• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Is Thailand that Bad a Place for SGs to Retire in As the 154th Tried to Portray?

[h=1]STRAITS TIMES’ BIAS REPORT SKEWS INTERVIEWS WITH RETIREES TO PAINT CHIANG MAI IN A BAD LIGHT[/h]
<!-- /.block --> <style>.node-article .field-name-link-line-above-tags{float: right;}.node-article .field-name-ad-box-in-article {float: left;margin: 15px 15px 10px 0;}.node-article .field-tags{clear: both;}</style> Post date:
15 Oct 2014 - 1:10pm

<ins id="aswift_0_expand" style="margin: 0px; padding: 0px; border: currentColor; width: 336px; height: 280px; display: inline-table; visibility: visible; position: relative; background-color: transparent; border-image: none;"><ins id="aswift_0_anchor" style="margin: 0px; padding: 0px; border: currentColor; width: 336px; height: 280px; display: block; visibility: visible; position: relative; background-color: transparent; border-image: none;"><iframe name="aswift_0" width="336" height="280" id="aswift_0" frameBorder="0" marginWidth="0" marginHeight="0" scrolling="no" vspace="0" hspace="0" allowfullscreen="true" style="left: 0px; top: 0px; position: absolute;" allowTransparency="true"></iframe></ins></ins>

The Straits Times on Sunday (12 Oct) published a report about the state of retirement in Chiang Mai, a popular option for Singaporean retirees who want a slower pace of life in retirement.

The reporter had interviewed several foreign retirees in Chiang Mai, asking them about the retirement conditions there and had focused heavily on the negatives there, such as the lack of welfare and support for retirees there as well as well as the many financial problems, visa issues etc.

The report, written by Nirmal Ghosh, the ST Indochina Bureau Chief in Thailand, had highlighted rather extreme examples of retirees left old, alone and helpless there. However, the negative light cast on retiring in Chiang Mai sounded very biased and The Real Singapore got in contact with one of the Singaporean residents in Chiang Mai who was mentioned in the ST article.

According to Mrs June Unland, she had been interviewed by Mr Ghosh but was dismayed to see how negative the article eventually turned out. In a phone conversation with TRS, she shared how she had outlined for Mr Ghosh many positive aspects of living in Chiang Mai but most of these were excluded from the report.

<ins id="aswift_1_expand" style="margin: 0px; padding: 0px; border: currentColor; width: 336px; height: 280px; display: inline-table; visibility: visible; position: relative; background-color: transparent; border-image: none;"><ins id="aswift_1_anchor" style="margin: 0px; padding: 0px; border: currentColor; width: 336px; height: 280px; display: block; visibility: visible; position: relative; background-color: transparent; border-image: none;"><iframe name="aswift_1" width="336" height="280" id="aswift_1" frameBorder="0" marginWidth="0" marginHeight="0" scrolling="no" vspace="0" hspace="0" allowfullscreen="true" style="left: 0px; top: 0px; position: absolute;" allowTransparency="true"></iframe></ins></ins>

June Unland, 46, has lived in Chiang Mai with her husband and children for almost 13 years now. She shared that it is a suitable destination for Singaporeans in particular, because culturally, the food is similar, it is an Asian country and it is close to Singapore, making travel for families very convenient. It is a very affordable option as one can enjoy a similar standard of living at 1/3 to half of the cost of living in Singapore.

Mrs Unland shared that she wasn’t sure why ST chose to focus on so many negative points in the article.

When we analyse the bias article in relation to the propaganda regularly churned out by our mainstream media, it may be that ST wanted to publish something like this to make Singapore look better.

By putting popular retirement desitnations in a bad light, it makes citizens think twice about going overseas and may make them appreciate Singapore more.
However, as Mrs Unland shared, the report itself had skipped many of the good points about Chiang Mai

What do you think?

During Songkrang Chiang Mai's temperature is hovering at 40 degC but then it's great to jump into the many klongs (canals) damn fun but then sinkies may be to uptight for such activities

Chiang Mai has a cool climate and great nature.

What does Sinkieland have? :rolleyes:
leehsienloongpointingfingers_zpsefb36004.jpg
ho-ching-1.jpg

Stompiss

Another brainwashing article form the Shitty Times, so much to do in Chiang Mai, Mae Hong San is one of them.

this story happened in the 90's, friend's rich uncle decided to retire in thailand, can't remember where and he ended up being murdered. dun flaunt your wealth when you are there, thais are not all friendly.

sochi2014

Beri interesting that people who are against FTs supports beingFTs in another country.

