• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

PAP could lose dominance in 15 years: Ho Kwon Ping

bigboss

Re: Timetable for PAP loss of power

2016 - PAP gets thrown out of power. It is doable. PAP is destroying sinkapore.

There are more sinkies today who are willing to throw their votes to any oppo party except to the paps. A freak result may see the pap losing their domination of Parliament. It is not a question of "doable" but whether local born sinkies have got the gut to elect a new team of Govt for a better political environment.

bigboss

....what u can do is give them your utmost support while they are still doing a good job

If paps were doing a good job, they would not have lost Aljunied GRC, Hougang and Punggol. Decades ago, sinkies worshipped LKY and the Old Guards because their policies benefitted the people. Today, it seems the foreigners are better off than sinkies in their own country.

Singapore was ruled by a bully and tyrant and is build on Sinking sand.

VTO 2016 PAP will see expedite change over of a New Singapore.

Civil servants are intimidated by PAP Leegime and time for them to make these changes and dare to VTO PAP out.

When shames are in civil services no good men will want to come forward to serve the People.

civil servants not intimidated..........they scared won't get their 3 mth bonus if PAP kana kicked out.......

u must be kidding!

they do not have balls or else ppl lives would have improved tremendously :smile:

hang them by their dick!

got dick meh? doubt anyone actually wears the pant in there. pee also must squat.

Chances are still there that LHL may get booted out in GE2016. It happened unexpectedly to Georgie Boy in GE2011. Why it cannot happen in AMK in GE2016?

Because Pinky has a larger group of fanboys and fangirls than Georgie.

It all depends on the AMK residents.

3_M

It might be or might not be so. When SdP captured 4 seats in 1991, many thought it was a start of a new era but what happen after that? Politics don't always evolved in a linear trend.

There are more sinkies today who are willing to throw their votes to any oppo party except to the paps. A freak result may see the pap losing their domination of Parliament. It is not a question of "doable" but whether local born sinkies have got the gut to elect a new team of Govt for a better political environment.

Many older Sporeans who are not part of the system will have reasons to tekan the PAP. They will be concerned their CPF & the future of their children.

In the past some of them could leave Spore but that avenue is getting more difficult. These Spreans may also have been pro-PAP before they were played out

soIsee

I want the PAP to be totally eradicated, its members all rounded up and thrown into concentration camps.

A few prominent ones get publicly executed, on live tv.
They don't even deserve to become the opposition.

Concentration camps?

I always say it's best to start off with the guillotine. All those who had a part to make and formulate policies and decision. This will wake up the rest of the lower rung.

And those lesser culpable ones then go to the concentration camp or they can re-create another Changi resort called Cluster PAP. LoL

i have heard that the pro pap supporters said that if pap fall, they will leave s'pore. not joking...:o

Wanderer

Sibei cute this chap Ho Kwon Ping. 15 years?? Harlo? In this age, things move so fast, we don't even know 10 years later would earth be around or not, not to talk about Singapore.

We see mass protest in the streets of hk 15 years after handover. It is possible that if the papzis are not voted out peacefully, an underclass will rise up in a more coordinated manner to register their disatisfaction to a majority that is seen to be in cahoots with the papzis to oppress them.

PAP supporters better face the music - would you prefer the daily drama in hk or would you prefer to exercise you vote with broader concerns other than your own?

hofmann

PAP supporters better face the music - would you prefer the daily drama in hk or would you prefer to exercise you vote with broader concerns other than your own?

More likely than not, it'll be the swing votes rather than the pro pap/oppo votes that will decide the outcome.

Kwon Ping : New media erodes Govt’s ability to shape public thinking

“Anything censored is still widely available in alternative media, and therein lies the rub: At what point will control and censorship of the mainstream news, cultural and entertainment media become counter-productive by not really achieving the purpose of blocking access to information, but, instead, end up alienating the social activists who, despite their small size, are influencers beyond their numbers?”

Mr Ho also noted that it will be increasingly difficult to hold the political centre together in the midst of polarising extremes – liberals versus conservatives; local versus foreign; pro-life versus pro-abortion; gay versus straight, and so forth.

“While fault lines along race and religion have been contained and have still not cracked, the so-called culture wars are intensifying,” he said.

Another trend is the diminution in the stature of political leadership which will encourage the rise of so-called “non-constructive” politics.

“Future leaders simply cannot command the sufficient respect and moral authority to decree what is acceptable and unacceptable criticisms. To have the authority to simply deride wide swathes of criticisms as simply non-constructive is wishful thinking,” he said.

The fourth trend is the gulf between rich and poor Singaporeans.

“In recent years, the ostentatious pursuit of wealth rivalling Hong Kong standards has become fashionable. Extolling our casinos, Formula 1 Grand Prix and highest per capita number of billionaires and Lamborghinis in the world, as evidence that Singapore has now become a world-class city, could perhaps be dismissed as the crassness of the rich, except that this ethos of the elite is occurring just when income inequality has become the worst since independence,” Mr Ho said.

“The gulf between rich and poor Singaporeans, not only in terms of wealth but also in terms of.....http://www.tremeritus.com/2014/10/2...ining-govts-ability-to-shape-public-thinking/

Re: Kwon Ping : New media erodes Govt’s ability to shape public thinking

Why no mention of corrupt & self serving policies?

New media makes it difficult for the PAP to hide what they are doing.