• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

disgraceful soccer pitch for brazil national team

blissquek

It must be very profitable to be a PAP contractor.

More profitable for the Braziiansl....the world champ who lost to Germany 7-1...

How in the world when in a corner kick taken against Brazil, none of the Brazilian defenders jump for the ball..???

World class kelong...they must have made a lot of money and retire...

Don't be surprise..this friendly...Japan wins 7-1....

Sideswipe

the samba kings to destroy the dwarf pirates.

the organizers said the match is sold-out. the fans are foolish enough to fill the stadium to watch a meaningless friendly game to make money for Singapore FA and Brazil/Japan.

Who would you rather believe: Dunga, or some crony-bureaucrat making excuses after excuses, who's echoed by the prostitute press? :wink:

National Stadium pitch 'safe' for play: Sports Hub on eve of Japan-Brazil clash
http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/national-stadium-pitch/1412968.html

Brazil, Japan coaches slam Sports Hub pitch ahead of Singapore friendly
https://sg.sports.yahoo.com/blogs/f...ch-ahead-of-singapore-friendly-140825499.html

Brazil coach Dunga voiced concerns about the state of the Sports Hub stadium pitch, ahead of his team’s glamour friendly clash with Japan on Tuesday.

Millionaire superstars such as Neymar, Robinho, Kaka and Oscar -- who all need to return to club duty this weekend, hopefully injury-free -- could be seen kicking up clouds of sand as they chased an awkwardly bouncing ball during a pre-match training session at the stadium.

“I feel that most of it is sand, not grass,” Dunga said during a press conference after the session.

More profitable for the Braziiansl....the world champ who lost to Germany 7-1...

How in the world when in a corner kick taken against Brazil, none of the Brazilian defenders jump for the ball..???

World class kelong...they must have made a lot of money and retire...

Don't be surprise..this friendly...Japan wins 7-1....

That Brazilian 7-1 kelong is a once a lifetime/career kelong.
Dun expect it to be repeated anytime soon.
And certainly not in a no one bothers about match like today's.
last great kelong before this was 3-0 surrender to France in 98 finals.
Funny how both times their star player was out.....Ronaldo in 1998 and Neymar in 2014....though for Neymar he kept his reputation intact.

That Brazilian 7-1 kelong is a once a lifetime/career kelong.
Dun expect it to be repeated anytime soon.
And certainly not in a no one bothers about match like today's.
last great kelong before this was 3-0 surrender to France in 98 finals.
Funny how both times their star player was out.....Ronaldo in 1998 and Neymar in 2014....though for Neymar he kept his reputation intact.

Not really kelong, but Scolari was resting on reputation and past achievements too much... sounds familiar? :wink:

A lot of good Brazilian players were not picked, and even if they were picked, they were not used in a proper way.

OverTheCounter

Just goes to show that the Singapore establishment, in this case the Sports Council, has degenerated to nothing more than some back-alley third world bunch of clueless pricks. Spend so much money on lighting, turf, etc but due to horrible planning and procrastination, screwed the whole damn thing up. Did not even do proper research into the feasibility of using hybrid turf of this design in our climate.

Want to make their political masters look good, but in the end due to sheer incompetence, messed the whole thing up until it becomes a national disgrace. All that good money down the drain too. How much spent so far? 2 million? 2 million for a fucked up turf that cannot even compare to a neighbourhood residential park in some other country.

Why neber use the same grass contractor as turfclub. Knn, turfclub every week at least one day run on turf, that 9-12 races with average of 8 horses per race thunder across the straight, yet the lane closest to the inner rail still full of turf every race day.

Because Turf Club grass contractor and maintenance company is a local mah. Same for all the golf courses in singapore. When they build this white elephant National Stadium, it was not sexy to hire local for the grass. Must be some high class angmo tuakee who can recommend some exotic blend of turf that has never been used this near the equator. Otherwise, how can they justify flying to Europe and North America to "check out all the potential grass companies" and get free taxpayer holiday at the same time? Right now, they will give their right balls to have the same type of grass on any fairway on any golf course in singapore in their field. But fairway grass put in by local company and maintain by apuneh FT contractors is not expensive enough for them mah.

OverTheCounter

Because Turf Club grass contractor and maintenance company is a local mah. Same for all the golf courses in singapore. When they build this white elephant National Stadium, it was not sexy to hire local for the grass. Must be some high class angmo tuakee who can recommend some exotic blend of turf that has never been used this near the equator. Otherwise, how can they justify flying to Europe and North America to "check out all the potential grass companies" and get free taxpayer holiday at the same time? Right now, they will give their right balls to have the same type of grass on any fairway on any golf course in singapore in their field. But fairway grass put in by local company and maintain by apuneh FT contractors is not expensive enough for them mah.

You are spot on in your analysis. Although may I add they cannot give their right balls to have the grass because they don't have any to give.

OverTheCounter

This is our $2 million grass. One year minister's pay hor!!!!!!

attachment.php

• 2milliongrass.JPG
    2milliongrass.JPG
    44.5 KB · Views: 211

Just goes to show that the Singapore establishment, in this case the Sports Council, has degenerated to nothing more than some back-alley third world bunch of clueless pricks. Spend so much money on lighting, turf, etc but due to horrible planning and procrastination, screwed the whole damn thing up. Did not even do proper research into the feasibility of using hybrid turf of this design in our climate.