What an irony!!!

Sometimes i feel that i am living in a communist country.

Come to LOS to be liberated, some say could be unsinkified too.

[video=youtube;YVacSSR96Nc]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YVacSSR96Nc[/video]

obviously this isnt true,PAP wants to ship all our elderly to jb or overseas to die,why would they want to keep these economical burdens here in sg,especially when the cost of feeding them and caring for them is much higher than in those 3rd world shitholes.....

gimme a break,why u guys defending chiang mai?a shit hole is a shit hole dont matter what good points it has,just because it has cheap prostitutes and 3rd world bitches willing to suck ur brokeass old dick if u become their $300 a month sugar daddy and the main industry driving their economy is 1970s shopping centers filled with more whores and prostitutes and more pubs and ktv clubs and cheap beers and cheap whores.....if these sinkies peasants had money they would be migrating to australia or new zealand to retire,not die in some 3rd world shit hole away from civilisation.

fucking dumbass sinkies,is that all u aspire to in life?u dont want retire in france or germany or europe or canada.u want to die in a country where the only culture and intellectual activities is fucking and sucking and drinking and smoking and cheap sleazy women and karaoke?

By putting popular retirement desitnations in a bad light, it makes citizens think twice about going overseas and may make them appreciate Singapore more.
However, as Mrs Unland shared, the report itself had skipped many of the good points about Chiang Mai

What do you think?

this story happened in the 90's, friend's rich uncle decided to retire in thailand, can't remember where and he ended up being murdered. dun flaunt your wealth when you are there, thais are not all friendly.

Wear your SAF uniform there, Thais respect military men in uniform.

obviously this isnt true,PAP wants to ship all our elderly to jb or overseas to die,why would they want to keep these economical burdens here in sg,especially when the cost of feeding them and caring for them is much higher than in those 3rd world shitholes.....

gimme a break,why u guys defending chiang mai?a shit hole is a shit hole dont matter what good points it has,just because it has cheap prostitutes and 3rd world bitches willing to suck ur brokeass old dick if u become their $300 a month sugar daddy and the main industry driving their economy is 1970s shopping centers filled with more whores and prostitutes and more pubs and ktv clubs and cheap beers and cheap whores.....if these sinkies peasants had money they would be migrating to australia or new zealand to retire,not die in some 3rd world shit hole away from civilisation.

fucking dumbass sinkies,is that all u aspire to in life?u dont want retire in france or germany or europe or canada.u want to die in a country where the only culture and intellectual activities is fucking and sucking and drinking and smoking and cheap sleazy women and karaoke?

Don't be silly. The old folks provide a fantastic income opportunity for the elderly care and nursing home industry here. They provide jobs for FT caregivers and profits for the cronies running them.

Every 'Pioneer' who manages to retire out of the SG Inc plantation diminishes the potential amount of earnings.

Don't be silly. The old folks provide a fantastic income opportunity for the elderly care and nursing home industry here. They provide jobs for FT caregivers and profits for the cronies running them.

Every 'Pioneer' who manages to retire out of the SG Inc plantation diminishes the potential amount of earnings.

problem is these sinkies are so poor they dont even have money to pay for their elderly care.the money has to come from one place- the government.not to mention the medical bills for the elderly are humongous.better to just ship them off to chaing mai where all their needs can be taken care of for $300 a month.and let productive and healthy fts take their place.

OverTheCounter

STRAITS TIMES’ BIAS REPORT SKEWS INTERVIEWS WITH RETIREES TO PAINT CHIANG MAI IN A BAD LIGHT

According to Mrs June Unland, she had been interviewed by Mr Ghosh but was dismayed to see how negative the article eventually turned out. In a phone conversation with TRS, she shared how she had outlined for Mr Ghosh many positive aspects of living in Chiang Mai but most of these were excluded from the report.

What do you think?

What's new man???

Sinkapoor's govt and its presstitudes always tries to put neighbouring countries in a bad light so as to whitewash Sinkapoor as the only livable place in the region.

Their dishonesty and duplicity knows no bounds.<style>.node-article .field-name-link-line-above-tags{float: right;}.node-article .field-name-ad-box-in-article {float: left;margin: 15px 15px 10px 0;}.node-article .field-tags{clear: both;}</style>