• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Fas: The national stadium’s $833,000 grass is still not up to standard

[h=1]FAS: THE NATIONAL STADIUM’S $833,000 GRASS IS STILL NOT UP TO STANDARD[/h]
<!-- /.block --> <style>.node-article .field-name-link-line-above-tags{float: right;}.node-article .field-name-ad-box-in-article {float: left;margin: 15px 15px 10px 0;}.node-article .field-tags{clear: both;}</style> Post date:
10 Oct 2014 - 9:56pm

<ins id="aswift_0_expand" style="margin: 0px; padding: 0px; border: currentColor; width: 336px; height: 280px; display: inline-table; visibility: visible; position: relative; background-color: transparent; border-image: none;"><ins id="aswift_0_anchor" style="margin: 0px; padding: 0px; border: currentColor; width: 336px; height: 280px; display: block; visibility: visible; position: relative; background-color: transparent; border-image: none;"><iframe name="aswift_0" width="336" height="280" id="aswift_0" frameBorder="0" marginWidth="0" marginHeight="0" scrolling="no" vspace="0" hspace="0" allowfullscreen="true" style="left: 0px; top: 0px; position: absolute;" allowTransparency="true"></iframe></ins></ins>

Complaints about the National Stadium’s grass were aired in August when the Juventus coach criticised it for being patchy, too soft and growing only in clumps.

At that time, Minister for Culture, Community and Youth, Lawrence Wong insisted there was nothing wrong with it and it just needed time to grow. However, it seems that the pitch is still far short of being adequate, 2 months later.

(See: LAWRENCE WONG: NATIONAL STADIUM'S $833,000 GRASS IS FINE, IT JUST NEEDS TO GROW)

The football association of Singapore inspected the pitch on Thursday ahead of the friendly match scheduled between Japan and Brazil on October 14 but found that it was only just “playable”. The FAS said that it is “far short of expected international playing standards”.

<ins id="aswift_1_expand" style="margin: 0px; padding: 0px; border: currentColor; width: 336px; height: 280px; display: inline-table; visibility: visible; position: relative; background-color: transparent; border-image: none;"><ins id="aswift_1_anchor" style="margin: 0px; padding: 0px; border: currentColor; width: 336px; height: 280px; display: block; visibility: visible; position: relative; background-color: transparent; border-image: none;"><iframe name="aswift_1" width="336" height="280" id="aswift_1" frameBorder="0" marginWidth="0" marginHeight="0" scrolling="no" vspace="0" hspace="0" allowfullscreen="true" style="left: 0px; top: 0px; position: absolute;" allowTransparency="true"></iframe></ins></ins>

The pitch, which cost over $833,000 and is supposed to be a state-of-the-art synthetic-natural hybrid which is tougher than a regular pitch seems to have fallen well short of expectations.

FAS said that they are worried about whether the pitch will be reader for the upcoming AFF Suzuki Cup.

However, the FAS also shared that they are still supportive of the Sports Hub’s ongoing efforts to ensure a good playing surface and they said that they will be skipping any events or trainings at the stadium so that the grass has more time to grow.

soIsee

Maybe if asked again Ah Wong would now then say it needs 2 more years to grow, better still why don't say ask him again when he is re-elected for another term.LoL

From the NewPaper today:

THERE ARE brilliant people at the Sports Hub and among its consortium partners, they have world class experts dealing with the Desso turf, which makes it an even bigger mystery how so many events were lined up at the stadium after the pitch came in for criticism at the first football game there - the Juventus-Singapore Selection friendly on August 16.

Alarm bells should have rung already.

Especially when the World Sports Group , the events partner with the Sports Hub, are also heavily involved with the Suzuki Cup,

LOL. I hope no multi-millionaire football star gets injured playing in that shitty pitch.

Some of them earn more than $800K Sinkie dollars a week in their football clubs.

If you don't have the facilities to host proper football matches, you probably shouldn't.

Use that silly stadium for your inconsequential NDP and SEA Games. :rolleyes:

CEO OF THE NEW SPORTS HUB BLAME SGs for Grass Failure. Like This Also Can???

[h=1]CEO OF THE NEW SPORTS HUB BLAME EVERYTHING ELSE BUT HIMSELF[/h]
<!-- /.block --> <style>.node-article .field-name-link-line-above-tags{float: right;}.node-article .field-name-ad-box-in-article {float: left;margin: 15px 15px 10px 0;}.node-article .field-tags{clear: both;}</style> Post date:
12 Oct 2014 - 12:27pm

<ins id="aswift_0_expand" style="margin: 0px; padding: 0px; border: currentColor; width: 336px; height: 280px; display: inline-table; visibility: visible; position: relative; background-color: transparent; border-image: none;"><ins id="aswift_0_anchor" style="margin: 0px; padding: 0px; border: currentColor; width: 336px; height: 280px; display: block; visibility: visible; position: relative; background-color: transparent; border-image: none;"><iframe name="aswift_0" width="336" height="280" id="aswift_0" frameBorder="0" marginWidth="0" marginHeight="0" scrolling="no" vspace="0" hspace="0" allowfullscreen="true" style="left: 0px; top: 0px; position: absolute;" allowTransparency="true"></iframe></ins></ins>

Oon Jin Teik, the CEO of Sports Hub, gave a litany of excuses when asked about the poor state of the grass at the $1.3b Sports Hub.