Want to make their political masters look good, but in the end due to sheer incompetence, messed the whole thing up until it becomes a national disgrace. All that good money down the drain too. How much spent so far? 2 million? 2 million for a fucked up turf that cannot even compare to a neighbourhood residential park in some other country.

For decades now, the PAP has been using the SSC to park their SAF senior levels after they retire from the SAF or forced out. This is to give them time to integrate back into the civilian world and find a cushy job. Therefore, the people running SSC really have no professional experience running any sort of sporting organization. Ex generals and colonels do not make good managers, you have to look no further than Desmond Quek in SMRT. Their mistakes and lack of experience translates into all these millions $ fuckups, all at the expense of the taxpayer. But 60% suckers still want to vote the PAP back in.

Current SSC Staff:

Toh Boon Yi - Chief of Strategic Development and Marketing Group = Col (Retd) Toh Boon Yi, SAF Scholar, ex-Commander 4SAB

Chief, Sports Facilities Group (SFG) = Col. Retd Kenneth Hui, Commander 4th Singapore Armoured Brigade (SAB) (September 2005 - August 2006)
Kenneth Hui

CEO Lim Teck Yin = BG Lim Teck Yin, ex-commandant SAFTI

U can see these ex SAF personnel are just the latest in a series of SAF shits brought in. u can thank them for goodies like importing FT sports "talents" to the national team. Screwing up the best sports thing singapore had i.e. malaysia cup football, etc.

OverTheCounter

https://sg.sports.yahoo.com/blogs/f...hord-with-many-025022049.html?linkId=10008310

“You’ve sold out, haven’t you? You’re more about money, moving in a direction I don’t understand. Honestly, I miss the old you,” said Singapore footballer Baihakki Khaizan in an Instagram post on Monday.

The 30-year-old national defender, a veteran member of the Lions team for over a decade, described Singapore's billion-dollar Sports Hub as “all fancy”, with “all the bells and whistles”.

But he missed the old Kallang stadium, which was completely torn down in 2011 to make way for the new state-of-the-art Hub.

“I remember the plain you, and they are wonderful memories. We won championships on the platform you provided, I became a Lion on your lawn… You’re different now. And I’m not convinced by how you’re behaving now.”

Baihakki highlighted former Singapore sprinters C Kunalan and Glory Barnabas as well as retired discus thrower James Wong -- "all names that shine form our sporting past shone on your lap" -- who inspired the entire nation with their sporting achievements at the old National Stadium.

"You don't seem to know your priorities anymore, and I don't see how new stars will be born in you again," before ending the post with the hashtags "#stadiumforconcerts" and "#$$$".

The post attracted over 4,000 Likes and numerous comments agreeing with his sentiment.

An @eddierazak said, “If a football player, representing his nation is saying this… then something is wrong somewhere. Whatever you raised is exactly my sentiments bro.”

Not really kelong, but Scolari was resting on reputation and past achievements too much... sounds familiar? :wink:

A lot of good Brazilian players were not picked, and even if they were picked, they were not used in a proper way.

Scolari picked essentially European based players who all play a different system in their respective club teams. He should have picked and used the best brazilian based players from clubs like Santos, Corinthians, etc. as they would have been familiar playing with themselves and in the similar brazilian club style.

this is racist and prejudiced u hear!!!!!!!they protect their elite and priviledged football stars while expecting the peasant and proletariat and common stock football players to risk their lives and getting killed playing on Singapore's pitch of death!!!!!!

By the way, S$800,000 pitch. What a welcome insult to brazil and japan. Sports minister, any word?

https://sg.sports.yahoo.com/blogs/fit-to-post-sports/singapore-s-new-national-stadium-sells-out-japan-brazil-clash--but-will--appalling--pitch-hold-up-030457777-soccer.html

All 55,000 tickets have been snapped up for a blockbuster exhibition between football giants Brazil and Japan at the new Singapore National Stadium on Tuesday.
This is the first-ever sold-out event at the crown jewel of the billion-dollar Singapore Sports Hub, according to event promoter World Sport Group.
While all eyes will be on the likes of Brazilian golden boy Neymar and Blue Samurai heartthrob Keisuke Honda, it is the abysmal state of the National Stadium’s pitch that threatens to upset the show.
A Reuters report on Friday said the “appalling” playing surface “seemed to have as much sand on it as grass, and was cut up in several areas”.
The S$800,000 pitch, a hybrid of natural grass and artificial fibres, is reportedly so “poor” that both countries may not trot out their biggest stars at the risk of injury.

Scolari picked essentially European based players who all play a different system in their respective club teams. He should have picked and used the best brazilian based players from clubs like Santos, Corinthians, etc. as they would have been familiar playing with themselves and in the similar brazilian club style.

Yes. The moment they play in Europe, they must conform to set play. No individualism.

Aiyo. Why like dat? Football field bad can also blame the PAP arh. Wait someone will come in and chide you all for politicizing the thread.

Just because you can't connect the dots and see the bigger picture, doesn't mean the PAP is innocent.

Keep calm and politicize some more. :cool:

Because the PAP put in their retired scholar BGs and Colonels with zero experience, to run the SSC which is in charge of the football stadium and field. Get it, you fucking asshole?