, is that the ICA does not even question these Malaysians as to why they come into Singapore daily or ask to see their Singapore work permits. The perpetrators of this crime are local contractors who want to cut costs by dispensing with the engagement of licensed Singaporean technicians in favour of cheaper, unlicensed Malaysian" talent".

Apparently, these contractors do a deal with just one licensed Singaporean to sign-off on plumbing or electrical works for a fixed fee but the actual work is done, unsupervised, by the unlicensed Malaysian "talent". This, apparently, reduces the contractor's costs by more than half.

Since the ICA is supposed to be our border "control" and the MOM is supposed to be responsible for ensuring that foreigners who work here hold valid work permits or employment passes, why, I wonder, are these unlicensed Malaysians able to zip in and out of Singapore on Malaysian-registered motorcycles without any legal impediment?

<ins id="aswift_1_expand" style="margin: 0px; padding: 0px; border: currentColor; width: 336px; height: 280px; display: inline-table; visibility: visible; position: relative; background-color: transparent; border-image: none;"><ins id="aswift_1_anchor" style="margin: 0px; padding: 0px; border: currentColor; width: 336px; height: 280px; display: block; visibility: visible; position: relative; background-color: transparent; border-image: none;"><iframe name="aswift_1" width="336" height="280" id="aswift_1" frameBorder="0" marginWidth="0" marginHeight="0" scrolling="no" vspace="0" hspace="0" allowfullscreen="true" style="left: 0px; top: 0px; position: absolute;" allowTransparency="true"></iframe></ins></ins>

To me, the crux of the issue is, why are government agencies allowing local contractors to perpetrate a crime in broad day light and allowing unlicensed Malaysians to deprive home-grown Singaporean technicians of what is rightfully theirs? What sort of government closes both eyes to crimes committed against its own citizens?

Regina Widawipuro Raja Petra

I do not why these PxP voters are complaining now?? the Malaysians tradesmen had been crossing the borders daily for more than 30 years....back then, the 'rice bin' was big enough to feed, one & all...now the "rice" had shrunk & there are more 'animals' feeding from the same bin....the local 'rats' are complaining...WHO DID THESE PEOPLE BELIEVED IN & VOTED FOR?

They will tell you, in order to compete..UPGRADE YOUR SKILLS, pay them more money & get better qualifications....but they did not tell you, while you are doing that, these "FT's" from Malaysia & elsewhere are busy accumulating wealth & you, poor SINgaporeans...will become, very educated, qualified, BUT POOR!.

Your government had allowed this to happen...what complain? you ask for the best..you get the best to screw you... ha ha ha ha ha

I think they (Malaysians and PRCs) are also encroaching into the karung guni business. :wink:

Malaysians into Garang guni business...is not new!!....99% of those Garang Guni are Malaysians...you look around, Malaysians are everywhere....in the parliament too....soon, you have a china man, a Pinoy, an India Ah Neh....too.

gingerlyn

nowadays I can see malaysians riding motorbike and work as delivery boys.
I think we shall give prank calls to these delivery boys from malaysia and let them suffer.
how about that

melzp

these M'sians hv been renovating the lavish homes of the elites/Ministers for decades.
Will they care ? Cheaper, Faster......
Electricians, mason, painters, floor polish, etc
How come our Mr MOM tan chuan jin did not address these problems;
depriving our unemployed locals the jobs?

rambo22

10 out of 11 blind tissue sellers led by an able body uncle or aunty are from
boleh land

every morn u can see them emerging from Geylang hotel and take cab to downtown hawker
centre to sell their wares

while most sg workers have to squeeze inside trains

The Singapore tradesmen need to be more productive in order to compete with foreigners. NTUC understands that so that is why they conduct classes to upgrade skills instead of using hooligan tactics of licensing tradesmen operating in SG. Remember, sg belongs to everyone.

[QUOTE To me, the crux of the issue is, why are government agencies allowing local contractors to perpetrate a crime in broad day light and allowing unlicensed Malaysians to deprive home-grown Singaporean technicians of what is rightfully theirs? What sort of government closes both eyes to crimes committed against its own citizens?[/B][/COLOR]

Regina Widawipuro Raja Petra[/QUOTE]

Malaysian plumber having a tough time competing with bangaldeshis. That is how the world revolves.

bigboss

It is a never ending game of deceit and deception. The papees created the loopholes for the foreigners to exploit the system but kept their eyes shut on the illegal activities.

These foreigners became SPRs, established companies in sinkie land and chased after contracts. For manpower, they employed their country men through word of mouth, who are illegals, on daily wage, no permit, no CPF, no levy. SPR boss happy, illegals happy. Collect S$ to pay bills in RM in mudland. Who wants to complain?

Do MOM or ICA launch raids to check on plumbers, painters, carpenters in small factories, workshops, etc? Never. They see nothing, they know nothing, they do nothing. Meanwhile, those locals with plumbing licence, and all kinds of trade licences, are affected by these illegal activities and look foolish in the eyes of these foreigners.