When asked why the particular type of turf was chosen, he said that this was because:

"Singaporeans wanted more sporting events, so we need a field to be rugged and durable enough for heavy programming."

Most appalling of all, he claims that this was a unique challenge that no other stadium in the world has ever faced - despite the fact that the Sports Hub is only ONE stadium:

"No other stadium in the world has dealt with this combination of challenges."

Did Oon Jin Teik learn all this Taichi skills from PAP politicians?

<ins id="aswift_1_expand" style="margin: 0px; padding: 0px; border: currentColor; width: 336px; height: 280px; display: inline-table; visibility: visible; position: relative; background-color: transparent; border-image: none;"><ins id="aswift_1_anchor" style="margin: 0px; padding: 0px; border: currentColor; width: 336px; height: 280px; display: block; visibility: visible; position: relative; background-color: transparent; border-image: none;"><iframe name="aswift_1" width="336" height="280" id="aswift_1" frameBorder="0" marginWidth="0" marginHeight="0" scrolling="no" vspace="0" hspace="0" allowfullscreen="true" style="left: 0px; top: 0px; position: absolute;" allowTransparency="true"></iframe></ins></ins>

What creative excuse will he come up with if the pitch remains sandy for this Tuesday's Japan vs Brazil friendly?

The Alternative View
Source: https://www.facebook.com/pages/The-Alternative-View/358759327518739

wendychan

Re: CEO OF THE NEW SPORTS HUB BLAME SGs for Grass Failure. Like This Also Can???

he belong to that select group who can do no wrong

rotiprata

CEO OF THE NEW SPORTS HUB BLAME SGs for Grass Failure. Like This Also Can???

how come this CEO is answering questions...?
thought they out sourced this grass contract to an ang mo vendor...where's he now? :confused:

Re: CEO OF THE NEW SPORTS HUB BLAME SGs for Grass Failure. Like This Also Can???

Is he related to the crook oops i mean cook violent oon

Singapore is going down the shitters because these irresponsible, arrogant and incompetent people are in charge of the country.

xingguy

10593059_675346765895128_8318024463103353643_n.jpg

Having spend $1.3b for the Sports Hub, now they spend another $1.5 million to install special lighting for the grass to grow.
Of course, it is peanut compare to the $1.3b and best of all not their money but taxpayers'.

sochi2014

bullshit! angmos countries have lots of activities too!

never heard of such problems before.

Just look at the roof design. Its prohibit sunlight from reaching the grass. Anybody know you cannot grow anything under a tree because of sunlight deficiency.

I think will require artificial turf.

Footballer baihakki khaizan: Singapore new national stadium is all about money

[h=1]FOOTBALLER BAIHAKKI KHAIZAN: SINGAPORE NEW NATIONAL STADIUM IS ALL ABOUT MONEY[/h]
13 Oct 2014 - 7:51pm

Hey you, you look prettier now, and people just can't stop talking about you, can they? Yeah, it's you I'm talking about, Miss billion-dollar National Stadium. You're all fancy these days, with all the bells and whistles, but I remember the plain you, and they are wonderful memories.

We won championships on the platform you provided, I became a Lion on your lawn. Hey, you made many legendary Lions who inspired the young me, and roused the nation. And not just Lions, C Kunalan, James Wong, Glory Barnabas, all names that shine form our sporting past shone on your lap.

Let's not forget all the National Days we celebrated on your hallowed ground – a sacred battlefield for everyone that wore our flag. You're different now. And I'm not convinced by how you're behaving now. You don't seem to know your priorities anymore, and I don't see how new stars will be born in you again.
You've sold out, haven't you? You're more about money, moving in a direction I don't understand.
Honestly, I miss the old you. #nationalstadium #stadiumforconcerts #$$$

Baihakki Khaizan
Baihakki Khaizan is a centre-back for LionsXII in the Malaysia Super League and former captain for Young Lions.
*Comment first appeared on his instagram page here: http://instagram.com/p/uDo2_7FHTn

Re: Footballer baihakki khaizan: Singapore new national stadium is all about money

Yeah I remember the old Kallang stadium. Went there quite a number of times for inter-school sports competitions.

The long walk from the Kallang MRT stadium across the bus depot and big gates.

Pre-revamped Leisure Park Kallang for makan and bowling.

LEGEND

Re: Footballer baihakki khaizan: Singapore new national stadium is all about money

Mega white elephant. :oIo:

LEGEND

[video=youtube;IMNgdCLXLc4]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IMNgdCLXLc4[/video]

Yeah I remember the old Kallang stadium. Went there quite a number of times for inter-school sports competitions.

The long walk from the Kallang MRT stadium across the bus depot and big gates.

Pre-revamped Leisure Park Kallang for makan and bowling.

what i hate most is how they revamped my beloved katong!!knn all the old sinkie styled shops and eateries are gone....now its full of upstart bars and western restaurants where all the ang mohs and spgs congregate.this country is fast becoming a joke.

LEGEND

[video=youtube;99VKGIpIOiE]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=99VKGIpIOiE[/video]